We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much goodness!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay! A lovely relaxed atmosphere and heaps of fun. I felt a bit nervous staying at a clothing-optional hostel, but felt so comfortable and accepted around everyone staying here whatever clothing I chose to wear or not wear. The people I have met here, including Paul (our host) and his lovely dog Rachel will be memories I keep for life. Very close to Takaka township for all our needs. Bikes that can be borrowed to travel to exciting waterfalls and swimming holes. Looking forward to next summer already <3

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

A splendid place to relax into while you enjoy Golden Bay... Paul and Rachel the dog make excellent hosts for all your needs. The house is located off the main street so it's quiet but still right in the heart of Takaka. A very comfortable stay... I will come back here again and again.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
Thank shipirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diskteacher, Owner at Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Annie's Nirvana Lodge
Annie's Nirvana Lodge
#6 of 15 in Takaka
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shady Rest
Shady Rest
#2 of 10 in Takaka
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Motel
Golden Bay Motel
#4 of 10 in Takaka
45 reviews
9.8 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers

Address: 7 Hiawatha Lane, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Takaka
Price Range: £15 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open December through April, the Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers is New Zealand's only clothing-optional budget hostel and is a great place to stay for the traveler looking for the smaller, quieter experience while enjoying all that Golden Bay has to offer. Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers has two private rooms available - a super king size bed in one and a queen size bed in the other. The dorm room has two double beds and four single beds. Clean bed linens and towels are provided. Well-stocked Home Kitchen, Home Theatre with lots of DVD Movies, Free WiFi with Skype, Free Bicycles to Use. The facilities are clothing-optional. This means that nudity is acceptable although not required by any means. Very handy for taking a shower, enjoying the sun or practicing yoga. We have guests that stay clothed all the time or remain nude all the time. Many find this a good place to experiment with their first public nudity experience. "Wear what makes you comfortable but respect others' choices" is our motto. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers Takaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing