We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning ... the highlight of our four week South Island holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stunning ... the highlight of our four week South Island holiday”
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stayed in some pretty magical places during our month long holiday in the South Island, but Adrift pipped them all !

We arrived quite tired after a seven hour drive from the Westcoast, but Gordon's relaxed and friendly attitude soon had us in 'Adrift mode'.

The Cottage (#2) was so beautiful and comfortable, with a spectacular view across lawn to the beach and ocean, utter bliss. Multi-fold doors opened to the deck from the living area, and very large windows in the bedroom made it quite difficult to catchup on some reading on the huge and comfy king size bed ... I kept glancing up and out to the vista ... to read or to gaze, decisions decisions !

The breakfast hamper was as others have described, along with freshly ground coffee for the plunger, and the offer of picking fresh herbs from the garden to complement our omlettes. Fresh milk and juice were also refreshed daily, and we took advantage of the guest laundry (available before 9am or after 5pm). Thanks, we were desperate !

Robes were supplied, and kayaks on offer, which my husband and daughter took up, lots of fun. They even allow you to take the deckchairs down to the beach. Our daughter slept on the sofabed, and she said that it was the most comfy of any that she'd slept on during the holiday.

Although the weather was a bit of a mixed bag, the cottage was just so cosy, even during rain and howling wind. The perfect excuse to borrow the Lord of the Rings trilogy from Adrift's extensive DVD selection available to guests.

There's just nothing more to say ... go there, go there NOW !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out we felt so pampered.
The cottages was extreemly well equipped & appointed, with all mod cons, including a dishwasher & a BBQ area at the back.
The cottages have a double spa bath with an underfloor heated bathroom, good sized sitting area & King SIzed bed in a seperate bedroom. There is a seating area on the decking outside with deckchairs & normal chairs.
You have the choice of a cooked or continental breakfast hamper which was delivered to the cottage the day before as well as a choice of milk.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts & they were able to order a bottle of sparkling wine for my 40th whilst we were out there. To be able to stargaze at night was amazing & to go for a swim whenever we wanted was such an experience

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

First of all we were touched that Gordon waited up for us. We got a late start out of Nelson and after the white knuckle drive on Takaka Hill Rd in the dark we were ready to relax. We arrived just before midnight and Gordon gave us a quick tour sensing we just wanted to crawl into bed. When we woke the next morning to the incredible beauty of this place we were like 2 little children on Christmas Day-every beautiful view was like opening a new present ! Gordon and Bess along with Emily and John do such a fantastic job with Adrit their energy and love just envelops the property. All the little touches -heated floor in the bathroom,bath salts,the slight scent of lavender in the pillows,the incredible Ciabatta rolls with the homemade preserves in the morning,beach towels and beach chairs-I could go on and on. Gordon mentioned that this was a work of love in progress-it truely is. I can't say enough about this place other than STAY HERE you will always remember the views of the water and the penguins and bunny rabbits.
Also make sure you try the Mussel Inn at least once-it really gives you a great opportunity to meet visitors and locals and enjoy delicious food,excellent beer and music. We stayed here for 4 days and wish we could have stayed at least 2 weeks it was so peaceful and beautiful .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy-PastryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Found on TA and did not disappoint. Great location above the beach, though the journey over the hill from Nelson was somewhat exciting and reminded us of the Cairn o' Mount road here. The cottages are brilliantly well furnished with every comfort, including a spa bath - which we ended up not using. Breakfast was a hamper of goodies delivered to the house and if you have a longer stay, the kitchen is very well equipped. The hosts were kind and helpful and we have promised to return, as we were unlucky with the weather and missed the Farewell Spit eco tour. Since we have family in Nelson we will be back someday and we hope Adrift is still going strong. A high quality property whose other reviews we can unreservedly endorse. By the way, eat at the quirky Mussel Inn a mile away - another place found on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

This is a terrific place, the best place we stayed amongst many good places in our tour of NZ. The location is idyllic, on a very large unspoilt beach. The cabins were excellent, roomy, clean, all facilities. It is a very tranquil place, if you want to get away from it all look no further.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and bring breakfast supplies each evening so you can do your own thing in the morning. If you don't mind the price (which I thought very reasonable considering what we had) and you want to be a bit off the beaten track - this is the place to stay

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate59
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I was a little apprehensive as had made the booking via the internet without doing anymore checking. For us, the cost of AUD$300 was at our upper limit but when we entered along the wonderful driveway then saw our cottage (#1) we were blown away. It was all exquisite even though it was a rainy overcast day. It was like being in paradise. Gordon and Bess, who had have created this place from an overgrown field, are perfect hosts with great knowledge of the area. There is just so many wonderful places to see in the area it was so hard to chose. In the end, we walked to Whanganui Beach on West Coast (try to get there at low tide) then visited Pu Pu Springs. It was a great combination as the wildness of the beach contrasted perfectly with the sereneness of the springs which have the clearness water in the world. There is much more to say but best you find it out for yourselves.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cate59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Adrift is a collection of five beautifully appointed cottages right on the beach of Golden Bay, South Island, New Zealand. Set well back from the road the cottages are secluded but not isolated. Ours had a great view of the sea and the pristine beach. The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable but not intrusive. The breakfasts provided were enormous and very tasty. Adrift offers peace and tranquility but the area has lots to do. When not walking on the beach we did some fishing, hiking and horse-riding (with the very excellent Cape Farewell Horse Trekking). Adrift is a short drive away from Takaka which offers shops and a surprising number of very good restaurants. We would recommend The Wholemeal Cafe but there are other great eateries. Take in a movie at the tiny but excellent community cinema. Or just sit with glass of wine on the cottage deck and look at the stars. If you're lucky, you might glimpse a penguin or two. Overall, Adrift was a hugely enjoyable experience which we would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
11.7 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
139 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Summerspring Luxury Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Property: Adrift in Golden Bay
Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
Adrift In Golden Bay Takaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing