We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed......”
Review of Eatery On The Rock Restaurant - CLOSED

Eatery On The Rock Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$30
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Eatery on the Rock is owner operated, Our full al a Carte menu is an international eclectic style, blending inspiration from thirty years traveling the world using local produce.Children's menu available. Bookings are advisable but not always necessary, but if you defiantly want to dine we us please book. Summer seven nights from 5.30 Pm till late
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We joined family members to celebrate a birthday, the food was excellent as always (for me it was fish of the day on smashed potatoes with a delicious sauce and seasonal vegetables), service was friendly and helpful. Individual tastes were catered for and small changes made to the menu offered - the yummy lemon/lime sorbet was offered with kiwifruit liqueur but I was able to substitute strawberry with no problems. Food is always freshly prepared and there might be a small wait for courses but with a friendly group you don't notice it. It's not a huge menu but there's enough variety for anyone to be happy, wine list is good. We have often recommended the Eatery on the Rock to friends and will continue to do so - thank you Chris, Pat and staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for your review and thank for you recommending us to your friends we always enjoy looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

I am normally not a person who writes reviews but I do think this establishment just needs to be known to more people in our region.
We had a great overnight stay in one of their cosy, clean, quit and very comfortable chalets.
We decided to have our evening meal at the restaurant which was the best decision ever!
The food is just incredibly good.
As a starter we shared the Greek platter which was light and fresh with delicious Tzatziki.
My husband had the vegetarian meal, a combination off perfectly cooked vegetables in a flavour some sauce with rice and a salad presented in a lovely way on the plate.
I had the fish of the day, kingfish and the texture and taste was just perfect.
Our dessert, the Crème brûlée, one of my favourites........ to die for.
I would advise anyone who wants to enjoy an outstanding meal with great service in a lovely atmosphere to go here.
We definitely will be back on our next visit to Takaka.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Melita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

You will have to get back soon as we change the menu regularly and you may have to start over. thanks for your comments see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Ate here twice during our stay in Takaka. Excellent food and service in a relaxed atmosphere. Regular specials make a refreshing change.

Thank TandP671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thanks hope to see you back in the bay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food and the friendly service were the winners here. Everything was freshly cooked and prepared. However, as with most restaurants off the beaten track in NZ, the opening times are short and you need to have arrived by 7.30 pm at the latest.

Thank Free_the_Parents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We appreciate your custom and comments, we have a 2am licence and take late bookings but we cannot stay open or prepare fresh food Just incase some one on a whim decides to dine with us what would I do with the fresh food and how would I pay the staff if no one turns up? Let us know you are coming preferably the day before and we will be there we do not ask for bookings for snobbery reasons if you decide not to book we may be there, may not, may be full, may have sold out of food who knows a phone in call saves all these questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Gordon at Adrift suggested a great place to dine and it lived up to its praise, it’s all in the food, lovingly prepared by the chef/patron Chris and the food was top notch, not sure whether to have the local Lamb or Pork, Chris suggested we had half each, and he presented two superb plates of food, which had followed the filo filled bacon & mushroom stroganoff starter and was followed by great puddings and wonderful fresh coffees and a meal to be remembered and well recommended, with great attentive service it ticked all the boxes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

High praise indeed thank you we hope to see you back in the bay soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eatery On The Rock Restaurant also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing