We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Gran Jimenoa”
Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I just returned from a wedding that was held at Hotel Gran Jimenoa. I stayed for one night at the hotel. The wedding itself was spectacular! The food and service were excellent! The room we stayed in was comfortable, but I found the lighting was very poor. One bulb was out and the wattage in the remaining bulbs seemed inadequate to light the room well enough. They only gave us oone towel for two people and when I asked for another they said they were being dried at would bring another but we never got one. I'm sorry I didn't get a room facing the river. I would recommend spending the extra money and getting the upgrade to a river front room. Breakfast the following morning was very good and plentiful. The restaurant was on the river and it was a beautiful experience eating with the river running just below you. Overall the stay was very pleasant and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a river front room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Gilma,

We appreciate your comments and are so happy you had a great stay at our hotel. We value your comments and are truly sorry for any inconvenience you had with the light and towel at the hotel. Please on your next stay contact the manager directly so we could make it up to you.

We look foward seeing you again.

Thank You,

The Hotel Gran Jimenoa's family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gran Jimenoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed in Jarabacoa for two nights, and after staying the first night in the more 'busy' centre (Hotel Brisas del Yaque II), I decided to scale up a bit for 570 pesos more (2250 for one person, one night, room 212, officially not a riverside room, but I could hear/see it :) ). The hotel is fairly big, and I can imagine that when it's fully booked, it looses its main advantage, the nice and tranquil location in a green and lush environment next to the beautiful Jimenoa stream. The garden and the building also looked nice, I had the swimming pool and the river to myself (the jacuzzi was not working) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. One downside was the wifi however, as it was only available in the lobby and at a very low speed. The breakfast was included, which is a pretty good deal as you can choose anything à la carte, from mashed potatoes to pancakes and sandwiches, with coffee/juice, even hot chocolate (nice on a rainy morning). Great spot to get away from it all!

Room Tip: 212 is a cheaper room but looks out over the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishworkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Lovaina,

We appreciate your comments and are very happy you decided to come to us. It is such a tranquil and relaxing stay that sometimes not even the internet is necessary, either way we apologize for the inconvinience you had with the wifi, we are taking hands on it to make the reception much better.

We hope to see you soon again and once again thank you for your stay.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Gran Jimenoa family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great staff good size rooms clean and well secure. Food is ok but should have more variety. Perfect for relaxation. Tv's need upgrade and some better light in the bathroom. Also need to get rid of some of the plastic pillows.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank lya809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Lya,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we appreciate your comments. Regarding your suggestions, we've been working on refurnishing our rooms with new pillows and new TVs. On your next stay make sure to ask for these rooms, we hope you had a great stay.

Looking forward meeting you again,

Sincerely,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa's family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed in the standard room. The basic needs were meet. But we were not very impressed. But nicer rooms are available for an additional price.
The Yaque del Norte River next to the hotel was anice addition.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobedla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We apprecciate you taking the time to write us a comments. We are sorry you were not impressed by our facilities, i hope next time you could stay in a better room. Either way we will into consideration your review.

Hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely gorgeous. This hotel is built beautifully and skillfully along the river so that it feels "one" with the surroundings. It was so peaceful to sit in the outdoor restaurant and listen to the rushing water.

Constructive criticism is that the common areas in the hotel were well cared for and clean. But our room felt a bit out dated and dirty. Probably still good standards for the DR but a contrast from the beauty of the common areas. The shower in one of our rooms had been updated and modernized but the bathroom in our other room was pretty outdated. Also we did not have hot water. (Probably common in the DR). We had 3 people staying in one of our rooms and only 2 towels had been provided. We walked down to the front desk (the only place with Wifi) and requested more towels. We were told that they would bring some up to our room but none were delivered.

Despite my remarks above we did feel the hotel was a good value in a gorgeous location and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorGirlNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Despise of your great critism we appreciate you had a good time.

Sincerely,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went with friends on a 3 day get away. Very impressed with this nature lovers paradise. Opening the bedroom door to the rapid running water was superb. Breakfast is great but I would suggest going some place else for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Angela,

We apprecciate your stay and leaving us a review. We are happy you had a good time and were able to enjoy the beauty of nature. As of the dinner we are sorry fo any inconvinience you've had, I would like to know what problems you experienced with dinner so we could better assist you next time.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I enjoyed playing pool and table tennis with my family. The pool was very cold, but we still manage to spend some time there. The river is beautiful and love the tree in the middle of the restaurant, which I found original. The breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: The room 201 is very close to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Morales,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We are happy to know that you had a good time with your family. We hope to see you soon and hopefully during the summer so you could experience a better stay at the pool.

Sincerely,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarabacoa
8.6 mi away
El Rey
El Rey
#1 of 2 in La Vega
31 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
1.2 mi away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#2 of 11 in Jarabacoa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 11 in Jarabacoa
119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho La Aurora
Hotel Rancho La Aurora
#5 of 11 in Jarabacoa
21 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Price Range: £50 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Jimenoa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only eight minutes away from the town of Jarabacoa, surrounded by a spectacular natural environment with a magic mountain landscape of the river Jimenoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gran Jimenoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing