We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Brotherhood - Most interesting”

Berenger Sauniere Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Rennes le Chateau, the most amazing place where you find all that you need!!! The Domain closes its doors this sunday, the 16th of november. We come back on saturday, the 27th december for one week and on 2015, we will open on saturday, the 07th of march. Don't hesitate to contact us for further information. Guided or unguided Tours, ask!!!
Estepona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Secret Brotherhood - Most interesting”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

People who believe that our 'educated' history is manipulated, and read about it in the book Rule by Secrecy from Jim Marrs and David Icke's The Biggest Secret, can obtain a flavor of the New World Order intentions to enslave all people by putting a world government in place. Museum Bérenger Saunière in Rennes le Château in the Langedoc - France, is the venue where the Katharen and Maria Magdalena in the early years of our calendar have lived and apparently buried their secrets in this place once attacked by the Spaniards. In the period 1885 - till his dead in 1917 lived here the priest Abbé (Father Sauniere) who apparently discovered the treasure and brought to Paris to handover to the authorities. He must have received an enormous amount of money because he became very rich overnight. The enigmatic priest spent part of the money to restore the Castel, renovate the church Mary Magdalene, and refurbish the surrounding area. The decoration of the church is considered to carry a secret coded message? Which inspired Dan Brown to write his book The Da Vinci Code. Abbé lived with his house keepster and before his dead told her the secret. Unfortunately she dies years later without passing on the secret. Purposely on instruction of higher up?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pbmeyersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    68
    27
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Do this but do your homework first.”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Lighting is not good, carvings are faded and old manuscripts illegible but they are the stuff of mystery. Take your camera and a small torch and enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“So Much More Than Just The Sauniere Museum”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I've visited here three (or four) times now and I would in fact have to admit disappointment in the buildings themselves. The "museum" is the museum and it is what it is - unique due to the nature of it's "story" so that it all might be a bit pointless if you don't know the true story. Yet nobody DOES know the full story - that's the fascinating draw. Last time I was there the house which Sauniere could somehow afford to have built was closed and looking in need of repair, so that "the site" as a whole seemed to be going backwards into disrepair rather than forwards - the all so famous Church of Saint Mary Magdalene also being in need of loving attention (and desperately so) yet at the virtual Centre of the "Holy Blood & Holy Grail" book - not to mention "The da Vinci Code" and many more!! Are there "secrets" to be garnered here because if so, best do so now before the whole place collapses! The graveyard is and has been locked to the general public for many years now. Perhaps it needs to be re-opened if "the village" is to thrive and move forward? The actual Château of the village is also in a state of disrepair but is also not open / available to the public. Personally I believe the Mayor needs to get his finger out to do more about preserving what is there and opening up to the public much much more!!!
Yes there are places to eat, a gift shop and a book shop and last time I was there they were even building an Ice-Cream Parlour!!? But no improvements to the actual main buildings in question!!? It is also a good focal point for walkers / ramblers to set off in many directions. On my last visit I met someone who was just setting off to walk back to his hotel - at Rennes-les-Bains? Something like a 10km or 10 mile hike!!?
The question despite the nay-sayers still remains, "How did a nondescript simple poor priest of a small parish become so influentially wealthy? What "secrets" regarding that wealth did he and his housekeeper take to their graves? This will always remain "the draw" until the truth is uncovered / revealed. It will always remains a place of "If X marks the spot - where is the X?!!"
As someone else also commented - the views are stunning in their panoramic nature and WELL worth that trip of just a few kms from the main road (in my humble opinion)!
"The site" did have pre-Roman, Roman & post-Roman occupation... so there is s...o...o MUCH history to be uncovered here! Yet - the French Government (or Catholic Church via French Government) have banned all digging here! Which is another question of enigmatic proportions! Why? With so much history on the site over not just centuries but millenia - why is digging here illegal??! "The plot" thinks me thinks!! Enjoy... (;o)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank no1pinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Holy Blood, and so much more”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This tiny site has single-handedly saved the whole village.
The museum is significant, only if you do your reading first.
It is only labelled in French, and without the stories.

Start with Holy Blood Holy Grail, a 30 year old bestseller, all
over the world, that shocked the Church, with allegations of
Jesus' bloodline, through Mary Magdalene, becoming the
true rulers of France, and supposedly the true rulers of the
rest of the world, but being suppressed by the Church.
It is a great shame that the stone coffin in nearby Arques was
exploded into smithereens, but everything else is more or less intact.

Wonderfull small bookshops, in the village (walk there as there is
no other car park nearby), with many books to suit all kinds of
afficionados of The Holy Grail, Knights Templar, Freemasonry,
and other Myths and Legends, in several languages.


Then read the DaVinci Code, and get truly in the mood for this mystery.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Well, I had read Dan Brown's 'Da Vinci code', but the connection between that and here completely evaded me. I'm so glad, because I was able to enjoy the beauty of the place long before the 'mystery' sucked me in! We started by simply drinking in the view by the water tower - a fabulous panoramic view that simply mesmerises the viewer. We then visited the church - an absolute gem, adn so interesting. From there we went to the Presbetery, Villa Bethania and the museum itself. The bulk of the info is in French, with only highlights in English, German, Spanish and Italian, but if you buy the information book (€9.50) in your preferred languange, then you get the unabridged version. What an interesting story this is! Briefly, Fr. Sauniere renovated the church, built the beautiful Villa Bethania, gardens and Tour Magdalena, but dind't disclose where he was getting teh money from. Rumours abounded about buried treasure found etc - actually, what really matters is that he left this perfect place for us all to appreciate. I could happily go back there tomorow - I loved the atmosphere, the peace and the stunning mountain views. Fr. Sauniere is buried in the garden - owing to some technicality in French law, nobody is tending teh grave. This was the one sad note in my visit - reagardless of how he paid for all this building, he deserves a decent grave. I do hope someone takes responsibility for this soon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Muffinette1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berenger Sauniere Museum also viewed

 

Been to Berenger Sauniere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing