We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to visit this.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berenger Sauniere Museum

Berenger Sauniere Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rennes le Chateau, the most amazing place where you find all that you need!!! The Domain closes its doors this sunday, the 16th of november. We come back on saturday, the 27th december for one week and on 2015, we will open on saturday, the 07th of march. Don't hesitate to contact us for further information. Guided or unguided Tours, ask!!!
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“You have to visit this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

If visiting Rennes le chateau it would be silly not to visit the museum that explains the whole reason for the place being of such interest. A few euros is all that is asked but the museum is interesting but a little dated and dusty, well worth the entrance fee if only for the spine tingling effect that the whole area gives you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    57
    22
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sauniere Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellently put together visit. Guide materials available in many languages. Great views of the surrounding countryside. Amazing architecture. Interesting presentation of the Sauniere story.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good for conspiracy theorists, but not for me!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Yes, there is a marvellous view from the tower, but the views are just as good from the surrounding hills that you can visit without paying €4.50. The member of staff we met was charming and that was the only other positive element of our visit.

This tourist "attraction" justifies its existence because a 19th century priest suddenly became rich, did up the church and then built himself a remarkable neo-gothic pile which he left to the family of his housekeeper. The press at the time sensationalised the story and with nothing but the flimsiest circumstantial evidence, the owners try and buttress up the old story.

The standard of maintenance is poor and the interpretation is old fashioned. I would guess that little money has been invested in this enterprise for many years.

Strangely, the legend was so far fetched and exhibits so poor, I rather enjoyed my visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Minackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pat C : Berenger Sauniere Church and Museum, Rennes le Chateau, Gordes , France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This lovely little Church and its associated Museum , are the scene for the geat mystery of how a poor priest in the late 19 century funded the complete restoration of a run down and partly ruined Church, and built several other buildings in the vicinity on a pittance.
This story is woven into the book ''Sepulchre '' by Kate Mosse .
Legends of a vast treasure buried somewhere in in vicinity still persist today.
It would be advisable when visiting ,to pick up some illustrative literature from the adjacent shop, as there are so many points of interest within the Museum and the Church, and the grounds. The Church is beautiful , the museum interesting , and the mystery enthralling.Well worth a visit. Food is available in the village

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatC2549600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sauniere mystery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very interesting place, especially if you have read 'The Holy Blood, The Holy Grail'. The museum was good, the garden was nice but the view from the Ramparts and Magdalene tower was AMAZING! You'll get a 360 view of the stunning cather countryside.

The gift shop sell a E6 bottle of souvenir wine, I had to drink it!!! It was actually a very pleasant fruity red. We enjoyed it later that evening when we got back to our apartment and relived the days events. Make sure to check out the cave beside the cashier in the museum shop/ticket desk - it's easy to miss. Beneath the cashiers feet is a glass floor covering a lit up cavern beneath. As the housekeeper is supposed to have said 'the people of Renne-le-Chateau walk on gold without knowing it'. Seems there were lots of mines in the hills.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berenger Sauniere Museum also viewed

 
Rennes-le-Chateau, Aude
Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, Aude
 

Been to Berenger Sauniere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing