We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rododendro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rododendro
italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

the room was clean but not very big, but the worse thing about the hotel was the food. They must have the worse cook in Italy. "Buffet breakfast" consisted of about 15 plates laid out, but10 contained little pots of jam (2 of apricot, for some reason). The rest was watered down orange juice, long life milk, 2 kinds of cereal, cheese and ham. I got the impression that they bought the cheapest and nastiest food possible.
The dinner was often inedible, with overcooked pasta, strange sauces and tinned fruit for pudding. There was no-one serving in the bar before dinner, and we often had to hunt through the hotel to find someone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie-italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    16
    8
    17
See reviews for
27
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

Hotel has dated decor and basic amenities in rooms but always clean and tidy. Food was edible but very odd and breakfast was limited. Staff are elusive, cold and disinterested - when there is someone at the bar to serve you they prefer texting and playing with their phones to making any money out of you. Angela in the restaurant, however, was a pleasure and made a real effort.
Resort is not suitable for beginner skiers. Blue runs only accessible via reds apart from 3 in small area of Pera. Worth hiring a car if you buy a full Dolomiti Superski lift pass as you will not be able to use it to its full worth without.
No information provided by Thompson/Crystal in the hotel and no welcome meeting held, only a queue-and-question-me session. No local information provided by Thompson/Crystal reps but the tourist office holds a list of events in the area and local attractions. No apres ski activities arranged by Crystal reps - only one of the trips listed in the Thompson and Crystal brochures actually exists, the Hidden Valley Tour, and this is not suitable for less experienced skiers.
Day in Verona on the way back to the airport is worthwhile, lots of atmophere, but Thompson/Crystal are quite happy to charge you for a coach trip they would have to provide 5 hours later regardless. Suggest you book with a different company.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamWoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Campitello di Fassa hotels

London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

I spent a week in hotel Rododendro in January 2008. I booked this holiday via Crystal Ski.

Overall it's a nice hotel for its price. The rooms are ok, not very pretty but generally clean. The bathroom is ok and clean. You can notice some damp on the wall though.

The food in this hotel is what you usually get in Italy. For breakfast: cereals, rolls, ham/chees, jams, honey. And obviously a croissant. No eggs or vegetables/fruit. Dinner is 3 course (to choose the day before), usually quite ok. Tip: "Melted cheese" is really cheese melted on semolina ;-) The waiters didin't speak English too well so they couldn't explain some meals.

There is a Ski lock in this hotel which is good. However the heaters to dry boots are not really efficient. Every morning our boots were wet inside-not pleasant at all!!

The location of this hotel is very good. It's close to the bus stop (opposite) and 5min walk to the main square with ice sculpture.

But don't expect night life in this resort, the town is dead, literally people just disappear in the evenings. Not good fun for party animals.

The resort is great meaning pistes and runs. Extremely varied!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

Similar to other 3* hotels in Italy - it grew on me over the week. Got a deal at the end of the 2007 ski season so it was great value for money, but if I had paid the full brochure price I may have expected a little more, so to be a fair comparison, will say it is average/ above average.

The room was at the back of the hotel – no balcony, away from the road, very clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious and light with a nice view. Bathroom was typical 3* Italian, small shower, no bath, plenty hot water. Lots of clean towels - Italian style (enormous tea towels).

Bar was comfortable and spacious with good selection of drinks from wheat beers to cocktails, similar price to on the mountain.
Continental breakfast buffet 7-9:30 - croissant, ham, jam, cheese, bread roll each, not a wide selection and probably not for you if you like a large or a cooked breakfast. Packed breakfast on day of leaving was a ham sandwich when unwrapped, so vegetarians beware.

Evening meal – starter buffet, choice of first and second course and dessert. Vegetarian choice was limited, but you can have an omelette of choice or pasta etc. which was fine by me, and they did ask me what I would like to eat, and they would cook it. I think food was an area where some people were disappointed, as some of the 'meat eaters' had higher expectations for their meals (although I believe most of us there had got the same cheap deal). The area is popular with Austrians so the menu seemed to be a curious mix of Austrian inspired Italian with a lot of pork. Dessert choice was limited to fruit and ice cream on a couple of days. Free carafe of wine was included in the tour operator deal and the waiter happily supplied white wine for me in place of the red. It also said free mineral water, but I'm sure it was tap water.
As this seems to be a family hotel, if you need pillows/towels etc just find someone in the restaurant or behind the bar and they help.
There is a gym/sauna in the basement which I didn't use.
Heated boot room is free. It has keypad access and is locked overnight so make sure you get your ski gear out the night before for early departures.

Supermarket and cashpoint are just up the road. The ski bus stops over the road, and it is a 10-15 min walk to cable car. You can stay on the bus straight to Canazei and start from there. Great ski area where most of the crowds are on the Sella Ronda circuit. The Dolomiti superski pass is well worth it and you can buy it online before you go.
Campitello village is very quiet. Canazei is a 20 minutes walk but there is limited public transport in evening. 
Mountain restaurants have quite good prices, drinks and food, and there are some good bars at the top of the ski stations to finish the day in, just before you come down.

  • Liked — Location and room
  • Disliked — Perhaps a bit more choice at breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaggieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campitello di Fassa hotels
0.0 mi away
Relais San Giusto
Relais San Giusto
#19 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ramon
Hotel Ramon
#16 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grohmann
Hotel Grohmann
#22 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medil Campitello
Hotel Medil Campitello
#3 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Garni Defrancesco
Albergo Garni Defrancesco
#20 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Kofler Wonderland Resort
Villa Kofler Wonderland Resort
#11 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rododendro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rododendro

Property: Hotel Rododendro
Address: Strada Dolomites 45, 38031 Campitello di Fassa, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Campitello di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Campitello di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rododendro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rododendro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rododendro Campitello Di Fassa, Italy - Province Of Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing