We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, ideal for slopes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Rosiere
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay, ideal for slopes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Had not been to this resort before. We wanted a quality hotel and that is exactly what we got. We had a great welcome and over the days we stayed we received an excellent level of service with a very personal approach. A very clean and spacious room with a fantastic view. We were well looked after with food and wine of a high quality. Support and information when needed was helpful and informative. Would we go back; without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovendegem, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Being used to the std.hotel type of travelling, we were very much surprised and delighted to experience such an atmosphere of piece and relaxation in this beautiful chalet close to the slopes.
Besides, the food was of high quality, nicely served and the wine well chosen.
.
The owners Mike and Faye, and their staff, have the ability of hosting guests on a friendly
but correct way,so that all of them feel comfortable,like at home.
Then the spa is a plus to this excellent adress!
Magda & Marc

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

And why? Because it's a place with the comfort, great food and spa facilities that I expect from a four star hotel, with the added value of its two excellent hosts and their international expertise (Faye and Mike - the owners). Combine this formula with the perfect location at the foot of the ski slopes and mountain passes, and well, we highly recommend Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel to anyone who has grown weary of chain hotels, to those who get miffed with 'mediocre'.service, and those who enjoy the mountains!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My partner and I had been traveling around the EU for six weeks. Out of the all hotels we stayed in, Matsuzaka was by far the best! Great location in La Ros'. Great views. Our room was big, warm and welcoming. Mike and Faye are BRILLIANT! Very friendly and always happy to help with what ever you ask.

The Japanese touches around the chalet are subtle but complement the feel of the place. If you go, you MUST try their sauna. Will stay there again the next time we are in alps.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaud
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Most pleasant stay we had in Europe. Above expectation in terms of the food and spectacular Japanese stlye onsen (bath). Great ambiance and great hospitality from Mike and Kate. We would love to come back !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyran666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed a short 3 nights, and this was a memorable stay, the weather helped, the hotel location is and great, but the very warm welcome and constant attention from Mike and Faye made a ton of difference. They are charming hosts, great cooks and they take care of the place and thier guess like no others. We did face a bit of a crisis when our daughter fell hard from her VTT bike in a trail, 20 minutes later, MIke and Faye where driving up the trail with their LandRover to pick us up, and bring us back to the hotel. The japanese outdoor spa is a treat after a day of hiking.
Congrats, we'll be back.
jb

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmonnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views of the Alps. The room was very well appointed and generally of a high quality. The owners, Mike and Faye were very welcoming and made a huge effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, including even readily customizing the restaurant menu to suit our preferences.

The hotel has an intriguing Japanese theme, which added an extra dimension and differentiates it from other chalet hotels in the area.

We would definitely stay there again, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: As far as I could make out, all the romms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs1677734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Rosiere
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 3 in Seez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
0.3 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa

Property: Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
Address: Les Eucherts, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in La Rosiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury 4 star hotel situated in the International Ski Resort of La Rosiere 1850, the only resort in Savoie to offer heli-skiing. After a day in the mountains, ski back to the chalet and relax in the Japanese Spa or take a massage. Spend your evenings around the log fire, after a sumptuous evening meal and let our team look after you, in a warm and cosy environment for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing