We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect”
Review of Chalet Jeode

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rosiere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Jeode
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just perfect”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have just returned from a spring week in Chalet Jeode, La Rosiere. Given the lateness of the holiday everything was 'just perfect'. The Chalet is medium in size, extremely homely and conveniently placed for the slopes. The rooms are clean, everything works and the hosting is fantastic. Sarah and Martin could not have been more helpful; the food was exceptional and nothing was too much bother. We were also blessed with friendly and interesting fellow guests.
The resort is good for intermediate skiiers, very family friendly and, when you include La Thuile, is quite extensive. Next time we will come a bit earlier in the season to take advantage of the colder conditions.
Finally, Green Rides provided an excellent service; from the airport pick-ups to the daily lifts to the slopes. The 'Apres Ski' evening and the Italy guiding are a real bonus. A big thanks to tall Martin for introducing us to restaurant 'Maison de Laurent' in La Thuile and the refreshing glasses of Limoncella.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Easy part. very nice chalet in good location, only a short walk from pistes. Comfortable and relaxed style inside and the hosts were great - many thanks to Martin and Sara - good food, generous wine and hosts were just great people all round.

Couple of points about the chalet. In total there was only 8 people and a baby there when we visited. Chalet is advertised as suitable for up to 13 but we would not have liked to have been there if there was a full house. Fine for 8 - more is overselling it and would have been a real crush and strain on resources IMO (for example, it would not be possible for 13 people to sit in the lounge area at the same time and would have been a real crush at dinner).

... and this is the difficulty with the review. Whilst the chalet itself was great - we were not impressed with Green Rides (and surprised at some of the rave reviews [quite a few reviews by people with little or no other reviews on tripadvisor too - read into that what you will]).

The chalet is suitable for 6 - 10 people (absolute maximum IMO) - not 13. Communications from Green Rides were not great at all. They messed up our arrival by telling us we would have to wait in geneva for 3 hours, then we got a call an hour and a half after arrival saying someone had been waiting for us for an hour! The transfer to resort was down as an hour and a half. It took over 2.5 hours.

We informed the company on booking that our return flights were at 20.00 and we did not want to leave for the airport in the morning. Again, sketchy comms, however we were told it would be sorted in resort. Day before departure, we were told we would be leaving at 10.00. We pointed out that this would leave us with nearly 9 hours to wait at Geneva, clearly unacceptable and totally unreasonable. We were then told that return transfers often take 5 hours and, in fact, last weeks had taken 6. The Green Rides manager refused to accept that if we were having to allow for 5-6 hours transfer because of (known) traffic problems - that the transfer time is not an hour and a half - it is 6 hours. We pointed out that we would not have chosen that resort had this been pointed out but they absolutely refused to be flexible with our return transfer. I have never been dumped at an airport by a tour operator for so long in many many years of traveling (and with some pretty useless companies too). We did not appreciate the attitude of the owner/manager which was that everyone else was to blame (including us) - not him. We witnessed this further hearing him managing problems on the phone whilst driving us to the airport - top tip mate - don't slag off, belittle and rage at your customers when you have other customers sitting next to you - it makes you sound like a real (poor) amateur.

So, would we go back? Although we liked the chalet itself - no, because of the (real) transfer times and definitely would never go anywhere with Green rides again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejay12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenRides, Owner at Chalet Jeode, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for this semi critical review, in our defence, we are happy to sell the chalet as a 13 bed property, the chalet has been full all season with 12 of the week’s full to capacity with sole groups and split groups, we have had nothing but great responses from everyone.

In regards to transfers and your reviews, you are very wrong, we agreed to pick up the 3 gentlemen in the group at 17.00 on their arrival date in an 8 seater minibus way out of our scheduled pickup times (all included in the price). In regards to your departure transfer, you asked us to transfer you to the airport AFTER you had booked your flights (probably because they were cheap). When we told you this was not possible you got angry, because as most people know the same transfer minibus that leaves in the morning to drop of clients, also has to pick up clients on the same trip.

From a business point of view, it wouldn’t really be possible to run multiple transfers to the airport that hold a maximum of 8 people with only 3 people in them, especially when that person has only paid £300pp for the whole week with transfers included, a bargain beyond bargains when you consider our level of service, just read our reviews!

Traffic – Like all traffic, it is usually hard to predict, 2.5 hours to and from Geneva is the standard timing, not 1.5 hours, (not sure who told you that, certainly wasn’t anyone from this company). That week was a freak week and in all my years here I have never seen a bad traffic week at the end of March, but life is like that, it can surprise you!

So next time you want the cheapest flight at silly o’clock in the evening, remember that you will have to make your own way there or fit in with company policy. In regards to talking on the phone (with hands free enabled) while driving to the airport, I regret to admit that I have to help with transfers sometimes and take the calls on route, (with hands free enabled).

We very much hope Your party decides to holiday with us again in the future, but maybe they can discuss their flight times with us before booking or pay a little extra for a reasonable arrival time


Many thanks, Green Rides Ltd….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from a week at Chalet Joede with GreenRides. We had a great time with all expectations exceeded. Martin and Sarah do an amazing job. Martin's culinary skills are superb and Sarah's cakes perfect. The chalet is kept clean and is homely. A lovely place to spend the week. Thank you very much to Martin and Sarah - you made our week. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avni09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Other recent reviewers have said everything really so I'll be brief - an amazing week with two great hosts (Martin and Sarah). Food was superb (with some great vegetarian meals for a change), and the chalet was comfortable and close to the centre of the village and the lifts. Green Rides have thought of everything - the transfers from Geneva went smoothly, we were given lifts to the slopes each morning, there are group days out to Italy on Wednesdays and Fridays etc. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silberston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethersden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Chalet Jeode is set in a quiet road near the top of the main village, a short steep climb to the main street, with all the usual facilities, and the first lift.
This chalet is cosy(compact in a nice way), very clean, and offers all you need....... plus, fantastic views from the lounge/diner/balcony and bedrooms, a great hot tub with views, a convenient boot/ski room on street level to change and air your boots and a free ride to the lift first thing in the morning.
Our hosts, Martin and Sara were recent arrivals themselves and what an asset they are to Green Rides! ( If you judge a business by the people it recruits, this says a lot about Green Rides )
They were the most perfect and charming hosts, and the food was utterly superb, far surpassing that which you could expect, thanks to Martin, who could be an asset to any of the top kitchens in the world. Sara's cakes are yummy too!
Thanks to (the other tall) Martyn, there was good communication and group hosting by the company and I recommend taking at least one of the offered guiding days, which we found good fun, and the opportunity to meet other Green Rides chalet guests over a lunch in Italy, the like of which you would not be able to find for yourself. For the reassurance of any eagle-eyed, party pooping regulation spies, they cannot and do not guide at all in France, you have to meet up just over the border in Italy.
We were told that they are looking to expand with another chalet in other resorts in the Haute Savoie, and if this is (hopefully) within one of the higher and larger ski areas such as espace killy, paradiski, or three valleys, then we will seek them out and definitely support their venture.
Oh, by the way, it was fantastic value for money too!

Room Tip: You can talk over your booking with Conor, who will let you know just what to expect from any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_p937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

La Rosiere is a picture postcard perfect resort with nice wide pistes and lots of places to eat and drink. We were complete beginners and booked ski lessons with ESF as recommended by green rides. Our instructor, Matthieu, was brilliant and we would highly recommend him. Our chalet hosts Martin and Sarah were quite simply amazing! the chalet was always spotlessly clean and the food was phenomenal, the bed was super comfy, the view was stunning, and the hot tub was essential after a day's skiing! The chalet is a five minute uphill walk to the "front de neige" but green rides provide a morning shuttle which was a great leg-saver! We stayed at chalet Jeode during the first week of March, a busy time by La Rosiere standards as it was Paris half term! But other than slightly longer than anticipated transfers due to the crazy traffic, you would really never know that this was one of the busiest weeks of the season, we never queued for more than 5mins for a lift and some of the pistes were almost deserted (esp. mouflon). All in all- we would highly recommend Chalet Jeode, La Rosiere and Green Rides (so long as they don't take Martin's boeuf bourguignon off the menu!!) we look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coconut31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Three generations of our family spent February half-term week at Chalet Jeode . We arrived very late after a prolonged drive in a mini bus tired and somewhat stressed!! Unbeknown to us we had a 62mph restrictor on the van we had hired!!!

We were greeted by Martyn & Alysha our chalet hosts into our lovely warm chalet, log burner ablaze and an excellent meal and wine. What mini bus??
This continued in a similar vein throughout the week. The weather was kind ( four good days) the snow was plentiful, the only thing that was downhill was the skiing!

The chalet was very clean and cosy yet a little cramped on the lounge seating front, but the views are breathtaking. We filled the chalet so we didn't mind cosying up on the sofas.

Greenrides certainly hit on a winning formula by enlisting Martyn & Alysha to its ranks. It has to be said that they are the best chalet host We have ever encountered, nothing was too much trouble. Alysha’s baking is marvellous and the two birthday cakes she produced were second to none, whilst Martyn’s culinary skills are the best I have ever experienced on a ski chalet holiday.

Martyn & Alysha will be pioneering a cookery school through the summer, my advice would be for any prospective chalet host to learn from the best.

Well done Conor, Greenrides is a first class company.

Best Wishes

The Duckies

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vicfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rosiere hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
0.2 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
#2 of 31 in La Rosiere
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
L Accroche Coeur
L Accroche Coeur
#1 of 3 in La Rosiere
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#3 of 3 in La Rosiere
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Jeode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Jeode

Property: Chalet Jeode
Address: D1090, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Speciality Lodging in La Rosiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Another excellent chalet in the Green Rides portfolio, Chalet Jeode is right in the middle of the resort, only minutes from the piste and all amenities. In its stand-alone position with far reaching views of the surrounding valleys, it offers the space that you need for 13 guests over 3 floors with 5 well-appointed and spacious on-suite bedrooms, ski room and outdoor hot tube. The high ceiling living room on the top floor will see you sitting in front of the log fire with a glass of wine whilst admiring the unbroken views through the large glass windows that open up into the terrace. You can count also on Satellite TV, a Nintendo Wii and a DVD library to keep your group entertained on those snowy days. Here you can relax knowing that you can get back to a cozy warm chalet anytime you like or nip out for a drink after dinner, all of course with the usual excellent Green Rides service ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing