We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Choucas La Rosiere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

3* chalet for 14/16. Chalet hosts Mike & Jerome were lovely as was the rep Lynn (all working for skiworld) it is Mike & Jerome's first season so I'm sure they will learn loads, went out of their way to be helpful.
The chalet itself could do with a lick of paint and a tidy up.The kitchen the hosts had to work in was ridiculous for a party of 14 and had one very small square of work surface,someone had improvised by stacking crates with wood on top to use as work surface (really not ideal especially when there is plenty of room to fit adequate surfaces and cupboards.There is a lack of eqipment for the hosts to work with, ie cooking pots/plates etc. Lighting in the bedrooms was poor and could do with a few high wattage bulbs. Food was kept in short supply which is obviously down to the company. We had no coffee/no milk and no juice on some days.Also no bathmats, only a couple of tea towels which badly needed a clean.
Breakfast were tiny, considering the party were mainly men this needs to be looked at as it is a very important meal when skiing. Evening meals were nice as was the afternoon tea,although for a party of 14 more bread should be offered at afternoon tea as one french loaf was not enough (only 13 of our party came but we had booked and paid for 14) also more savoury food as cake bread and jam are not to everyones taste, some people prefer a savoury choice.

The chalet is in the Balcons complex in Les Eucherts and is a good 5 mins walk from the lift on a slightly downhill path. The La Rosiere/Les Eucherts area is very pretty and has a variety of shops and bars and would suit most skiers. Very pretty area.There are a few things to do for non skiers such as walks,ice skating and bowling.
The transfer time was over 3 hours and a bit of a chore.Grenoble airport is a nightmare! 1 hr 30 mins to collect luggage and the same to check in,very little organisation at the airport.
The company managing the chalet needs to sort out the equipment situation and ensure there are bath mats in every room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We visited the establishment during New Years. Check-in was surprisingly late: although the contract stated that keys would be handed out from 17:00 onwards, we received our keys around 18:30, supposedly due to the fact that they were cleaning the appartment. However, when we entered the appartment it was nowhere near clean: the cutlery in the drawers was dirty, the toilets were disgusting and the whole place was rather dusty.
Furthermore, they failed to mention that the elevator was broken, nevertheless they placed us on the top floor (6th floor from the parking garage, 3 floors from the ski exit). When we asked later, we were told that the lift would be fixed on Monday. It turned out the lift wasn't repaired until Friday, and then it worked for a few hours only. An apology from the management or at least a caring attitude from the reception staff would have been very helpful, but instead we were told it was our fault that we didn't mention upon reservation that the elevator was important to us (due to health reasons of some members of our group). After many complaints from our side we were offered a discount, which up till now we haven't seen yet.
On the other hand, we visited La Rosiére to ski and the proximity of Les Balcones to the slopes and skilift of Les Eucherts was a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The apartment itself was perfectly adequate, it was fairly basic, but clean and situated close to the ski lift in Les Eucherts. There was no WiFi throughout our stay, despite the assurances of the receptionist that it would be fixed 'tomorrow'. The shower bracket was broken, which we immediately reported, however no assurances were provided about when this might be repaired, rather we were casually told they would report the issue, but nothing was done.

The aforementioned issues were all relatively minor and didn't seriously affect our stay. The real problem occurred following our departure. We opted to pay the €75 cleaning charge, which we were informed would cover a thorough clean of the entire apartment. 3 days after our stay we received an email informing that the apartment was left in an unacceptable state and alleging that we had broken the shower, as well as a bedroom door. The hotel debited a further €70 from my credit card without waiting for a response.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Travelled with SkiWorld and stayed in Chalet Marmotte (12/13) and we had a great week. It was mostly the Skiworld staff (the chalet guests, the chalet host, the rep and others who were very good).

Location - conveniently located near les Eucherts area. 10 minutes walk to La Rosiere town centre. There isn't much to apres skiing with either towns. It's a quiet resort, so don't go here if you are looking for nightlife!

Accomodation - very small rooms all with ensuite jacuzzi baths. There was also a separate shower room. Always kept clean and tidy by the chalet host. The bedrooms were all twins, with hardly any space to walk around in the room, ample cupboard space and hooks in the ensuite bathroom over the radiators.

As a family, this was our first time to go skiing. La Rosiere and Chalet Marmotte suited us quite well. The slopes at La Rosiere is excellent for beginners, high enough to have snow in April!

The transfer from Grenoble though is 3 hours and with delays inbound and outbound, could equate to one long journey.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in les Balcons for a week during our Christmas skiing vacation. We were disappointed by the apartments. In the description of our travel agent it said that you would love to stay indoors and cocoon in the apartment but this was not the case. It was very minimalistic, poor beds and basic furniture. Not very cosy. Also we could not use the fireplace because there was too much snow on the roof. Because of the snow you could not open the windows (in the ceiling) and the bedrooms were very hot and stuffy.
Our apartment was on the road and every night after the bars closed there were screaming drunk people on the street, this made it hard to sleep. We complained to the front office but of course they could not do much about it, but I also got the idea they were not so interested.
What we liked about the location is that it is easy ski in and a short walk to the lifts. The village is small and everything is nearby. There is not so much to do and the restaurants are no good, but the kids liked the small skating rink and they could go bowling in the evening.
I wish we would have stayed somewhere else, but if you stay in Les Balcons you are probably better off in one of the apartment buildings away from the road.

Room Tip: Maybe you are better off in an apartment at the back (but I am not sure). We had a duplex and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in chalet #8 which was convenient as it was very close to the slopes...the place itself was clean and cosy however there was constantly air draft through the room as the front door was very visibly not fitting well (a bit annoying especially for the place which considers itself environment-friendly low-carbon footprint etc...).
Otherwise there are some useful amenities like a ski room located in each chalet which comes handy as you don't need to drag your stuff around, as well as an underground parking. Heating is good and automaticlaly set to a certain temperature day-and-night and if you fail to turn off radiators during the night it gets fairly warm and air very dry inside.
The restaurant La Grange is nearby and lunch and dinner are tasty (especially fondu and raclette) but it fails with the buffet breakfast which is very basic being disappointing for a 4* hotel.
Service-wise - we arrived after 7h travelling and waited for another 1h at the reception for the so called "easy check-in" (!)...also there was nobody to assist with the luggage as I had several pieces + a toddler + a pregnant wife.
We asked before coming if hair dryers were provided and were told they are not (so brought ours), however when arrived we realized they were supplied.
Overall we liked the village very much however if coming again would probably consider different accomodation.

Room Tip: All rooms should be facing south so opposite to the slopes and with magnificent views...Chalet #8 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Sat here right now in the centre of La Rosiere sipping coffee and enjoying the amazing views over the mountains. The skiing here is very good apparently although I don't ski. You can ski right to Italy and get pizza for lunch! There are 2 centres here, les escherts and La Rosiere joined by a 10 minute Narnia walk through the trees. Having been to other ski resorts before this is definately the most friendly. I would also highly recommend Skiworld whose chalet we are in. The staff are excellent and so is the food. For non skiers there is plenty to do. We have tried Aquarobics in the Cimes Blanches hotel and just come back from a snow shoe trek. Brilliant fun. There is also a bowling alley and the food there is good too. Fun atmosphere in Bar Fusion with Nev the owner who keeps winning the british slalom race held on a Thursday. Thoroughly recommend this resort

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Rosiere
0.2 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.7 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
0.1 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#2 of 3 in La Rosiere
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
L Accroche Coeur
L Accroche Coeur
#1 of 3 in La Rosiere
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons de la Rosiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons de la Rosiere

Address: Rue des Balcons | Les Eucherts, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in La Rosiere
Price Range: £71 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons de la Rosiere 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxed stay right on the resort, enjoy the subtle mix of traditionnal charm and modern comfort of this 8-chalet apartment complex. These spacious apartments can welcome up to 17 guests. The unique view on the Tarentaise valley is exceptional, along with a great sunshine exposure. Free and direct access to the Eucherts center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ski Planet, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Balcons de la Rosiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons De La Rosiere Hotel La Rosiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing