We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Siing - New Year 2014”
Review of Hotel La Roz

Hotel La Roz
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rosiere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Roz
Ranked #2 of 3 La Rosiere B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Siing - New Year 2014”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are looking for a good honest hotel that wont break the bank I cannot recommend highly enough.
The team were exceptionally helpful: late meals when we were delayed by snowfall and helping to clear a parking spot in a 2ft drift. Rooms are basic but plenty of hot water and a bed...you are there to ski! Bus stop adjacent to hotel whisks you to un-crowded slopes (it is only a 7 min walk anyway!)
The food far exceeded expectations - hot breakfast choice and a really hearty evening meal served at your table.
A great find - we plan to go back.....almost reluctant to write this good report as others may book ahead of us.
Mike (and the team).....thanks!

Room Tip: If you are not one for late nights in the bar, ask for a room low down in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I took away 23 members of the Armed Forces in March for a week and everyone had an absolute blast. We were greeted with an extremely warm welcome from Mike and his team.

Location - It's located 10 metres from the ski bus stop and the bus takes less than 5 minutes to get to the slopes! The bus goes up and down and offers a variety of options, more than enough for a weeks worth of skiing, coupled with the opportunity to go into Italy and the possibilities are endless. It's not far from bars and shops, maybe a 3-5 minute walk and everyone in the area is very friendly.

Hotel - The accommodation is basic but perfect for what a group/family skiing trip should be. The rooms are big enough with ample storage and some have balconies with incredible views into the neighbouring villages. The beds are comfortable and the ensuite does exactly what its meant to do. There is permanent hot water and housekeeping clean the rooms and make the beds on a daily basis. I cannot fault the rooms, nor could anybody else.

Food - We had 3 courses every night and it was to die for! It was varied, fresh, inventive and there was lots of it. It wasn't a cheap buffet but instead freshly prepared an cooked and served by one of the many friendly waitresses. Breakfast was huge with plenty of choice and the chef would often come out and have a chat with our group.

Apres ski - It's not famous for it's Apres ski in la rosiere but we had an incredible time. Mike and his team put on several functions for us and many of the locals ended up joining us. When we finished in the hotel bar we wandered up to the village bars and were often out until 0300 or 0400. There was a really good scene there and thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.

Staff - The staff could not have been friendlier, always willing to help out and no job was too much for them. They approached every job with a can do attitude and really helped our group have a good time.

In total, it's not 5 star luxury but if you're a family or a group of any size then you will have an amazing time. Its cheap, cheerful and does everything a ski resort should do! We have already reserved for next year and if you take the plunge and come here you won't want to go anywhere else!

Thanks to Mike and his crew for a truly excellent trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_P89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just returned from a week’s stay at Chalet Papillon 5 in Les Eucherts near La Rosiere. This was booked via Ski Beat.

It was quite a long transfer from Lyon airport, approximately 3.5 hours by coach and the last part is up a very winding road from Borg St Maurice.

The Chalet is in fact a part of a group of self contained dwellings within a larger building. Chalets Papillon 1-6 are within the same building but each has their own entrance and allocated slot within the communal heated boot room. Within the complex are two saunas; one for males and one for females and a crèche. The accommodation was excellent, very clean and plenty of storage room in the bedroom and the ensuite facilities were first class with plenty of hot water. Rooms 1-5 on the ground floor are larger than rooms 6 and 7 on the top. These rooms are tucked under the eaves and may do feel more cramped. Only negative point is that the main doors have a key pad and each chalet is given a code to enter. As the key pad does not automatically lock after people after entered you are reliant on other guests in your chalet to turn the lock after themselves. None of the bedrooms have their own locks or safes so valuables do feel vulnerable. Although I must say that whilst there is vulnerability, we did not have any problems during our stay.

The living space was ample, plenty of comfy seats, a very large dining table and log burner. The views from the balcony were just amazing. A TV was available which made watching the Olympics after a day’s ski-ing enjoyable. The Freeview box had to be turned on to watch the TV and if you didn’t know this you may have thought that TV wasn’t available. Numerous board games are also available and a number spent a happy evening playing “pick up sticks”.

The accommodation is a short walk, less than 100metres to the slope which takes you to the chairlift up to all the pistes.

Chalet hosts, Max and Lucy helped make the holiday. They were extremely warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Both of them prepared the food and all of it was excellent. Breakfast consisted of; choice of cereals, bread with jams, fully cooked breakfast on 5 mornings. On their day off we were still able to help ourselves to cereal, bread and pain au chocolat which we cooked fresh on the morning. On the morning of our transfer home, Max and Lucy got up at the same time (4.30am) to see all guests off and to provide drinks and croissants for our journey. Afternoon tea including bread, jam and a freshly baked cake was always laid out for our return from the slopes including their day off. Lucy’s cakes are amazing – especially the Victoria Sponge! Evening meal was at 8pm and was mainly a three course meal with red and white wine included. Although on our last evening we had an additional cheese board course with port. Max has worked in his parents’ cafe and this showed in the standard of food that he produced. Everyone had plenty of food and never felt that they needed more. For children under 12, a separate evening meal is prepared and served to them at 6pm.

On a separate note, a massage service is offered by an external company called “Massage Me”. I can highly recommend the Deep Tissue & Sports Massage which helped me overcome a very painful cramp experience and ease aching muscles ready for the next day’s ski-ing.

Les Eucherts where Papillon 5 is situated is a small off shoot of La Rosiere. It does have a number of bars and restaurants and I can highly recommend the Kitzbuhl is a brilliant restaurant and you can include bowling if you want. The 28 euro 3 course set menu is excellent value for money and we watched the local ice hockey team play through a window whilst we were eating.

There is a beautiful 15 minute walk from Les Eucherts to La Rosiere along a woodland path called Narnia and the views are amazing.

The ski area is fantastic for intermediates although we had a number of advanced ski-ers with us and they were happy with the ski area and the off piste opportunities. The majority of the pistes are wide and open. In particular, two lovely red runs are Fontaine Froide and Marmotte. The latter of which is fairly steep but wide. You can ski to La Thuile which we did although the long, flat drag lift was an experience I would rather not do again.

When we visited we had a number of issues with the weather and only had sun on a couple of days. The other days had a lack of visibility due to either blizzards, strong winds or low cloud and on one day the lifts were shut for half a day due to the strong winds. This was probably due to the resort being so high.

Overall would highly recommend this Chalet, the resort and using Ski Beat even though it’s not one of the widely known travel companies. The service I received at all times has been excellent and I will certainly be using them again.

Stayed February 2014 with friends and family.

Room Tip: Chose rooms 1-5 as 6-7 are under the eaves and can feel quite cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Woody029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowcrazy05, Owner at Hotel La Roz, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
This property should not be confused with Hotel La Roz and has a different owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short trip to La Rosiere to visit our son and girl friend who are working there for the ski season.
I searched the web for suitable locations close to where he lived and many hotels listed seemed to fit this bill as they were "less than 2 Km" away. However, take care...this must be measured as the crow flies. One place I was interested in was listed as 0.9kms distant but was actually 8Km due to the twisty roads in the area.
My son recommended Hotel La Roz and it was genuinely in the village. If you didn't want to walk, a very regular (free) bus service took you to other nearby points.
Our room was basic (as most ski hotels are) but was clean and had everything you needed.
Breakfast was very good (cereals, yogurts, porridge, bacon and eggs etc). We didn't eat dinner there so can't comment on that. Breakfast is normally served from 8am but we had to leave very early (6am) in the morning for our journey home. One of the staff was there to help us to coffee and juice before we set out. Thanks for doing that!
The hotel bar is very popular with skiers so things will get busy and noisy in the evenings. If this is not for you ask for one of the quieter bedrooms. We did and heard nothing all night.
So, if you are heading for La Rosiere or Les Eucherts and looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price, contact Mike and his staff at Hotel La Rox.

Room Tip: If you are an early bedder, ask for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

spent a week mountain biking in La Ros, i would struggle to call it a Hotel its more of a hostel IMO.
Bike storage was a little nerve racking as it was a shared garage up the road!!
staff were great and helpful and the place was clean.
we had to ask for towel changes and was told that it would be an extra charge never heard of that before TBH. being in France i was expecting so high standards in the meals but i was pretty surprised to be eating food cooked pretty bad.
Im glad i had a good deal on the stay i think in total for the week was £300ish any more and i would have been gutted.
I wouldnt be put off because La Ros is beautiful and the staff are great. thumbs up to the BBQ

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh_warrior79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowcrazy05, Owner at Hotel La Roz, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. However, you paid £300 for 7 nights accommodation fully catered and this included £100 towards your mountain bike guide. That is less than £30 per night!...I think your expectations were a little too high for the money you paid. It should be noted that we no longer open the hotel in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We bought a KGB deal for a week skiing holiday, which was for half board, including wine. Transfers from the airport, ski and boot hire and ski pass were additional, but it was still good value for money. The hotel is in the middle of two ski areas, both access by bus which stops outside the hotel. Las rosiere has a small village atmosphere. The ski area is extensive, providing skiing into la Thuile in Italy which is a must. Fantastic snow conditions due to the height of the resort. Food was good and plentiful and usually hot food available for breakfast in addition to a range of cereals and toast, English teabags and coffee! Would recommend this hotel, although it is basic it has everything that you need.

Room Tip: All rooms would be about the same I would imagine. A room on the lower floors would be advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moekemp1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Went out as a group of six for a week of skiing.
No issues with transfers to and from Geneva airport, took us about 3 hours each way and our driver was happy to stop off if we needed to.
Staff are all really friendly and ready to help.
Breakfast was sufficient to set us up for the day and we were really well fed & watered in the evening. Which was great as a day on the slopes left us whacked!
The bar is cozy and again the staff are really friendly. Lounge area up at the top is nice to relax in.
Location of the hotel couldn't be better. The regular shuttle bus to the slopes stops pretty much on the doorstep.
Rooms are pretty basic, but you only need somewhere to crash in the evening.
I would definately stay there again.
There are loads of runs from beginner to advanced and we had great snowfall during our stay (27th Jan - 3rd Feb).
The Ski Food snack bar in Les Eucherts is convenient and well priced and the apres ski is nicer on the other side by the La Rosiere town.
La Pub is a nice little place as is La Petit Danios.
But for a small town there is quite a bit going on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rosiere hotels
0.4 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
#2 of 31 in La Rosiere
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#3 of 3 in La Rosiere
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
0.3 mi away
L Accroche Coeur
L Accroche Coeur
#1 of 3 in La Rosiere
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Roz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Roz

Property: Hotel La Roz
Address: L'Oree | La Rosiere 1850, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Rosiere
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Roz offers a low budget option for skiers to La Rosiere, France. Chalet style catering, cosy and comfortable and clean with WIFI in communal areas. Friendly and close to the slopes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing