We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front courtyard
Comfortable lounge with large flat screen TV, DVD, selection of DVD 's , period original fireplace. Large family country kitchen with multi- fuel burner and large dining table. super communal space !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Front courtyard
Comfortable lounge with large flat screen TV, DVD, selection of DVD 's , period original fireplace.
Large family country kitchen with multi- fuel burner and large dining table. super communal space !
Down stairs family bathroom with over bath shower via combo boiler.
Stylish and comfy lounge
Relax beside the burner for a cosy evening .
Second bedroom is still full of character with wood floors, bedsteads and basket of children's games
Comfortable king size bed with memory foam mattress.
Large fridge freezer- microwave and work space.
Weardale railway
Original, character fireplace fireplace.
Large flat screen , DVD , free view.
High chair available
Comfy rocking chair in the country kitchen.
Basket of books, puzzles colourings for younger children.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Wolsingham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela T
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wolsingham is a pleasant village in Weardale and Dipper Cottage is in an excellent location for visiting most of what County Durham and the Wear Valley have to offer.
Dipper Cottage is within walking distance of the local shops and amenities and we made two visits to the Italian Restaurant, which is roughly a seven minute walk away.
We enjoyed the quirkiness of the cottage - beautiful period fireplaces, colourful rugs and polished floorboards were a joy, as were the comfortable beds!
All in all, we had a great week in Wolsingham and fell in love with Dipper Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thankyou , Angela for a lovely review- so glad you enjoyed your stay. You were perfect guests !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Julia...
2 reviews
“Excellent base for our holiday!”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Every year I return to Co Durham with my husband and three children for our holiday and to spend time with my extended family. We are therefore not the typical tourists, visiting tourist spots or local restaurants. The cottage was perfect for our needs, providing us with exceedingly comfortable beds and very importantly (well, for my boys) Wi-Fi. The cottage was well equipped and very clean. Wolsingham is well served for shops and other amenities. The surrounding area is stunning, with plenty of things to do should you wish. Definitely a good choice for somewhere to stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay - thankyou for being such considerate guests- a pleasure to host for you : thankyou , Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed the Cottage - hope you choose to return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Dipped Cottage is clean, comfortable, and dog friendly.
Although the owner is available if needed we were not bothered.
Wolsingham is a nice friendly village with plenty to do,
We enjoyed ourselves.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thankyou for the positive review, Norman - so glad you enjoyed Dipper Cottage .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan F
1 review
“Quirty”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very clean very nice cottage. Steep stairs, shower in bath so if you have leg problems could be difficult.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thankyou for taking time to review your stay at Dipper Cottage , glad you enjoyed it. The Cottage was built about 1890-1900 which means it has some interesting features like great fire places and high ceilings ; some features like the stairs, are a little steeper than modern homes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie-VW...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely, cosy little cottage close to shops and cafe's in Wolsingham. All within walking distance. Spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. Big TV in the lounge with comfy chairs and sofa. Large fridge freezer in kitchen with electric fan oven and gas hob for cooking if you choose. Shower over bath with lashings of hot water. Upstairs, two lovely bedrooms, the double we used was a lovely comfy bed. Off street parking at the back, although tight for a large car like ours, there's ample parking on the road so not a problem in any way. The owner Mary was excellent with communication and all information we needed clearly explained.
We had a lovely and would definitely hope to return again at some point. Thank You.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay ! It was lovely that you respected the Cottage so much and left it so tidy and clean (thankyou) it would be a pleasure to have you return. Look out for Heron Cottage in Frosterley which is newly refurbished and recently listed :) best wishes/ Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet little dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wolsingham is a lovely little village with all the appropriate facilities to suit all. Whether you are an experienced walker or just like to just sit back and relax the surrounding village offers that.

Dipper cottage provides what it says, a lovely little cottage with self catering facilities. There are local shops, fish and chip shop and a Chinese. Also the local pub provides lovely lunches. Not forgetting to mention the Italian restaurant.

If you prefer to go totally self service then that is possible too. The cottage provides that facility.

My only criticism would be to confirm check out time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
I m so pleased you enjoyed it and took time to review. I'm sorry you were not clear on check out time but it is clear on the booking policy .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing