We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Bull Inn

The Black Bull Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Wolsingham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at a farmhouse in the area in November and needed somewhere to eat our evening meal in the village nearby. We ate there the first night and were so impressed that we ate again the second night! A nice, relaxing pub where the landlord and staff are friendly and competent. The meals are plentiful, hot and very tasty. We felt relaxed and at home straightaway. I was very impressed when on the second night, the landlord welcomed us back and knew immediately what our drinks were and how I liked mine served. They are trying to build up the pub to a good place to drop in for a drink or something to eat when out walking as well. Well done. We will certainly be back when we are next in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    24
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had 2 meals here the first being on Saturday evening we were a party of 6 ranging from 8 to 70 years old. The staff are absolutely lovely and extremely helpful & polite they cant do enough for you. The menu is not huge but there is plenty of choice, The food was homemade & plentiful really really tasty, they even offer more chips & veg if you want it. We asked if they served sandwiches on Sunday lunchtime but they didnt they just do a Sunday lunch, the lovely blond barmaid disappeared & when she returned she said the chef would do sandwiches for us the next day. Again we werent dissapointed the food was plentiful & very tasty. Will visit again definately when were in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great quality food, with massive portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The title says it all!

A group of 12 of us dined here, and we preselected our choices, to help the kitchen.

The quality of food was superb, served with an abundance of veg and chips.

It's no fancy dining experience, but if you like homemade wholesome food, then this is the place for you!

Al the staff are really helpful, and if you have any special requests, just ask......if they can do it for you, they will.

We will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The service was very good - friendly and welcoming - and the food was also great. The pub interior lets it down a bit but still worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank riceburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Black Bull - A Nice Place to Eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We took our friends for a day out in the summer and a walk around Tunstall Reservoir. We decided to have lunch at the Black Bull.

We were greeted with a very friendly smile by the Barman and we had the pick of tables inside because we were early for lunch.

They have a very comprehensive and varied menu.

The service was excellent.

We all enjoyed our lunch very much and agreed that we would return at some point in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull Inn also viewed

Wolsingham, Durham
Frosterley, Durham
 
Wolsingham, Durham
 
Wolsingham, Durham
 

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing