We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as good as some other Premier Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wenvoe
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as some other Premier Inns”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cost data : Prebooked 62 pounds for a Saturday night excl. breakfast.

Not one of their special deals ( rarely find those for a Saturday), and a bit of a drive from Cardiff (we knew this in advance so not an issue). Usual Premier Inn standards - man on the front desk very pleasant and helpful. It was a hot humid night and the windows are restricted opening - about 2 inches (I know this is Health and Safety but I still think it's crazy) so had to use the fan provided which wasn't really adequate (no aircon system installed - our stay in another Premier Inn the day after did have AirCon). The TV has a sound limiter applied - so low you could barely hear it - on top of which, the extractor fan in the bathroom was really noisy so all in all, a few annoying niggles which took the edge off the stay. For 62 pounds, it felt quite expensive for what we got. I stay at Premier Inns a lot ( and shall continue to do so) but this was not their best offering.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    96
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
113
83
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I wanted a quiet room as a stop over for the night and this met the brief perfectly. Easy to find, plenty of parking and friendly staff when you get there. Clean rooms with all the basics that you need.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Usual Premier Inn offering. Ask for room at back of hotel (away from very busy A road), and at opposite end to adjoining pub (quieter). Windows don't open enough so it was quite warm - hopefully they can fix this. Very comfortable bedroom, bathroom, considering the good night guarantee P. Inn has always worked for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanno1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for one night, rooms were very clean and comfortable. Went the bar for a meal which was good value. Breakfast was also very nice but can seem expensive if you don't fill your boots. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just enjoyed a half term break in Cardiff, found the staff here exceptionally warm and family friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the local area. Good place to be to travel to Cardiff Bay or over to Barry Island. Mainly the staff they were fab.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Premier Inn set a very good standard for reasonably priced hotels and this is no exception.

Friendly staff, good sized and clean rooms. Although there was some traffic noise, I did not find this a problem although possibly it could for a light sleeper.

Wenvoe is a very nice village a short bus ride from Cardiff. We aimed to eat in the local pub a few minutes walk up the road but unfortunately they weren't serving food as business was very quiet the day after the bank holiday! We did not eat in the beefeater attached to the hotel as it seemed a bit pricey for what it was and ended up driving a couple of miles to the local carvery at Penarth, which was fine.

We went into Cardiff for the day and this has all one would expect from a big city and was a half hour bus journey away. If you're happy to stay a little outside the city, I would recommend the Premier Inn, Cardiff West.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alswanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent a night at Cardiff West Premier Inn and received excellent service from all of the staff, a great room, fantastic breakfast and brilliant value for money! I fully recommend this hotel.





  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wenvoe
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
Address: Port Road | Nantisaf, Wenvoe CF5 6AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Wenvoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wenvoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the country with Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff West, just outside the beautiful rural village of Wenvoe. And with great nearby transport links, you'll also be well placed to zip off and explore business and leisure destinations around Cardiff and South Wales. Catch the big game at the Millennium Stadium. Dig into Wales' past at St Fagans National History Museum. Settle down for a show at the Millennium Centre, or dive into the crowd at the Motorpoint Arena. Then relax with a tasty meal in our restaurant and a great night's sleep in your extra-comfy bed. Directions: From M4(J33) go south on A4232. Take 2nd exit (airport), then 3rd exit at Culverhouse Cross roundabout. 1/2 mile on Barry Road (A4050). Next to the Walston Castle Beefeater. Transport and local information: Cardiff Wales Airport 8 miles Barry Island Theme Park Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Central Train Station 8 miles Cardiff Airport 7 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel Wenvoe, Vale Of Glamorgan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing