We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dire”
Review of Walston Castle

Walston Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wenvoe
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dire”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Got there at 8pm as the rush was tailing off. We got seated quickly butbthen waited to order for about 15 mins snd it was quiet!
I had calamari in batter, which was overdone and greasy. Then ordered rib eye which 50% gristle.
Mentioned this to the waitress who suggested that I probably should have had the steak more well done. Then the manager came over to apologise but said that it wasn't gristle but marbled fat! !!
It then took 20 minutes to get the bill and pay.
To balance this my wife's steak didn't have as much gristle.
Big miss in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Smokingdragong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    15
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Our meal was very average my pate lacked flavour and the calamari was over cooked and greasy. The steaks were well cooked but one was very tough over half being inedible . When we complained we were told that rib eye steaks can be like that. The service however was my main complaint it was very slow with the bill taking 1/4 of an hour to come and a similar time until we could pay

Helpful?
Thank Draig56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, friendly service and decent value....”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn next door on business and ate both evening meal and breakfast here. Both meals were good and the service was excellent. For dinner I chose from the daytime menu as it was just prior to the 6.30pm cut off. Bill came to £15.90 for three courses and a soft drink but would have been much less if I had not opted for the 10oz steal as main! Only realised after finishing the meal that both the lemonade and the chips came with free refills.Oh well, it probably saved my waistline further expansion.

Food was good value and filling but not anything spectacular. Breakfast next morning was very good and very plentiful. After ordering from the all you can eat cooked selection, the attentive waiter still returned to ask if I wanted more! Along with the cereals, fruit, yogurts, toast etc. etc.you certainly won't go hungry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sim0n1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We will not be back”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived on a quiet Thursday evening at about 8.30. It took 15 minutes to be seated even though upstairs had very few tables occupied. The lady behind the bar and the restaurant manager showed a complete indifference to our situation as we waited by the bar waiting for our table to be ready when so many were available. Our first three attempts to order a bottle of red proved fruitless as they were out of stock. The food when it arrived was fine and the waitress was embarrassed at our poor experience and tried desperately hard to please us. This earned her a tip but sadly for someone local we will not be back here in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wenvoe visit”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Walston Castle is a typical Beefeater In you get what you pay for. The food is served well and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. My husband chose the spicy chips and our waitress said that if he didn't like them she would change them which was quite impressive. The décor was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walston Castle also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Walston Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing