We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view over Castlebay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh-Na-Mara Guest House
Ranked #7 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Tigh-na-Mara is situated just a few minutes from the port in Castlebay, which was a great advantage as we arrived with the late ferry from Oban. The room was in light colours and the beds were fine. really nice cosy breakfastroom and of course the full scottish breakfast. the view from the B&B is great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biirgitta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Tigh na mara is very handy for your arrival on the island from Oban, especially if you are on the late boat as it is yards from the ferry terminal. This means that it has superb views of Castlebay itself. The owner was really welcoming and the whole atmosphere of the place was so relaxed. The decor is fresh and very Rennie Mackintosh and the place is clean and comfortable. The room was on the small side but perfectly adequate and good value for money. Breakfast was freshly cooked and top quality and the variety excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nozash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

well located at the square and not as on Google maps. an attractive stone building.Twin room I had was not over spacious but adequate with a reasonable en-suite. The breakfasts were made to order and an excellent offering of fresh chopped mixed fruit was available as an alternative to cereal . Hosts were helpful regarding advice. Very close to the ferry and also village facilities and shore strolls.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just 100 m from the ferry this B&B has an enviable position on the sea front with a fantastic view over the bay and the castle. Parking is available in a lay by across the road.

Another excellent, clean, comfortable and quiet B&B with a delicious full Scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This is a very clean and comfortable guest house run by a really friendly couple who clearly care about making their guests feel at home. Well situated for Castlebay attractions and as a base for exploring this breathtakingly beautiful island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghCouple2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and we appreciated Linda our host for her flexibility - we were stranded for longer than anticipated due to storm force winds and ferry cancellations. Linda reassured us by allowing us to keep our room until we could find out whether ferries to Uist were all cancelled.
Amazing breakfast - delicious fruit salad, option of porridge or cereal as well as several cooked options. Plumped for the full cooked breakfast with unlimited toast - certainly kept us going on our travels around Barra.
What a view from our room - right onto Castlebay harbour, the castle and across to Vatersay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Booked 2 nights bed and breakfast and paid £70 on arrival. The room was ok but on the small side. I informed the owner when I arrived that I was catching the 7 a.m ferry to Oban after my second night. It was here I learned that it was now 'room only' and no breakfast was to be provided. I never asked nor was offered a refund for the meal I had paid for. Therefore at £35 for a room and no breakfast made this an expensive place to stay!.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tigh-Na-Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Na-Mara Guest House

Address: Castlebay, HS9 5XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tigh-Na-Mara Guest House Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing