We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Heathbank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heathbank
Ranked #1 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights. The bedroom and bathroom very smart and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast and evening meals very good. If you have not got a car some of the local buses stop outside the hotel.

Great location and views, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFH-Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel rooms to be very comfortable and clean. Very comfortable bed with a lovely big doona to keep you warm. The bathroom as said before didn't have a walk in shower but not much can be done about that and I must say I really enjoyed my baths!
The breakfasts were very good and the owner of the hotel was always up for a bit of a chat.
The evening meals we had in the bar where we met some great characters both locals and visitors. The food was very good for a pub and the local scallops were to die for although three scallops (as big as they were) was maybe a bit lite on. The lamb shank was also fall off the bone delicious.
I can heartily recommend this hotel to either stay at or dine at.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcbar1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had three meals here and all were very well cooked and presented. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Menu was comprehensive and varied and consisted of much local produce. Barra fish is not subject to the restrictions encountered in Uist and Lewis and therefore what you get is fresh from the sea.
All in all we liked the ambience of a friendly country establishment on this lovely Island with its restricted choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Heathbank Hotel for two nights on our recent tour of the Outer Hebridean islands. We really enjoyed our stay here. It is a small hotel with only five rooms. The conversion of the building from a church is excellent. The staff were all very friendly. Our bedroom was nicely decorated, very clean, a good size and with a great view. There was a double and a single bed in the room and while they were comfortable they were a bit on the narrow side. The en-suite bathroom was also very nicely decorated. The only downside was the absence of a walk in shower, though given the proportions of the available space I can understand why there is not one. As it was early in the season the restaurant was not open in the evenings so we ate our dinner in the bar. The food which was pub type was very good.

We really enjoyed our stay on Barra and would certainly use use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely small hotel with spotlessly clean, comfortable room. Staff couldn't be more helpful. The food was good at breakfast, lunch and dinner with anything from the sea especially good. There are great views from the front of the hotel and it is well positioned for the 'airport' and the ferry to Eriskay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank walkerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having been to Barra on number of occasions we always make a point of having dinner at this lovely little hotel. The food, especially the sea food, is delicious and served in an imaginative way. It is fresh and sourced locally, in fact you can look across to the harbour and watch the fishing boats off loading their catch.
The atmosphere is comfortable, warm and friendly. A part from the excellent food there is a well stocked bar serving fine ales and of course, a good selection of Malt Whiskies.

Although at face value the menu looks a little expensive, don't be pit off. Taking into consideration the quality and the remote location of the Island is well worth paying that little bit extra. You won't be disappointed.

We will be back on our next visit to Barra, I would genuinely suggest that you Dine at the Heathbank Hotel on your visit to the 'Fantastic Island of Barra'

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkToastmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Close to the Ferry on Northbay, this hotel has clean rooms, beautifully decorated. The dining room is basically in the bar (you either love sports TV or hate it) but the main recommendation is the food. We had delicious local scallops the size of saucers, wonderful calamari and tender salt marsh lamb shank. Prices very reasonable. The breakfast of smoked haddock was one of the best anywhere (and we also stayed at Langass Lodge and the Polochar Inn so did a fair comparison). The staff had trouble checking us out but had such a sense of humour that it was one of the fun moments of our holiday. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Heathbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathbank

Address: | Northbay, HS9 5YQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and friendly, family run hotel that offers a very good standard of comfortable accommodation with good, homemade food (produce is sourced as local as we can!). A lovely, bright bar with a good selection of drinks, including fresh Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heathbank Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing