We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Nisamar(Puerto Naos)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Los Roques/ Monica(Puerto Naos)
View Hotel
El Drago(Puerto Naos)
View Hotel
La Muralla Apartamentos(Los Llanos de Aridane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Francisco(Todoque)
View Hotel
Las Norias(Tazacorte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Roja(El Paso)
View Hotel
La Cancelita(Todoque)
View Hotel
Finca Alcala(Los Llanos de Aridane)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
204
478
283
126
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
478
283
126
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomla palmasea viewhuge balconyhalf boardfitness classeslarge hotelbuffet basischoice of food at breakfastbit outdateddutch touristssmaller poolthird flooractivity teamtwin beds pushed togetherthe sun setwest coast of the island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I have really mixed feelings about the Sol La Palma. Stayed for 10 nights in Jan/Feb,and there is no doubt that there are many strong points. Fantastic seaside location,picturesque views, great sunsets,spacious rooms,lots of facilities,bags of atmosphere. But there's something missing. The staff seem to lack passion. there doesn't seem to be much pride in the hotel. Jobs are done efficiently enough,but no-one goes the extra mile to make your stay memorable. I think it's something to do with the fabric of the place. It's 25 years old now,and time and the Atlantic have taken their toll. To put it bluntly,the place is in need of a top to bottom refurb. Bathrooms need replacing. Rooms are a little shabby. The restaurant has seen better days. The bar is functional. Food is very 1990's. The whole place,though clearly deserving of four stars when it opened ,is now only 3 star standard. It would be difficult to say anything was really poor,but it could ,and should ,be so much better. I suspect that the German tour companies who are,by far,the big clients here are prepared to pay a certain price,but no more. and thereby is Sol Melia's problem. This place could be a stunning hotel,at least 4*,but only if they spent an arm and a leg on it. And then they'd lose a lot of their regular guests,as the prices would have to reflect it. Overall it offers good value for money,and,for anyone who is prepared to overlook a bit of wear round the edges,it's a good place to go for a seaside hotel holiday in a stunning island.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I booked this hotel because I knew it would be full of Spaniards and Germans. I speak a little German and am learning Spanish. I also wanted to see the sun setting over the sea. My wife and I had spent a previous holiday with Thomsons on the east coast and had visited all the interesting sites, so we were quite prepared for a relaxing fortnight. I had booked a flight with Thomsons and superior room in the hotel with Sol Hotels.
Our room and bathroom were both large, but the L-shaped balcony was immense, about 50 square metres, with magnificent views of the sea, the beach, the small town of Puerto Naos and the steep surrounding hills. The balcony also had a pair of loungers and a parasol, and it was like having your own penthouse. We spent a great deal of time on our balcony. It had 15 large plant holders, but there wasn't a geraniium in sight, unlike the balconies above and below us.
The quality and variety of the food were both good, the house red wine was very drinkable, and the Spanish gin and tonic - always with plenty of ice - was very acceptable.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I was able to speak to them in fairly basic Spanish. It was "no problema". Both pools were quite pleasant for swimming, and the water in one of them was warm. Wonderful ! There was a very mediocre trio of an instrumentalist and two singer who performed four times a week, but we also had Spain's own "Elvis", who looked, sang and moved very well, and a "Boogie Disco" with two coloured American singers who were great. All the entertainment finished at 11.30 p.m. Puerto Naos has its own little charm and we walked around it each day. An added attraction was watching the paragliders coming down and landing on the adjacent beach. We also joined the locals for Saturday evening mass in the town at 8.30 p.m. Altogether it ws a most enjoyable holiday with some magnificent sunsets. Good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerryStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is a very large hotel, and during our stay there were only two other English people in the hotel. On the positive side, the rooms are comfortable, with good beds and pillows. We were given a quiet room which I'd requested and we had a good view of the beach, town and sea. There are two major pool areas with plenty of loungers, and a few other areas in the gardens for sun bathing.
The hotel has adopted an all inclusive policy, and consequently there was no a la carte restaurant available. We booked on a bed and breakfast option, which we did through Expedia and got a very good deal. Two nights we ate in the hotel and didn't find the buffet very exciting.There are plenty of restaurants in the town, but all served a similar menu.
The only entertainment on offer was a keyboard player, although there was a very large "theatre" space with stage, but no shows.The bar opening times were very hit and miss.
We were comfortable in the hotel, but doubt that we would return

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

A big hotel, more or less the standard tourist establishment. Hotel staff is very helpfull (breakfast normally startsat 07.00 pm, but on the day we had to leave early a 06.00 breakfast was no problem at all). The towel service for use at the pool was OK, food was good (although not too warm), room was OK. Parking- space a bit limited. Drinks not expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed in the Sol Hotel for 14 days/nights for our vacation. This is the only hotel in Puerto Naos by the way. All other places mentioned to be in Puerto Naos are apartment buildings! If someone mentiones the 'Hotel Puerto Naos', it is the same hotel.

Puerto Naos is a small place on the west-coast of the island of La Palma. There are some tourist stores selling all kinds of stuff for a day at the beach or souvenirs. There are many restaurants as well which are not very expensive. Puerto Naos is a pure tourist place though. Most tourists are from Germany, Spain and the Netherlands. You will mostly see older people. Puerto Naos is not a place for the party generation which was very good for us although we are below 30 years old.The weather was nearly always nice, we almost never had rain or clouds during our stay. Rainy season starts in Octobre though.

The rooms in the hotel are good and we had a nice view on palm trees and the sea in the distance even though we did not order 'sea view'. The rooms were cleaned every day and this was without any problems.
It had a shower and a tub, a hairdryer and a small fridge.

The hotel itself has more than 400 rooms now. It looks a little bit old from the outside but that was not something which disturbed us. There are 2 or 3 pools, several bars and palm trees all around the hotel. Nearly every night there are some actvities like native dancers or singing groups.

The restaurant was very nice and big. There was buffet every night which changed every day: Canarian, Asian ... and so on. And the food is changing, to disagree with some of the older posts here. Prices for alcoholic beverages are ok in my opinion. They have different beers, a huge selection of wines and cava. The service was good.

Distance to the beach is only a few meters. Do not go to the pool, go to the beach! The beach is black and is very hot when the sun shone for a few hours. It consists of bigger and smaller stones as well as sand, depending on which part of the beach you are. I recommend aqua shoes.

There is another beach approx. 2 kilometers from the hotel. It is calles 'Charco Verde'. I recommend going there, the beach is smaller but nicer and the water is more clear. For directions: Just leave the street where the entrance to the hotel is, turn right and follow the street. There are several streets going to the right but follow the street until you see the sign reading 'Charco Verde'.

All in all our stay was very nice and I can recommend this hotel.

To see something from the area book trekking tours from Natour-Trekking. They do tours to all parts of the island (volcanos, Caldera de Taburiente and so on) in all languages. Try it!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ruandrettert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews