We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Room, small price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Iwakuni
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Small Room, small price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 during a business trip to visit the US Marine Corps Air Station. I stayed at this hotel one time previously, and I was aware of what to expect. The rooms are very small. I paid a little bit more to get a larger room with two twin beds instead of one bed. The room has no closet or drawers, but it does have a bar with a few coat hangers near the door where a shirt or jacket can be hung. The lack of drawers meant that the other twin bed that I was not using for sleep became a place to lay my folded clothes. The bathroom is tiny, and the sink faucet has a switch on it to divert water to the shower. I had not seen this previously.

My hotel stay included breakfast. It is a small buffet, nothing special but adequate. The hotel is not far from the airport. My taxi ride was about $12. The hotel is located next to a laundry facility, a Lawson convenience store, and another restaurant. The location was convenient, and the staff was pleasant.

I normally would grade this hotel a little lower than I did, but the price was a bargain. For that reason, I gave it an average review.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra dollars on a larger room. It is well worth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    24
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
8
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Kamenoi is a good 15 minute walk from the station, and its unshaded pavement the whole way. We reached the hotel well before check-in time but the desk staff were agreeable to holding our luggage for us while we went out for the day (we had to ask though). We arrived back to check-in around 8pm and were told that we had to share a pillow because we reserved a "couple plan". They even provided a nice little printout asking for our understanding regarding the matter. Also our luggage was simply plonked down on the floor at our feet while we were filling out the paperwork for the room. The air conditioner was blowing warm air so we cleaned the filters in the shower, which worked wonders. We plan never to use Kamenoi ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Iwakuni hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tottori-shi, Tottori, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Kamenoi Hotel in Iwakuni has some of the lowest prices in the city... and you get what you pay for. The staff were very friendly, but the hotel itself is a good 15 min walk from the station along streets with no real sidewalks (just the grate covered drains).

The hotel has paper thin walls so even hushed talking in the hall sounds like someone is in your room. And at night you can hear toilets being flushed by the neighbors above, below, and on the sides.

There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, so if you are proficient in Japanese bus-riding, this hotel is a little more convenient.

If you are looking to save a few bucks this is definitely a good hotel for a budget, but it does have some quirks that come with the low price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iwakuni
Miyajimaguchi Station
Miyajima Coral Hotel
Miyajima Coral Hotel
#8 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#9 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Miyajimaguchi Station
Aki Grand Hotel
Aki Grand Hotel
#16 of 31 in Hatsukaichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni

Property: Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni
Address: 2-6-30 Shinminatomachi, Iwakuni 740-0002, Yamaguchi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Yamaguchi Prefecture > Iwakuni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Iwakuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni 2.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kamenoi Hotel Yamaguchi Iwakuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing