We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place for a one night stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Mascaret

Le Mascaret
Reserve with
Le Mascaret is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$94
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Fusion, Gastropub, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
British Isles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“excellent place for a one night stopover”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Dinner was excellent in a large dining room - particularly try the home made pesto. The bedrooma are quirky but the main purpose of the visit is the restaurant. The wifi is a little dodgy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aristeppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blainville-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just one little thing”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I thought the food was very good, and the atmosphere excellent and the service beyond reproach.
Just one thing, I think the chairs could do with a bit of attention.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballywalter County Down Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A comfortable and generally good experience”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is another Michelin starred restaurant with rooms, close to the coast in Normandy. The building is very pretty and was formerly a girls school - the new school is opposite and the road [and hotel car park] quite busy at the start and end of the school day - not that this is a problem.

We had the bedroom Tzarina on the first floor at the front of the building. It is hard to criticise something that is obviously done with love but the décor is just kind of too personal and reflects the taste of Nadia Hardy, the wife of the chef-patron Philippe Hardy.

The bath and basin were in the bedroom and took up a lot of space [thankfully the loo was in a separate room] and further space was lost to a small kitchenette, complete with sink, microwave and dishwasher - why anyone should want [or be allowed] to self cater in a Michelin * establishment is quite beyond us. The thought of trying to sleep with said dishwasher chuntering along is also pretty bizarre.

So it was perfectly comfortable but we just did not think it quite worked.

For dinner, we had the tasting menu, which could not be faulted. Philippe is a talented and very pleasant chef - who we chatted to at the end of dinner.

Highlights of the 7 course menu with cheeseboard were the foie gras with truffles, the scallops, the sole, pigeon with calvados and two delicious puddings that are too complicated to describe but involved clementines, passion fruit, fromage blanc, red berries, chocolate mille-feuille and pistachio ice cream.

All was accompanied by an excellent pairing of wines.

We slept very well and had a lovely breakfast in the morning.

Le Mascaret is great for a one night stay. I am not sure if I could quite cope with the décor in the bedroom for much longer than that - it pains me to say that as Philippe & Nadia are two genuinely nice people who own and run a very good restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwlunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Innovative, creative, original cuisine by Phillipe”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was my second visit to Le Mascaret and the gastonomic experience provided by Phillipe and the wonderful surroundings provided by Nadia were just as fantastic but different from my first visit. Congratulations to both of you and thank you and your staff so much for another "challenging" experience!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst food in Normandy”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Starter was a pancake with a selection of small dishes containing a chutney (tasteless)
a cream cheese (bitter) a fois gras mousse (tasteless) an oil infused with herbs (horrible)
and some nutty thing in a bowl (no comment)
This was followed by a cup of salty green tea which I disposed of in the fireplace when no one was looking.
I then had the duck, this was cooked on three sides (rare) and completely raw on the other (cold) the sauce tasted as though it had been hanging around for a few days and was also luke warm. The vegetable tasted as though they had been re-heated but unfortunately not enough as they were also luke warm.
The cheese followed (1 piece) It was nearly as old as me and was accompanied by an orange chutney with a slight curry flavour (disgusting) I left it.
Pudding was a macaroon with a soggy bottom, the coffee was OK.
I really think that if a Michelin representative had tried to eat this lunch he would have taken away the one star this restuarant has.
It is obvious that the chef never bothers to taste his own or he would realise that it is to be polite not very good.
I will not go back

Helpful?
2 Thank 12374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mascaret also viewed

Agon-Coutainville, Manche
Blainville-sur-Mer, Manche
 
Heugueville-sur-Sienne, Manche
Blainville-sur-Mer, Manche
 
Agon-Coutainville, Manche
 

Been to Le Mascaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing