We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to going back!”
Review of Domaine de Barive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Barive
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Preuve
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Expensive, but well worth the trek to its secluded location. Luxurious room, nice swimming pool and very friendly and helpful staff. The food is excellent, although the choice for evening dinner rather limited. An ideal base from which to visit Laon, a gem of a city often missed by Brits speeding to the South.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Return fast but without exceeding the speed limit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    150
    40
    8
    10
See reviews for
81
476
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay. Comfortable and spotless accomodation good staff and fine dining. It would be possible to eat and drink too much in the restaurant (both volume and cost) but the set meal options and different wine by the glass for each course were delicious and good value. We did not make huge use of the Spa but access via a upstairs corridor meant that we could pop down for a swim and sauna in dressing gowns and slippers (provided obviously!)
Our booking for two nights through lastminute was confirmed when the hotel was full for the first night. We chose the offer of the first night in the linked "guest house" Le Prieure and an upgrade to a mini suite for the second night rather than look for somewhere else. A happy accident since the Prieure is at least as good as the hotel. Less people (only five rooms) and an informal atmosphere meant that it was even more relaxing than the hotel. Either would be good for us another time

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We are delighted that your stay in every establishment of the Domain (Le Château and Le Prieuré) satisfied you!
Thank you and with pleasure to welcome you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were a bit late in booking our second visit and were a little concerned we could only have a "package" including dinner and breakfast. We needn't have worried. Our room surpassed expectations with separate entrance hall, sitting area and bedroom and access (along with some other ground level rooms) to an area I took to be a former walled kitchen garden or exercise yard for horses, as I think this was once a stable block.

Our meal deal included champagne before we dined and four wines matched to the courses we were eating. Food was all of an exceptionally high standard.

We were on our way home from the Jura and quickly regretted we were only spending one night. This isn't a particularly easy place to find and it's not for anyone who wants to head out in search of the bright lights. Nor is it inexpensive. But for us it's close to perfection and as others have said, within two or three hours of Calais. I'm certain we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your loyalty.
With pleasure to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here Wednesday for 1 night on our way back to England after touring France for 2 weeks, this was by far the best hotel that we stayed in on this trip. We were upgraded to a junior suite (room1)which had beautiful views over the courtyard and the bathroom even had a jacuzzi,we did look at a classic room for future reference and we wouldn't have been disappointed had we stayed in one.
It was such a lovely day that we had drinks in the courtyard in the afternoon.
The spa area was very inviting and we had a relaxing swim before dinner.
Dinner was amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on it.
As recommended by another reviewer we bought a couple of bottles of the house champagne to enjoy once back home.
All the staff were very welcoming and professional, we very much look forward to returning again soon just for a couple of nights peace and quiet as it is only a couple of hours drive from Calais.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you very much for your laudatory comment.
It is true that the hotel have a good situation for English to make one stop before coming down in the South of France. I hope to see you a next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was so sad to leave here!

We didn't arrive under the best circumstances but the staff were fantastic. This was the final hotel we booked on a 2 week road trip around France and Italy. We left Chamonix at 5pm to realise at 9.30pm we wouldn't be arriving any time soon (thanks French weather!). Phoned the hotel they assured us our key card and information on how to find our room would be there if we arrived after midnight.

Sure enough we arrived at 1.30am. Crept in through the gates, it was SO romantic, this place is really rural, full moon was out and there was us creeping in like some thieves in the night (we're not thieves by the way)!

They'd left the gate slightly open for us and taped a lovely welcome note and key cards to the front entrance (huge thank you). Must apologise to whoever was staying in room No. 1 as the writing on the card looked like we were in number 1 but it was in fact Number 7. No ghosts, it was us trying to get in! Sorry.

Walked into the room I could have cried with delight. Best bed, mini bar packed out with booze/nibbles, everything was stunning. Loved the shower head (lit up blue when cold red when hot), what else, oh lush bathrobes slippers the usual. Cosy, heating was on, black out curtains I felt lovely. (So did my husband for 5 ins but then he conked out and fell asleep so it must have been cosy, or was it the 12 hour drive from Italy via Chamonix).

Woke up next morning, went down for breakfast. Bit bleary eyed after our epic drive/late arrival night before. Tick tick tick! Staff superb. Breakfast amazing. Was made to feel really special.

Spa looked fabulous but we didn't have time to get involved in there, we were so upset to leave. On reflection we should have changed our train channel crossing but the weather wasn't kind to us so we went on our way.

Everyone should stay here. We're coming back. Recommended to all our friends as a rural, romantic escape from everything establishment. You must go.

Enjoy!!

ps loved the cat. He was cute.

Room Tip: Room number 7. Perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelylass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We are delighted to have welcomed you for your short escapade. Stay a little longer the next time! Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a nice hotel and quirky which is such a relief form the standard identical arrangements in some hotels.
I Liked;-
1.The staff who are well trained, professional and a pleasure to be with.
2.The food
3.The facilities
4.The rooms are good and well maintained and interesting
I didn't like;-
1.The very expensive wines, they really are pushing their luck and it irritates.
2.Flies everywhere when we were there and no visible reason as its very clean. A small investment in Eazyzap Commercial Fly Killer Y724 would solve problem I am sure.
3.A small kettle in room would be a real bonus for that insomnia cup of tea!
However all in all a good stay but hotel please take note of suggestions it would make a good hotel into a truly excellent one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your remarks.
Concerning wines, you have several selections from 32 euros. The champagne House is 50 euros.
We handle regularly tall around of the Domain against the flies and the insects but it is very difficult in the countryside. We are sorry for this inconvenient.
We prefere the service rather than to put a kettle in rooms.
We enjoyed to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for only one night (shame it wasn't longer) - the hotel was in a beautiful setting, despite the rain. We were upgraded to a deluxe room, which was huge and with a very comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. Very pleasant night's sleep. The pool and spa area looked good (though we didn't use them) and the gardens (front and back were well tended). Dinner was delicious - guinea fowl, rabbit and cheese courses followed by desert and coffee. Absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was also very good, if perhaps a little expensive. A really wonderful stay. Also of note is the hotel cat - a beautiful ginger Tom who was exceptionally friendly and didn't seem to move from his sleeping chair the whole time we were there. The cat's relaxed attitude to life Unimed up the hotel for me. Comfortable, hospitable and somewhere you could stay for ages.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BettyB000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
All the team and myself thank you for your kind comment on tripadvisor.
We hope to receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Preuve
14.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
23.8 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
417 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
12.6 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
385 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Prieure Chambres d'hotes
Le Prieure Chambres d'hotes
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Barive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Barive

Property: Domaine de Barive
Address: Domaine de Barive, 02350 Sainte-Preuve, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Sainte-Preuve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Preuve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Barive 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Barive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Chateau De Barive Hotel Sainte-Preuve
Domaine De Barive France/Sainte-Preuve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing