We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of La Grange de Conde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Grange de Conde
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conde-Northen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked this for a one night stay on our way from Calais to Alpbach in Austria. It was for my husband's birthday en route on our driving holiday. A fabulous hotel with enormous floor to ceiling Christmas tree bedecked with white baubles and sparkling blue lights in the entrance foyer. Leather settees, antiquities, paintings, real fire - a gem of a find! Shown to Room 20, a large spacious room with dark wood furniture, king size bed and large bathroom.

A beautiful restaurant with murals, chandeliers and more amazing Christmas decorations as well as another enormous floor to ceiling tree. Sumptuous table decorations made the whole place look absolutely fantastic.

Then we used the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room facilities - all done out in an Indian style with beautiful water feature, ornate door and fretwork pellets. Gorgeous. Spent about two hours, just the two of us - very relaxing.

Ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was fabulous. They were very busy but staff looked after us very well and we had a great time. A shame we were only there for one night, but a definite must to return to as it's in such a great position if you are driving through France.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which was just a standard room but was perfectly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

My friend and I landed in Paris after a long flight from California, rented a car and headed out on a 4 day road trip. We wanted a nice place to stay a few hours outside of Paris where we could enjoy a comfortable room, nice meal and restful sleep. The spacious La Grange de Conde fit that description to a tee. The room was beautiful and the restaurant impressive. Over the course of the next two weeks, we had several amazing meals...3 of them in Paris...and our dinner here ranked right up there with those. It was a wonderfully memorable experience. If you're driving east of Paris, look at a map and see if you're going to be in the area. (It's close to Metz.) Choose to stay here instead of in the city. You might even just want to make up a reason to pay a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LORIP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a great hotel which we have often stayed at when traveling back and forth on the A4; it is about 10 mins. from the motorway in a quiet village near Metz. A stylish but modern building houses large and well appointed bedrooms. The restaurant is in the older part of the hotel.
There is a selection of menus and usually we go for the so called 'gourmet' which is well priced and showcases the local dishes. However, on the last 2 occasions the quantity and quality of this menu appears to have been downgraded, as it has in many other restaurants; the finance people have imposed portion control. It is no longer an experience to look forward to, but still quite good value. On the other hand the wine list and sommelier are outstandingly good value. Breakfast has also improved.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Expatriate35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

very nice hotel, very nice employees, nice stop over,nice garden and very nice pool to take a rest and a dive (also with your children) and the restaurant: too good! Very nice, good wine list. We enjoyed the market menu and we had so much joy! Also very nice child menu. Not to many children but no hassle to bring them. Lot of locals as well, which gives me a good feeling: We are not the only ones liking it! The roasting was very clear in a lot of dishes and we liked that a lot! Fresh and good and serious quality! They sure know what is good in that kitchen!
We were there during a warm time and our room was like an oven: that is bad! No good, too warm, we need aircon....that is not too much asked for, is it? Otherhand: they are working on it.
Nice stop-over aswell: when traveling towards the alpes for instance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice hotel in the middle of a smal village. Nice restaurant with very classic food but of good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applause023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were expecting an old fashioned pile in the country but La Grange is a very smart conversion of an old farmhouse(greatly extended) in the heart of the dull village of Conde Northen.It is only five minutes from the autoroute and made a geat stopover on our journey from Lake Como to the Channel tunnel.Standard Rooms are fine-modern,well equipped,spotless and well maintained.The restaurant is very good although a bit expensive.Food is excellent and as the weather was fine on our visit we had the bonus of eating out in the charming courtyard.Service is provided by enthusiastic locals but is a little amateurish for the prices charged but I am being a bit picky.
Overall a very pleasant place to stay in somewhat dull surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stopped here for just one night en route from Paris back to Germany and we were delighted with every aspect of this fine little rural hotel. Although we did not eat here (there was a wedding and the restaurant was packed) we loved the comfort of our room, the grounds, the DVD player and selection of DVDs at reception for free, the fast internet, the complimentary computer in the lobby also super fast, and the breakfast was worth every Euro of the 13 they charged. Very nice experience and we will be back. The staff speaks flawless English.

Room Tip: A standard double is roomy and very comfortable and about all two people need. The pool area is gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conde-Northen
18.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Klauss
Le Domaine de La Klauss
#1 of 1 in Montenach
291 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery By Sofitel
18.4 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Thionville Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
La Bergerie
La Bergerie
#1 of 1 in Rugy
141 reviews
11.8 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#9 of 30 in Metz
940 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange de Conde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange de Conde

Address: 41 rue des 2 Nied, 57220 Conde-Northen, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Conde-Northen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conde-Northen
Price Range: £117 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grange de Conde 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your La Grange de Conde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grange De Conde Hotel Conde-Northen
La Grange De Conde France/Conde-Northen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing