We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When à smile is not enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Grange de Conde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grange de Conde
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conde-Northen
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“When à smile is not enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

La grange de Condé is an up market resort, 20 km from Metz, in Lorraine. Some 20 rooms, a fine restaurant, it is part of the classy alliance called "Chateaux Hotels Collection".
I was greeted with a smile, and everything from the reception to the room oozed of nice details, like fresh fruit, a piece of candy, plush pillows, an ambitious restaurant, etc... I was looking forward to some serious cosseting.
Alas a smile is not enough. I couldn't operate the TV because "previous guests had taken the remote and not yet returned it"... Dinner (I was part of a group) was fine, but took 3 hours, even though it was a buffet. I was woken up by that TV turning itself on without my having requested it. Need I say more? Delivering a quality performance takes more than saying the words, having the facility and smiling. La Grange de Condé has the makings of a class act, but the beautiful shell is hollow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philber78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    86
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
41
140
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I wanted somewhere to stay to break up the car journey from London to Germany . Saw the reviews for La Grange and gave it a try. Glad I did. Convenient parking outside, friendly staff, comfortable room and excellent food in the restaurant . Would definitely use again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert9034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Disclaimer: I did not stay at this hotel, I had to cancel our reservation due to a medical emergency.

I made a reservation through www.expedia.com for this hotel and unfortunately had to cancel the day of due to a medical emergency (we were in the hospital all weekend). I called Expedia to cancel the reservation and they were able to contact the hotel for me and fax/email a cancellation. I thought everything was fine until the following Monday I was charged for the stay and received an email from the hotel staff stating I never cancelled the reservation.

I immediately contacted www.expedia.com again to remedy this situation and responded to the hotel staff email. The Expedia staff contacted the hotel and the hotel staff was completely unhelpful and unwilling to accept the cancellation stating it was never sent - even when I forwarded the email confirmation of the cancellation. It has been a month since this awful experience and I still have yet to be refunded for my cancelled reservation.

Bottom line: Beware if you have any issues and need to cancel your reservation. Make sure you get in writing from the hotel staff the reservation was cancelled.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexter-love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here again, needing an overnight spot near the A4 east from Paris, and it was again good. Friendly staff, adequate rooms, rather good restaurant, not far from the Autoroute to Strasbourg.

It was the mirabelle season and we had the mirabelle menu of 5 courses, almost all with mirabelles as a component. We'll very likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottweil, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the way up north. Like most reviewers, the location lends itself to be used by travellers through France. It is really close to the motorway but far enough to be safe and quiet. Staff were simply great - so friendly from the reception we were given when we first walked in to the kitchen staff who shook our hands as we walked past after our evening meal. The hotel has a selection of Cuban cigars which can be enjoyed in their reception area/ cigar lounge. Laze in a leather chair and have a puff if that is your bag ! Rooms were very good with a safe and a DVD player if you want to borrow a film to watch.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Griso_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

First visited this hotel in Sept 2011, and planning another European trip, felt that we had to include it again. It is a very well appointed hotel, with friendly staff and owners. The rooms are a very high standard as are all facilities including the pool area and restauarant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Challenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We needed a place to stay on our way back from Strasbourg to Calais, and this turned out to be an excellent choice. Only a few km from the autoroute, plenty of parking, warm welcome, good room with a comfortable bed, and we had good dinner and breakfast. The room had a view over the garden (which we didn't explore, unfortunately, because there were so many snow showers). When we need a place to stay in this area again, we'll certainly be back. The owners are obviously doing well because they are building a new section by converting the building next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conde-Northen
18.4 mi away
Le Domaine de La Klauss
Le Domaine de La Klauss
#1 of 1 in Montenach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
14.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Amneville
Golden Tulip Amneville
#3 of 8 in Amneville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Metz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery Collection
12.8 mi away
Novotel Saint Avold
Novotel Saint Avold
#2 of 5 in Saint-Avold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel La Maison d'Hotes
Hotel La Maison d'Hotes
#2 of 8 in Amneville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange de Conde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange de Conde

Property: La Grange de Conde
Address: 41 rue des 2 Nied, 57220 Conde-Northen, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Conde-Northen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conde-Northen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grange de Conde 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Grange de Conde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grange De Conde Hotel Conde-Northen
La Grange De Conde France/Conde-Northen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing