We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fab holiday and I'm already going back..”
Review of Clubhotel La Balme

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chantemerle-les-Grignan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clubhotel La Balme
Reviewed 1 March 2009

I stayed in this hotel as a group leader to a school party of 40 children. We received brilliant service from Louise and her stff. The food was really excellent and all served at table, which is unusual for school groups, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the hotel was warm, friendly and welcoming. The team seem to combine both adult guests and school groups with ease and everyone was happy. The hotel provided a hearty breakfast too and with a ski tech in the hotel adjusting skis etc was easy, the rep was also really friendly and helpful. I have already booked to go back as an adult guest. The hotel is well situated for the lifts and the instructors at ESF were brilliant. This is the first  school trip I have done which has ticked all the boxes- well done Skiplan and Louise!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelleEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
There are newer reviews for Clubhotel La Balme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Stayed at this hotel as part of a school trip, 53 pupils and 5 staff. The food was not great, but everything else was excellent, the staff were brilliant and could not do enough to help, they accommodated all our requests. Ten minute walk to the slopes which is a bit of a pain, but that was the worst aspect of the hotel.
Overall, a brilliant time was had by staff and students alike.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This hotel may be 2* but the service is definately 5*, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is situated approximately 5 mins from the ski lift but there are lockers avialable at the local ski store, (Locker) for a small fee. The ski equipment hired from the hotel was in first class condition with many of the boots being brand new. The ski technicain was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was outstanding and i really could not complain about anything, a substantial breakfast and beautiful 3 course meals on an evening. We had a vegetarian in our party and the chef was more than happy to make him something different , just fantastic. The rooms are very basic but a good size and i would certainly recommend you take a kettle and a couple of mugs for tea/coffee. The hotel although well worn is very clean and tidy. This was my first time skiing and we went for Christmas and were lucky enough to have plenty of snow and some challenging slopes for the experienced skiers in my party: Plenty of easy slopes for the beginners. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the area and a few with happy hours. Not for those chasing great nightlife but who needs it after a hard days skiing. I heard this hotel caters for school ski trips so best check if your going during term time and dont like kids. All in all a great holiday very basic but clean accomodation with great food and outstanding customer service, all english speaking. Booked through Rocketski.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank helsbels53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The hotel was advertised as a 3 star hotel but from our experience it certainly was no where near this standard. Having asked around the other guests they too were expecting a 3 star hotel. The room doors, although appearing locked, could be nudged open with very little effort, which was reported 3 times to the staff and nothing was done. The rooms were not always cleaned. No clean sheets or towels were provided during our stay. The toilet seat was not even attached to the toilet itself. Three out of our party of four suffered from symptoms that suggested food poisoning. At least one other couple suffered the same symptoms. This meant we missed a days skiing and couldn’t eat for over a day. There was not enough food served in the evenings, especially when considering the level of exercise everyone was undertaking each day.

While waiting for the transfer bus back to the airport the new guests arrived and were told that all the room keys were in the doors already and to help themselves even though some people had paid extra for rooms with a balcony! It all seemed very unprofessional.

I have paid the same amount of money for 3 star hotels when skiing in Austria and Italy and they have always been fantastic. The Clubhotel La Balme should be classified an awful lot lower on the star rating which would give people a more accurate picture as to what to expect.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank slucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: super Aussicht
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wofgang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chantemerle-les-Grignan
0.9 mi away
Le Mas De Fanny
Le Mas De Fanny
#1 of 2 in Chantemerle-les-Grignan
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Mas De Lily Rose
Le Mas De Lily Rose
#3 of 3 in Valaurie
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Bastide de Grignan
La Bastide de Grignan
#4 of 7 in Grignan
148 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
620 reviews
3.9 mi away
Manoir de la Roseraie
Manoir de la Roseraie
#2 of 7 in Grignan
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel La Balme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel La Balme

Address: Serre Chevalier, Chantemerle-les-Grignan, Grignan, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Grignan > Chantemerle-les-Grignan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chantemerle-les-Grignan
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing