We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly rated French experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tilques
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly rated French experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a smashing hotel with its main building being a typical French chateau located out in the sticks 3.2 miles from Saint Omer town centre. Approach is around neatly mown lawn framed by trees. The view of the hotel is not obstructed by any vehicles parking in front of the hotel as parking is limited to either side or near the entrance.

We booked late and got a ground floor room in the modern pavilion to the side of the chateau a few metres from the restaurant, in another separate building, with a menu including frogs legs, pig trotters, quail terrine, duck foie gras, rack of veal liquorice flavours and others but no snails or horse.

The bathroom was spotless with gleaming sink and bath, chrome taps with mirror finish. The large bath – maybe big enough for two - had a hand held shower. The separate shower was big enough for two and had instant hot water. Toilet was in its own room behind the wardrobe and the tiled floor and walls were spotless, gleaming, clean, did not smell ….

The room, itself was, spacious, clean and had a pukka double bed (not two singles pulled together) and an additional single bed prompting me to ask my wife who she was expecting. There was a kettle – a first for us in French hotels – and two teabags among the selection of coffee and no milk (well it’s a start to appease the Brits). The room had patio window and door and leading to a small sheltered patio with table and two chairs, onto rough lawns leading to a lake and then woods. Peacocks were on the lawn and patio and not on the menu. For air we put the patio door on the security chain and opened it at night as there were no openable windows.

Reception staff were elegant and knew the drill - airhostesses with a brain - and the bartender was willing and keen to please selling 33cl beer at 6 euros (£7.48 a pint). Next day we stopped at a Carrefour supermarket and got a crate of St Omer beer – 24 x 25cl – for 6.95 euros (£0.48 a pint). We were wrongly charged for breakfast at about 24 euros (£21) per person per breakfast. We had brought fruit for own breakfast because of the expensive hotel beakfast.

There is not much to do when there and there is nowt within walking distance. WiFi although free is limited to one device at a time and a tad slow.

Overall a good experience and we will be there again, perhaps not in a hot summer as the room did not have air conditioning.

Toilet: 8 out of 10, which is above the average of French loos.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    286
    106
    29
    9
See reviews for
90
417
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We booked online and obtained the substantial discount. The room (30) was oddly shaped, the bed - very comfortable - was at an angle, which made access to the bathroom (or, rather, shower-room) quite tricky. There was also a very odd smell - which we could not identify. No one offered to bring our luggage in, or to take it up the 41 steps to the room.

However, the restaurant was extremely good. There must have been over 50 diners and the service was impeccable. The wine is grossly marked up - something costing 5 euros was priced at 30!!

Not sure whether I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at Chateau Tilques as the first night of our holiday, and it really set the tone. As we were travelling with our small children, we had a room in the 'pavilion', which is the modern annexe, which we found spacious and comfortable. The hotel has it's own swimming pool, which we used and thought was excellent, though it is more for adults than children.
The meal in the restuarant was really excellent, and they made meals for our children which were also beautifully cooked and plated very attractively (but they were definitely superior to burger and chips, so not for unadventurous eaters). Breakfast, though expensive, couldn't have been better - there was literally everything from bacon and eggs, through patisseries to continental meats.
All in all, this is a really special place to stay, and although it is expensive, I've stayed in worse places for a similar amount and I think it really is value for money.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel staff directly about your requirements- they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
235 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was the second time we have stayed at Chateau Tilques at the end of a break in France before returning across the channel.

This was better than last time as there was no wedding in progress. We had a first floor room in the Chateau overlooking the garden. Dinner was good, had I chosen better then it wold have been first class, but it was my choice that disappointed me.

Charming, friendly staff and when rediscovered we had left something in the room the response to my email was quick and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Booked overnight en route to Calais at end of holiday. Booked inclusive deal with travelzoo to include dinner and breakfast. Room was in Chateau and is small but very clean and bathroom is great. Very modern with large bath and shower. Room comfortable but no tea/coffee making. Meal was superb - lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff. Food was delicious - main courses perhaps a little small but nontheless excellent quality. Good wine selection. Breakfast was also very good with freshly made fruit salad, bacon, scrambled eggs, great variety of bread, cheese etc. and even a facility to make your own pancakes. Setting is beautiful and staff were all very friendly. It would be expensive if paying full rate but we would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maysiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Beautiful setting and immaculately maintained. The staff were charming, polite and extremely friendly. We had a room in the Pavilion which was superb. Lovely view and not overlooked. We were unaware of any other guests; it was peaceful and relaxing. We were a little disappointed by the paper cups for coffee in the room and the lack of milk. The food in the restaurant was superb; dinner was a wonderful experience. Breakfasts offered a huge choice and there was plenty of it. An excellent place to break a journey if you're heading south or east.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the Pavilion du Parc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This place is beautiful, spotlessly clean, has great food, unobtrusive excellent service, a nice pool and a peaceful location. I love it. And it's reasonably priced!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manymoremiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilques
7.7 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
3.7 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Tilques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Tilques

Property: Hotel Chateau Tilques
Address: 12 rue du Chateau, 62500 Tilques, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tilques
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tilques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Tilques 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chateau Tilques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tilques St Omer
Chateau Tilques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing