We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel for Spyns Tour de France Tours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Rochegude
Pamplona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel for Spyns Tour de France Tours”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I brought a large group to this terrific hotel as part of Spyns 2013 Tour de France trip. Shoppers should avoid this hotel because it's in the smallest village in Provence, but our cyclists loved the location just north of Mont Ventoux and several Tour de France stages. As in any hotel, the rooms vary in size and amenities so you certainly get what you pay for. The suites are stunning but even the smallest room (which was mine) were comfortable and I believe the owners have made an effort to make the smaller rooms more comfortable by adding bigger bathrooms, a terrace etc. Where this hotel excels is with its service. I often avoid Relais & Chateaux because the owner/managers are too snobbish and fussy. With the exception of the Italian restaurant manager who was quite a diva, the hotel's manager and staff couldn't have been more relaxed and accommodating. Meals were excellent and served by the restaurant's highly effecient staff. Two suggestions however: first, I would recommend adding more cleaning staff for group bookings as room cleaning was slow; and second, I'd be consistent with the breakfast service time as we were given conflicting information. Despite these minor critiques, we will certainly return for Spyns 2015 Tour de France trip when the tour returns to Provence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    95
    49
    26
    17
See reviews for
46
206
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochegude
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have sent two nights at the Chateau- the staff tries very hard to please. But, the rooms, while adequate, border on shabby. The tennis court is fill of deer droppings, and only two of the three bikes are rideable. The major problem was the restaurant where we had our most expensive and absolutely inedible meal. Do not eat here - it is a waste of money and an insult to your palate! Make a reservation ay Livre de Temps which is a ten minute taxi ride in Uchatz. Hard to believe that Relais and Chateaux would allow a restaurant like this one in their collection.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there are any we were in rooms 17,18, and 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A beautiful castle in a secluded setting away from anything. The castle itself is interesting but the rooms are small and the beds are uncomfortable. Bathroom is small and towels need to be upgraded. The restaurant is nice and the food is good as well as the service. There is no other restaurant around anyway. Breakfast was very rich and tasty.
Service was acceptable but between meals there is hardly any service and it is difficult to get something to eat or drink.
There is not much to do during the day unless you plan outdoor activities or excursions in the area.
The pool is very far from the main building. It’s not well kept and there are not enough lounge chairs. There is no service at the pool which would have been a nice idea. It’s not possible to order any service at the pool and you have to request and carry the towels from the reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at Chateau de Rochegude with my wife this week and again found it an utter delight. The Chateau itself is stunning, beautifully renovated and extremely comfortable.
The service was excellent throughout our stay. We arrived mid-afternoon on a very hot day, and the kitchen had already closed for lunch. Yet when i asked was it possible to get anything to eat, the staff immediately called the chef who prepared two delicious plates of cold cuts for us which were served in the hotel courtyard.
The dinner was excellent, with an attentive, friendly and charming service team.
The hotel has a pool, and the only negative comment i can make about the hotel is that the pool is located about 200 metres away from the main buildings, accessed through a "park" on an ill-defined track that was not overly inviting. Nevertheless, the pool itself was delightful.
The hotel staff really shone in a way in which i hope that no-one else ever has to see. At 3am, the fire alarms went off throughout the chateau. Everyone evacuated their rooms, and waited in the Chateau's courtyard where we instructed to await further instructions, whilst the Sapeurs Pompiers (firemen) were called. There was apparently a fire in a basement switchboard which needed the firemen about 30 or so minutes to quell. The relevance of this story is that the staff were all stunning, from the night manager who was alone at the front desk when the night was shattered by the alarm, to the other staff who joined him about 15 or so minutes later. They checked (as was appropriate) that all of the guests had evacuated, they made sure that we were in a safe place, they brought both cool and hot drinks throughout the couple of hours that we were awaiting the fire to be extinguished and the hotel declared safe. They checked all of the rooms to ensure that they were not smelling of smoke, they kept us informed about what had happened, they moved the several guests from whose rooms one could smell smoke, and were generally fantastic. The next day, when i went to check out, they refused to charge anything at all for the room. I tried to insist, as the fire was not their fault, but the desk team members were charming and refused to take anything for the accommodation! It's only when put under real stress that one can tell the real and deep quality of a team, and this one shone brightly!
This was my third stay at the Chateau and it won't be my last.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had read excellent reviews of the hotel on trip advisor so decided to book two nights at the end of our holiday. We went for a privilege room which wasn't cheap so expected it to be nice and as the hotel talks about the outstanding views didn't think we needed to request a room with a view. It started off badly when we arrived late afternoon to be told our room wasn't ready. We were offered a drink but when we went through to the bar there was no one serving, the place felt deserted and empty. We decided to go for a walk and came back at the time they told us the room would be ready to find that it still wasn't. We sat down in the deserted courtyard and waited. When we finally got our room we were hugely disappointed the only positive was that it was large. It was North facing on the ground floor looking out on to a rough back road with only a glimpse of the views beyond through the trees. It was so dark we had to have the florecent strip lights on all the time, the pillows were all lumpy and when we asked for different ones at reception they were very dismissive and grudgingly found us some different ones. The bathroom was clean but had a cracked sink, peeling paint and missing grout. We ate dinner in the hotel both nights which was good, the only redeeming feature. We did walk over to the park which was pretty and sat by the pool which was a little run down with broken sun loungers and scruffy towels. We would have loved to have swum but the pool was absolutely freezing despit it being late June. When we came to check out and questioned a few items on the bill the receptionist was very dismissive bordering on rude. As no one had offered to help us with our bags when we arrived (despit the website saying they had a Porter) we asked for help wihen we checked out, you would of thought I had sworn at them. They finally found someone and we left relieved to be on our way home. I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed there for one night at end of June. The Chateau consist of 25 rooms in total. The size of the rooms vary so much. I stayed in room 24 which is one third smaller than next door room 23. The interior design of each room is different from each other. The Chateau situated up on the top with panaromic and stunting view of all the vineyards located at the foot of the hill.
Restaurant located in the Basement with very nice dinner served as well as very good breakfast. Staff was very polite and courteous. A very good staying experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in early June. Every detail was fabulous. It's the perfect place for a quiet weekend getaway. The hotel sits on a hill overlooking vineyards. The liitle village of Rochegude is charming and has a couple of really nice cafes. Did not get a chance to use the outdoor pool but it looks lovely. It's situated across a small private park adjacent to the hotel and has shower and changing facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_craigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochegude
7.4 mi away
Villa Augusta
Villa Augusta
#1 of 2 in Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
12.5 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
24.5 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
17.1 mi away
Une Autre Maison
Une Autre Maison
#1 of 8 in Nyons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Rochegude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Rochegude

Property: Chateau de Rochegude
Address: Place du Chateau Rochegude, 26790 Rochegude, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Rochegude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rochegude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Rochegude 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau de Rochegude, located in the heart of the Provencal Drome region, majestically overlooks the Cotes du Rhone vineyards. The cellars of the chateau boast some of the best Cotes du Rhone and are a starting point for wine tastings in the surrounding vineyards. Other activities include a visit to the Ardeche Caves or to the Roman remains such as those in Vaison-la-Romaine, the Pont du Gard, the antique theater in Orange… There is so much to discover in this region! On your return to the chateau enjoy a plate of warm, crunchy truffles, steamed in butter, accompanied by eggs and slices of toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de Rochegude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Rochegude Hotel Rochegude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing