We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Relais & Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Rochegude
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Relais & Chateau”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying in a Relais & Chateau should guarantee some minimum quality standards which were not meet here, even if the Chateau is indeed beautifull.
On our arrival at 3 pm it was impossible to be served any food, apart from some very low quality salads charged at 26 euros each, and some Magnum ice creams...which is shocking in a place where they over market their 'gastronomic restaurant'...the total low quality lunch ended to be over 100 euros. I don't mind paying but gosh I hate tourists traps.
Then the staff was obsviously hired just for the summer and not from the region, so we could not have any decent advises on restaurants, touristic villages etc....
The room was ok, nothing fancy but clean. However the bathroom looked like my grandmother's where they only provided mixed shampoo/bath gel in a bottle attached on the wall.
Finally the swimming pool is behind the park and not that nice as there is no possibility of having anything served and even towels distributed once you have reached the spot. Just disappointing....Next time I will try a chambre d'hote where the charm and quality will be there and that will be much cheaper than the 850 euros for two nights I got charged at Rochegude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank titiparis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    95
    49
    26
    17
See reviews for
46
204
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is full of character and history.Our bedroom was ok but a little bland.The swimming pool area we found a little bit disappointing it is set apart from the hotel in the grounds.The grounds have deer roaming in them which was nice. The evening meal was good and we ate outside which was lovely.The service in the evening was pleasant.The breakfast was awful,we were probably the last ones down about 9.30am the scrambled egg was congealed 2 small pieces of bacon left the coffee was cold and there was not a lot of anything else very poor and 20 euros each.We did not like the fact the car park was a public one albeit right outside the chateau we had to pay another 8 euros for the car to be brought in at night.The service at reception we found quite poor and unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had our wedding at Chateau de Rochegude in April 2014 and couldn't ask for more from the staff and the facility. Caroline was our main focal point for the many arrangements, decisions, and details and became more of a wedding planner than anything else. She was quick to respond to our inquiries and we ended up taking all of her recommendations for flowers, photographer, and DJ. The restaurant is accustomed to hosting such large events and the meal was superb. Chef Thierry and the Chef Patissier and their teams did a wonderful job with the food and desserts. Our guests loved it! With the usage of the venue for a wedding all 25 rooms were booked for our guests and the staff made all the arrangements and organisation to make everyone comfortable. It was a wonderful wedding experience and we felt very lucky to have the staff and especially Caroline go far and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 199Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a great experience staying at Rochegude, which was consistent with other Relais et Chateaux where we have stayed in the past.

The good:
- The chateau is amazing. Although it has been modified throughout the years, you can still see the 11th century fortress.
- The common areas are exactly what you would expect. It feels like a medieval movie set.
- The view is amazing since the chateau is on top of a hill overlooking the wineries.

The bad:
- The rooms are nice but they could use a better interior designer.
- Service is friendly, but a little bit amateurish. You don't get the buttoned up clockwork that other Relais et Chateaux have.
- The food is good but not great. It is the first Relais et Chateaux I've been to where the restaurant didn't have a Michelin star. It clearly doesn't deserve one but they still charge the prices of a restaurant that does.
- The breakfast buffet was sparse and lacked variety.

Just don't expect the best of the best and you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I brought a large group to this terrific hotel as part of Spyns 2013 Tour de France trip. Shoppers should avoid this hotel because it's in the smallest village in Provence, but our cyclists loved the location just north of Mont Ventoux and several Tour de France stages. As in any hotel, the rooms vary in size and amenities so you certainly get what you pay for. The suites are stunning but even the smallest room (which was mine) were comfortable and I believe the owners have made an effort to make the smaller rooms more comfortable by adding bigger bathrooms, a terrace etc. Where this hotel excels is with its service. I often avoid Relais & Chateaux because the owner/managers are too snobbish and fussy. With the exception of the Italian restaurant manager who was quite a diva, the hotel's manager and staff couldn't have been more relaxed and accommodating. Meals were excellent and served by the restaurant's highly effecient staff. Two suggestions however: first, I would recommend adding more cleaning staff for group bookings as room cleaning was slow; and second, I'd be consistent with the breakfast service time as we were given conflicting information. Despite these minor critiques, we will certainly return for Spyns 2015 Tour de France trip when the tour returns to Provence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochegude
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have sent two nights at the Chateau- the staff tries very hard to please. But, the rooms, while adequate, border on shabby. The tennis court is fill of deer droppings, and only two of the three bikes are rideable. The major problem was the restaurant where we had our most expensive and absolutely inedible meal. Do not eat here - it is a waste of money and an insult to your palate! Make a reservation ay Livre de Temps which is a ten minute taxi ride in Uchatz. Hard to believe that Relais and Chateaux would allow a restaurant like this one in their collection.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there are any we were in rooms 17,18, and 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A beautiful castle in a secluded setting away from anything. The castle itself is interesting but the rooms are small and the beds are uncomfortable. Bathroom is small and towels need to be upgraded. The restaurant is nice and the food is good as well as the service. There is no other restaurant around anyway. Breakfast was very rich and tasty.
Service was acceptable but between meals there is hardly any service and it is difficult to get something to eat or drink.
There is not much to do during the day unless you plan outdoor activities or excursions in the area.
The pool is very far from the main building. It’s not well kept and there are not enough lounge chairs. There is no service at the pool which would have been a nice idea. It’s not possible to order any service at the pool and you have to request and carry the towels from the reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochegude
7.4 mi away
Villa Augusta
Villa Augusta
#1 of 2 in Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
12.5 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
24.5 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
17.1 mi away
Une Autre Maison
Une Autre Maison
#1 of 8 in Nyons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Rochegude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Rochegude

Property: Chateau de Rochegude
Address: Place du Chateau Rochegude, 26790 Rochegude, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Rochegude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rochegude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Rochegude 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau de Rochegude, located in the heart of the Provencal Drome region, majestically overlooks the Cotes du Rhone vineyards. The cellars of the chateau boast some of the best Cotes du Rhone and are a starting point for wine tastings in the surrounding vineyards. Other activities include a visit to the Ardeche Caves or to the Roman remains such as those in Vaison-la-Romaine, the Pont du Gard, the antique theater in Orange… There is so much to discover in this region! On your return to the chateau enjoy a plate of warm, crunchy truffles, steamed in butter, accompanied by eggs and slices of toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de Rochegude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Rochegude Hotel Rochegude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing