We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific, original food in the peace and quite of Bourg du Bost”
Review of Le Jessy - CLOSED

Le Jessy
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Asian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Actuellement fermé pour congé annuel, le Café Restaurant ouvrira ces portes en compagnie de nouveau propriétaire à compter d'Octobre 2015. Merci pour votre compréhension. Cafe service has stopped, we were interrupted the activity for retail sale from their acquisition date (october 2015). Thank you for your understanding.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Terrific, original food in the peace and quite of Bourg du Bost”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Le Jessy was recommended to us by my brother, a local resident in nearby Riberac. What a great recommendation this turned out to be! It was a Fri fish menu, our starter was a spring roll brimming with fresh salad leaves, succulent prawns, chicken and spicy rice noodles. It was delicious! Accompanied by a sweet chilli dip and crusty bread it was a perfect precursor for the main fish dish.
We each had two large cod fillets served in a tomato and baby lobster sauce and Thai sticky rice. This was also delicious with both starter and main having a light, clean fresh taste there was just enough room for the dessert. A homemade slice of cake with South African spice and mango with a toffee dressing. Yum! We had coffee to finish. We were served throughout by the chef's son Harry, an engaging character who obviously took great pride in the food produced by both his father and himself. Thank-you Harry and Jean Claude we had a lovely lunch and will recommend you to others who visit this delightful part of France. See you next time we are in Riberac!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterHickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
riberac
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Really lovely imaginative food served with care”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Found in the small village of Bourg de Bost just outside Riberac, Le Jessy, ostensibly the village bar, is a small, intimate, cosy dining spot with ample car parking and a small outside terrace. The food served at Le Jessy when we were there had obviously been prepared with attention to detail. The prawns in the starter exotic mango & pineapple salad had been properly cleaned and de-veined (always a good sign) so a great start to the meal. There were 3 of us eating and we all requested our satay beef cooked to different degrees. All 3 dishes were cooked perfectly as we had ordered. The chef knows how to cook his beef, which we were told was locally produced, another plus factor. The sticky rice accompaniment was a perfect and authentic foil to the beef. We had a really drinkable Saint Emilion with the meal and dessert was a tropical fruit and yoghurt compote dressed with a frozen mint leaf, all delicious. Everything was perfect and the 3 members of staff were all very warm and friendly, each one welcoming us in turn and being attentive without being obtrusive. Probably advisable to book ahead as it looks to be an increasingly popular hot spot. Absolute value for money and we will definitely be going back some time very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reposriberac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Some of the best food I`ve eaten in that area. Couldn`t recommend more highly. The whole family participate and were very friendly without being intrusive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food, fun, fabulous.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This restaurant is a real treasure in the Dordogne. The delicious food is perfectly matched by the ambience and warm welcome by the owners, Harry and Jean Claude. The chef, Jean Claude uses only the freshest local produce to create a wonderful Vietnamese menu. My personal favourites from his menu are the prawn and vegetable rolls and the lamb curry. The evening menu is reasonably priced at 22 euros for 3 courses including wine. A big thank you to Harry and Jean Claude for being great hosts. Janet and John Elford

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Astonishing !”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Picture a bog standard Perigordian village bar , step inside and eat some of the finest Vietnamese / French fusion cuisine you have ever eaten . When I say fusion I mean not in style , more so Haute Cuisine meets Vietnamese . There is no menu but who cares with food this good . A wonderful mushroom and noodle soup to start with Margeret de Canard in a ginger and mango sauce to follow and a lovely big bowl of sticky rice on the side, a delicious fruity Creme Brulee for pudding . 22.50 Euros each including all wine. They are staffed only by 2 , a very nice young bloke front of house and his father cooking in the kitchen . If this restaurant was in Mayfair it would of earned a Michelin Star by now.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdFinnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Jessy also viewed

Riberac, Dordogne
Riberac, Dordogne
 
Riberac, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing