We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday Night Blues”
Review of Le Citronnier

Le Citronnier
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Riberac
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Monday Night Blues”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Its often difficult to find a restaurant open on a monday night and we were fortunate enough to be squeezed in at the last minute. The menu is limited, no beef or lamb, but a range of alternate dishes were selected by our group and all cooked to perfection and well presented. The wine list is extensive and it was easy to find wines to compliment the food.
The service was not fast but if you go out for a meal, it is not what you are looking for. If you are in the area make a booking for lunch or dinner or otherwise you could easily miss out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ikev48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    38
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We called in here for lunch after visiting the Friday market in Riberac. We had an excellent meal for 16.50€ with choices for each course. Service was attentive without being intruding and the Sanglier ( wild boar ) which I had for my main course was delicious. We have also eaten here in the evening and have always had an excellent meal, well presented and at a competitive price, in very pleasant surroundings. Well worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a delightful setting”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We had an evening meal on a Saturday and were pleasantly surprised that the restaurant was not fully booked.
The fixed menus and the a la carte were very well structured with mouth watering selections - which made choosing our meals a real challenge. Eventually my wife and I both chose the €32 set menu which had English translations, and decided we would share the servings.
The maitre d'hôtel spoke English ( was probably English anyway!) so selecting our courses was not a problem.

Our first courses were potato, onion and smoked duck tart, and mushrooms on potato cake - with salad.
Main courses were duck with mushroom sauce - and leg of rabbit - both coked and presented perfectly.
Desserts were profiteroles with almond ice cream and chocolate sauce, and apple and berry tart. Both desserts mouth watering.

The courses were separated by an apple sorbet.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals - amongst the best we have had in France.

Visitors to Riberac should make sure a visit to Le Citronnier for lunch or dinner is a priority.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent serendipitous discovery”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

eaten at this restaurant during a long trip from England to Italy. We drove through Riberac (on our way to a booked hotel room in Bergerac) at about 8pm and decided to stop for dinner. It was a pleasant surprise. The plates are delicious and finely built and presented. The owner and his son are English, very professional but also friendly. You need to have time, as the intervals between dishes are fairly (pleasantly) long, with a sorbet between 1st and 2nd course, after a small free appetizer (we got the 26 euros menu). The desert coming with the menu was delicious but I regret did not try a cheese selection.

A special mention for the carafe wine: the best I ever had in my life not from a bottle. We tried both white and red: they were excellent with a preference for red.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spaghetti-mandolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a very good meal here.
They have just recently opened a lovely courtyard area for eating.
The meal was very very good, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Citronnier also viewed

Riberac, Dordogne
 
Riberac, Dordogne
 
Petit-Bersac, Riberac
Riberac, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Citronnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing