We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional, compact campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We enjoyed a nice holiday camping here, it's a well established and efficient campsite right in the heart of the tourist region. Has everything you need if kids are younger, very safe. Not cheap in the bar and shop is rubbish... nothing a trip to numerous local s'markets wouldn't solve. Pool very good. Surroundings are lovely, overall recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bigbadvolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We used this site when travelling to and from the Dordogne as a stopover with Canvas, staying in one of their tents. Site was well maintained, although some of the toilet/shower blocks were a little under pressure during peak season and you had to queue for a shower or the ladies toilet. They were kept pretty clean though despite the heavy use. Shop basic, croissants, baguette, milk etc and a few other staples, and a small village stores a couple of minutes walk away. Kids loved the pool complex and lazy river. The covered pool and lazy river were heated, but the other outdoor pool wasn't so chilly on a cooler day. Take away pizzas good and popular, although may have to queue a bit at peak times as cooked to order. Chambord chateau only 10-15 minutes drive away so a good afternoon visit even if only stopping over for 2 nights as we were on the way home. For us a great stopover site, but not one we would want to spend a whole holiday at unless we were specifically planning to do a lot of chateau visits, our kids are 8 and 12, but probably fine for younger children as it has a kids club by both Canvas and Eurocamp/Keycamp. Canvas tent good, much better layout than Eurocamp as it has a seperate kitchen area and rear door allowing through ventilation in hot weather. Pitches well shaded and a good size with hedges on most.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank TravellersLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our 1st time on a keycamp holiday and I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accomodation (a villanova) and how clean and well equipped it was. the campsite was clean and well maintained, as was the pool complex, which my 3 children (8, 6 and 3) adored.

But why has no one mentioned the sewage smell? We arrived after a few weeks of variable weather and it was starting to warm up. When sitting at the Terrace bar or restaurant you were greeted with wafts of what smelt like raw sewage, the 1st night it was unbearable and we moved our chairs onto the childrens park where it wasn't as bad.

when i mentioned it to the rep he said that it wasn't anything he could deal with and after a while you just kind of got used to it.

we had a lovely stay, and would probably come again, maybe as a stopover, but we would avoid the restaurant and bar if the smell was still there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MOtherofTHREE863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were recommended this camp by some friends, and being our first holiday of this type we thought a recommended camp was the way to go. It was lovely, very clean and also very safe for children.We travelled with our 12yr old and 8 yr old children and felt at ease with them going for a bike ride or to the park on there own.Staff were very helpful, only downside was the bar was expensive (£4.50 for a beer) and you could get a crate in the Super U down the road for £10!!
The pool,slides and lazy river were a real hit with the kids and even the odd day of rain they still were in there all day!!.
This is a great place to stay and we would definitley return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theTaitfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights on the way back from south of France with our tourer. Amazing place, beautiful, clean, well maintained and stunning facilities. Already emailed about staying next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed with Canvas holidays with our 3 children (5,3 and a baby) and we had a great holiday. The site is quite small overall but that was one of the attractions for us. The pool was good, especially the lazy river which we all enjoyed.
Bastille night was great when they had a lantern parade for all the children followed by a fireworks display.
The site is well looked after and there is plenty of space for the children to run around. Definitely recommended for young families. Probably not so much for older children to do though.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
5  Thank CAD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Nice camping site, relaxing and well located for travel around. The swimming pool is large and nice.
Against:
Prices they take for laundry are ridiculous and unfair.
Restaurant is closed between 13:30 and late afternoon. Come on… we are on vacation with kids. Restaurant should be open till evening nonstop. We were hungry after pool, went to the restaurant for lunch and realized it is close. We had to take our cars and drive somewhere to eat. This should not happen.
No PIZZA at lunch...why???
The swimming pool water was not heated in most days. We are on vacation with kids, The weather was a bit chilly, I would expect you to turn pool water heating every day. That was very annoying.
If you take a shower during pick hours expect not having hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHUK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muides sur Loire
0 mi away
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
#1 of 1 in Descartes
27 reviews
24.6 mi away
Le Camping de la Poterie
18.6 mi away
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Colliers
Chateau de Colliers
#1 of 1 in Muides sur Loire
88 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais

Address: 27 rue de Chambord, 41500 Muides sur Loire, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Muides sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Muides sur Loire
Price Range: £28 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais 5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy nice holidays with your partner, your family or even with your friends at the 5 star Sandaya campsite Château des Marais. Located in the middle of the Vallée des Rois and in the Centre – Val de Loire province, in Loir-et-Cher, your campsite is close to the Châteaux de la Loire and the many small rich cities as Blois, Cheverny or Chaumont. You will surely like the quiet and green setting of the 5 star Sandaya campsite Château des Marais thanks to its geographical location. Located to 500 metres away from the Domaine de Chambord, ex Palace from the 16th built under the reign of François premier. With its 14h² forest park, it water park and the different activities, you will live holidays worthy for French Kings at the Sandaya campsite Château des Marais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Camping Sandaya Le Chateau des Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Marais Hotel Muides Sur Loire
Camping Sandaya Le Chateau Des Marais Muides Sur Loire, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing