We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family campsite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chateau des Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Chateau des Marais
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent family campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our third stay at Chateau des Marais over the last seven years, the site has grown over the years with additions of a lazy river to the pool complex, new reception, shop and other facilities, it is a lovely big site and perfect for a family holiday. On that basis if you are looking for something traditionally French then you might want something different but if you are looking to find a good facility where the kids can enjoy themselves then I'd not hesitate to recommend this one to you.
Reception staff were great and very helpful when we arrived, the pitch we were allocated was a good size with water and electricity easily accessible, shower block next to our part of the site was neat and clean with plenty of hot water. Its quite a busy site but quietens down nicely by about 10:30pm and entrance is barrier controlled to enforce this.
Family all agreed we will be happy to go back again in the future and look forward to seeing what has been added!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    109
    38
    12
    13
See reviews for
190
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Chateau des Marais for a week in mid-August. After comparing prices, we booked a mobile home directly through the campsite's website as we found they were more reasonable than Eurocamp, Keycamp etc. Our 2-bed mobile home - for 5 people - was quite compact but looked new and was very clean. It was quite well equipped though next time I'd want to take some kitchen scissors and a sharp knife with me. We had a nice deck with a table and chairs which helped with the space issue. The mobile home was in a great position, quite close to the pool, bar and restaurant, which was fantastic 99% of the time, less so when the Eurocamp/Keycamp/Canvas (we're not sure which one of them) kids' clubs positioned themselves really close to us and had group singsongs/games in the morning - not the most pleasant of ale-up calls but it was only a minor issue.

The campsite is very well-kept and spotlessly clean. It offers bike and go-kart hire, which are great but seemed slightly pricy (8 euro for 1-hr go-kart rental). There are at least 3 playgrounds, one of which is very conveniently situated next to the restaurant (unfortunately there is also a small arcade-type hut nearby which leads to much pestering...) The pools are fantastic and, again, very clean. They are slightly fresh so I am glad we had sun good weather, otherwise they would have been too cold, particularly for small children. The two waterslides are great and there were never huge queues when we visited, though the pools were quite full pretty much all the time, except first thing in the morning and from 7:00pm. Our children, aged 9 and 5, loved them and wanted to spend all their time getting in and out of the water. Although there was a fair amount of shivering involved, they did have a great time.

One of the best things about the site for us was how quiet it was in the evenings, there was no animation and no noise from the bar/restaurant, which is just what we were looking for. The restaurant was okay, the pizzas from the take-away pretty good. I personally didn't like the fact that the ice cream sold by the scoop was all by Nestlè, rather than freshly-made. It seemed a bit corporate.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly at Reception. When we reported a minor fault with our home, someone was dispatched over to fix it straightaway. The clientele was predominantly British families, with a sizeable minority of Germans, Dutch and French families. It was definitely a family-friendly campsite and felt very safe. I would highly recommend Chateau des Marais and would be more than happy to return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had an amazing holiday here with Keycamp in August 2013. The mobile was spotlessly clean and on a big plot. We got a great welcome from the couriers and found them to be very helpful during our stay. The site was perfect for our children aged 5 and 7 with lots of space, various playgrounds and very good pools. They really enjoyed the slides and the lazy river. The bar and restaurant were welcoming and prices were as you would expect on a campsite. The shop was expensive but we went to the SuperU to stock up so only needed to go there occasionally. It was useful to have on site for essentials though. The children loved the activities provided by the Keycamp childrens couriers - so much so that they did not want to leave the site in case they missed anything. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann567ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for five nights before moving further south and loved it. My children (7 and 9) didn't want to leave. They loved the slides and the pool and fishing in the pond. It was very relaxing and by 10pm the site was very quiet. We were blessed with good weather. Had it been cooler then there wouldn't have been much to do around the site and entertainment is very low key. There wasn't any entertainment in te evening but the kids club in the day kept the children happy. Chambord is a five minute drive away and Blois was about 15 minutes. Also great for quiet and flat cycle paths. The toilet block was dated but always clean. Will definitely return! Staff always friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a very child friendly site- but best for under 12s- not really suitable for teenagers. The pool was lovely and if you went early in the day you could almost have it to yourselves. The bar and restaurant and play areas are well away from the pitches and mobiles and close relatively early so there is not a great deal of noise at night. The site feels spacious and safe although some parents let their very young children scoot and ride around unsupervised which is hazardous. The whole experience feels very relaxed. We found the Keycamp staff brilliant and very helpful and responsive- especially Paul who could not do enough for us. The funstation was fantastic with great activities which our children loved. They could not wait for the next session!
There was plenty to do in the area with many chateaus within easy reach and Blois, Beaugency, Orleans and Tours within driving distance. All in all a great holiday ( and the weather was good too)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just back from a 4-night stay in our motorhome at Chateau des Marais, booked direct through their website. Reception staff weren't particularly welcoming but gave us the information we needed.

For young kids this place is perfect, our 6 & 3 year olds absolutely loved it and are asking when they can go back. The pools, slides and lazy river were a big hit - our boy would have done circuits of the river all day if we'd let him. They also loved the various playgrounds and cycling around the little roads and tracks that criss-cross the site. For grown-ups, you have the ideal configuration of a bar/restaurant terrace overlooking a safe playground and amusement arcade, with a nice view over to the big house and up the hill into the campsite. We were able to sit down as the sun was setting to enjoy a lengthy dinner and drinks while the kids played safely and happily in full view...this is the kind of set-up that we often search for on our family hols but rarely find it done this nicely.

The food in the restaurant was a little pricey for what it was, but we really enjoyed both meals we had. Certainly good enough that we didn't feel too sad about not being able to visit the local gourmet restaurant with our youngsters in tow. The house-wine by the pitcher is best avoided, but they have nice enough bottles around the 12 euro mark so no drama.

We did have a pretty major problem with service during our first visit to the restaurant - the waitress completely forgot about us towards the end of the meal, leaving us with the dessert menu for nearly an hour! We had to go and find her inside the restaurant in the end. They gave us a free drink and apologised a lot, but suffice to say no tip was left. On our second visit the head waiter spotted us and made sure of excellent service throughout, which made amends and earned a fair tip.

Camping pitches are reasonably sized, but not huge and quite worn with little grass on our pitch. Electric hook-up, water and drainage all worked without issues. Staff were friendly although we didn't really see many of them apart from in the restaurant. The little shop is adequate but pricey, the village has a boulangerie, boucherie, epicerie, traiteur and a bar/tabac - so everything you need really. Super-U / Intermarche 10 mins away in Mer. The bread in the village baker was better than in the site shop, but the other way round for croissants/pain-au-chocolat - so two stops on the morning baked goods run :)

Other campers were friendly and their kids well behaved - mostly British families with young kids, but a few other nationalities in the mix. As expected the place shuts down at about 10:30pm and is very quiet overnight.

The surrounding area is nice - we cycled up to Chambord with it's magnificent chateau and usual touristy adornments...crepes and glace aplenty. The Loire is a ten minute walk down the hill through the village with a picnic area, playground and restaurant overlooking the river.

Overall a great site - we had a very relaxing, enjoyable stay and plan to return for a few days next year as part of a wider tour of France. Reviewers who complain about kids/brits/curfew etc are simply not doing their research properly...it's all described accurately here on Tripadvisor...if you don't like being with other brits, don't like young kids riding their bikes around, want to stay up late making noise, can't tolerate wood pigeons in a wood etc etc - other campsites are available!

I could give it 5-stars based on how much we enjoyed ourselves, but they lose a star for the service issue, plus I'm now trying to save 5-star tripadvisor reviews for the truly exceptional :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We just came back from chateau des maraisand had a mixed but overall good experience thanks to the staff.

On the positive side, this is a child friendly site with at least three play grounds, a nice enclosed pool area with a choice of slides and depth for all ability. We went with eurocamp and the staff at kids club made our stay. We have 2 sets of twins under 5 and there was plenty to keep them busy. ..the 2 year old loved the mini fun station where we could stay and play with them along with staff there. Particular mention to rachel who was so lovely and caring that we felt confident leaving our lot with her for a night baby sitting (eurocamp has set rate for that purpose) for our wedding anniversery. We never thought we would be able to manage a night out but it was a success all around as she came well prepared with dvd player and all! Also a mention to Michelle from the mini learn to ride station: after 5 days, one of our 5 year old was able to cycle without stabilisers! We never had balance bikes etc and it was worth the trip just for that!

On the negative side, the campsite is quite crowded. Our mobile home decking was less than 2 meters from the next one so felt a bit squished (thought for the price they could have them spaced out more). I d say 90% of the people there are British family which is fine but if you are looking for a french experience this is definitely not it! The 3 bed horizon were fine and clean...only thing is that they had so many internal doors, they kept banging into one another. The horizon we had in chateau des ormes was better arranged and while smaller, we could make better use of the space.
Muides is described a pretty french village...now I don't know how you could come to that conclusion. There is really nothing to it and if the campsite was not there, you probably drive through it without even noticing it (unlike some other medieval villages nearby)
Chambord nearby and blois (especially the medieval and renaissance town and of course magic museum) are magnificient but thr country side is very flat (hence rich agricultural lands and plenty if castles) and not interesting.

Bar in the campsite was nice and terrasse adjoining the playground!...hence it is the first time in 5 years I was able to finish a drink! Restaurant was expensive for what was on offer so we preferred to try tge nearby chanterelle restaurant which for same price was spectacular and much more original.

Liked our stay in chateau des marais overall but not the most impressive site from eurocamp.

Btw if you do not want any of the eurocamp service, the site itself rent brand new vip mobile home for cheaper than we paid eurocamp but I think they may be weekly rental and the site kids camp is obviously in french and from 6 years of age.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muides sur Loire
4.2 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1 of 2 in Bracieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
9.0 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Camping La Grande Tortue
0.0 mi away
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
Domaine de la Roche Bellin
#1 of 1 in Descartes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Colliers
Chateau de Colliers
#1 of 1 in Muides sur Loire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau des Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau des Marais

Property: Le Chateau des Marais
Address: 27 rue de Chambord, 41500 Muides sur Loire, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Muides sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Muides sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chateau des Marais 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open 11th April to 12th September 2015 (camping pitches from 02nd May) Pitches 311 Suitable for all ages, although no organised entertainment specifically for teenagers. Location : 17km north east of Blois, easy access from A10 Exit N° 16 Mer-Chambord. Region - Loire Valley Grid Reference : N 47° 39' 58 E 01° 31' 45 Le Chateau des Marais welcomes you for your family holiday with young children and short breaks with friends. We invite you to discover our accomodations and camping pitches, with their natural and peacefull environment, Le Chateau des Marais ensure you to spend relaxing holidays. We provide a multitude of services so you can make the most of our stay and feel like home. Le Chateau des Marais is, from a geographical point of view, very well located. Chambord is just few minutes away, situated in the heart of the valley of the Loire, where there is more than 70 castles, all really sumptuous. Take advantage of your stay to visit the inevitable ZooParc de Beauval or to discover one of the many vineyards that the region has to offer. Accommodation : Grassy and spacious private garden, divided by hedges, all with parking place, garden set and some quite heavily shaded. Mobile homes for 4/6 persons - 2 or 3 bedrooms chalets for up to 6 persons - 2 or 3 bedrooms tree house for 6 people. The best : 6 VIP accommodations chalets and mobil homes in the quiet area of the sites << Le Verger >> - all new - beds made + towels + tv and dishwasher Pitches : Flat, grassy and spacious, divided by hedges, ranging from 100m² - 120m², some quite heavily shaded. Ten prestige pitches with garden furniture (table, chairs and sun beds), BBQ, parasol, fridge, electricity and water point on the pitch and point for the waste water. Hook Up : 6 or 10 smps, water & drainage - all pitches. Motorhomes :service point. Good for motor homes as walking distance of village and cycling distance of Chateau de Chambord. Swimming Pools : Excellent aqua complex with four separate basins, some heated. A new outdoor pool is an excellent size for swimming. One can be covered in cool weather, one is a paddling pool, there are two sets of waterslides and a lazy river, all surrounded by an attractive sun terrace with sun loungers. Spa centre with hammam, sauna, jacuzzi and massage area. Activities on Site : Cycle and 4-wheel bike hire. Tennis. Mini-golf. Outdoor fitness area. Table football, pool. Table tennis. Electronic games area. Volleyball area. Children's play areas. TV room. Fishing in pond - free. Entertainment : Children's club for 5 yrs + and pony rides in the high season. Some weekly evening entertainment in high season (july and august). Sanitary Facilities : Four toilet blocks which are well maintained. Push button temperature control showers with hooks. Individual wash basins. Toilets with seats and toilet paper. Disabled facilities. Baby room. Laundry. Chemical waste point. Services : Small Vival supermarket with bakery (bread and pastries baked on site every morning). Bar, take-away, restaurant and pasteria - Services open from 02/5 to 12/9. Others : Charcoal barbecues allowed. Dogs accepted only for camping pitches. Free Wi-Fi connection by bar and with charge on pitches or accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, PitchUp, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Le Chateau des Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Des Marais Hotel Muides Sur Loire
Le Chateau Des Marais Muides Sur Loire, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing