We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Monrecour
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we had booked a few more days. The rooms were spacious and lacked for nothing. Special thanks to Stephanie who organized the return of our ipade from the previous accomadation to forward to the next place of stay. The staff were simply amazing and with a great sense of humour. Could not recommend more highly. Breakfast was great also
Thanks for the time we spent there

Monica and Ben

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    65
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
113
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HolidayReviewName
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in one of the 'Charm' rooms for a number of nights in this hotel. The Chateau is fantastic with excellent views of the area.

It is very well situated with Beynac, La Roque-Gajeac and Domme all easily accesible. Going to each of these is a must.

The staff were very friendly, both Stephanie and Chrystalle were amazing and made us feel very much at home (apologies if names spelt incorrectly!).

My small moans would be:

The swimming pool is too cold to get in. Really needs to be heated.
There should be a restaurant (this is being addressed).
Smoking in the hotel (guests are not allowed so this is done by others including the owner who lives on the premises), cigarette smoke can be smelt at times - possibly our biggest complaint and one that should be rectified immediately.
Room was a little cold overnight. Heating wasn't great and required at that time of year. Think we were unlucky with the room there.


If it wasn't for the smoking, I would have given the hotel 5/5.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReviewName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed in the Chateau in mid June. (2 couples). It was a fun experience. Chrystelle greeted us upon our arrival and was our main point of contact. She was OUTSTANDING...and would easily switch from French (for our friends) to English for us - very accomodating. She also provided recommendations for nearby restaurants - very helpful. We were in room 4 - second floor overlooking the entry. It was a lovely room.

The terrace is delightful - - overlloking a pool and scenery on the other side of the road. Someone else commented about road noise - - we didn't find tht an issue. We did have large windows in the room and opened them to let in the mornng air and watch the hot air balloons. The vista was beautiful.

We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment. I beleive it was 12 Euros and we only want coffee and a pastry so it didn't make sense for us. There was a water kettle/instant coffee in the guest room - - so it will tie you over.

Monrecour is in a very convenient area -- Beynac nearby is very picturesque. This whole Dordogne area is fantastic - - wonderful/beautiful towns to see and the ancient caves to tour. We made a good choice to go in June since many people told us that the summer months are "impossible" - - hard to find accomodations, hard to get into restaurants, major traffic issues since the roads are narrow and the area condensed. May and June are perfect...same with September, October we were told....go then and you will really enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I wanted to stay in a chateau and we almost did. While you can stay in the beautiful chateau with its expansive balcony that overlooks the grounds and pool, we stayed in a large bedroom and bathroom in a row of similar and self contained cottages. It was very roomy and comfortable and ready access to a pool which families with kids in the same accommodation made excellent use. Laundry at no cost available.

This is a great setting - out of town but not far to drive to nearby villages. It is a stunning area and we'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryP164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Very good hotel. We had a very large room in the main house, number 3 I believe, which was huge and very bright with the shutter open due to having windows on three sides. Decent bathroom. The room had access to a huge balcony facing the Château de Beynac which was a perfect place for a nightly picnic. The balcony was shared with another room, but it is big. Decent breakfast and not so expensive.
All decoration in the areas I saw was in good order. Staff as friendly as can be.
Drinks available all day/evening on the terrace.
The only comment I'd make is you can hear the main road, approx 100m away, quite clearly if you are at one of the the pools or have the windows open in the main house. That said, I saw many, many hotels actually on the main road itself, so this one isn't so bad. And it's a great location for getting about from, mostly 10 to 15 minutes to many places. Benyac is only 1.5km.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
338 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent 4 nights in one of the family apartments at Chateau de Monrecour (2 adults, 2 children aged 7 and 10).

I thought that it was a lovey, relaxing place to stay - there was plenty of room in the apartment and I would rank it as quite good value for money.

The staff at reception and breakfast were very friendly and welcoming.

The chateau itself is in good condition, and the 2 swimmming pools are both clean and attractive.

It you have a car it is not far to Beynac, La Roque Gageac, Sarlat, Domme or Chateau des Milandes.

As there was no kitchen in the apartment we ate (and paid for) breakfast in the chateau - and I am really glad that we did - there was a great range of delicious food (including some local produce) and it was in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

From the friendly staff (Stephanie) to the room, we were so delighted. Set on a hill overlooking the Dordogne valley, the Chateaux was built about 150 years ago and the grounds now include a restored farm buildings. We stayed in the charming restored farm building next to the chateaux (which we loved.) The room was recently restores and seemed new. It was large with separate toilette and separate shower/sink. We were there off season, so we had the place to ourselves. In the morning, we took a short walk behind our room to the little town of St. Vincent de Cosse which seemed like a dream. Breathtakingly beautiful. It was quiet and peaceful. In the evening, we went to La Petite Tonnelle about a mile away for another great meal and served by Fabi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
18.3 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#15 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Monrecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monrecour

Property: Chateau de Monrecour
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Monrecours, 24220 Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Monrecour 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Domaine du Chateau de Monrecour and it's adjacent buildings in the hart of the Dordogne Valley, near to Sarlat, the pearl of the Périgord Noir. Be seduiced by the romantique rooms in the castle or those who are situaded in the 17th century adjacent buildings. All rooms are equiped by a bathroom with bath or shower, confortable bedding, flatscreen television, téléphone and free Wi-Fi.Those in the castle are equiped with a mini-bar, a kettle, a courtesy tray and a safe. We also propose self catering cottage, suitable for 5 persons maximum, well equiped kitchen with dishwasher, micro-wave,toaster. On the ground floor: sittingroom with diningtable, chairs,a sofa and flatschreen television. The open kitchen is well equiped with dishwasher, micro-wave and toaster. On the 1st floor you will find the two bedrooms and bathroom. At the Domain there are two heated swimmingpools, a playarea wtih play equipment for the children and pingpong tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Monrecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Monrecour Hotel Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse
Chateau De Monrecour Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing