We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Monrecour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed three nights in this lovely chateau with its gorgeous setting and friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool at the end of hot afternoons, and the breakfasts and dinners were superb. The only disappointment was the level of traffic noise, especially early in the morning

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

WE spent 6 weeks in France and this was one of the best places we stayed. Beautiful grand old building in a commanding position with lovely outlook, in one of the most beautiful and interesting parts of the country. Lovely warm greeting on arrival from Chrystalle who came out to meet us, and the other staff were equally friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and beautiful room with views, in the main chateau for a very reasonable rate.
We had dinner in the restaurant every night as the food, cooked by Phillipe, was the best we had in France. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbryant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although this hotel is much smaller than the "Downton Abbey" of television fame, I often felt like an aristocrat on our four-day stay. That's because the hotel is very stately, has a grand staircase, a ballroom, and two towers. The appearance and setting makes you feel like you are pulling up to rub elbows with the 1%.

Our room was in the tower and it was very large, clean, and there were two terraces between the towers for an afternoon or evening glass of wine (must bring it yourself). There was also a large terrace overlooking the very nice swimming pool. You could stay here all day, every day of your visit, but that is not why we came to the Dordogne. It was a handy location for visiting Sarlat, Beynac, Castelnaud, Lascaux II, and several other places. And the canoe trip. Don't forget the canoe trip!

Unfortunately, there is only one restaurant within easy walking distance of the hotel, and that is the restaurant affiliated with the hotel. It was medium to high end, and it was quite tasty the night we ate there.

We also got a bonus! As we were sitting on the terrace, sipping our wine, the local balloon company launched a balloon on the hotel grounds right in front of us for a sunset balloon ride. It was really interesting to see what goes on and suprising to see it only takes minutes to launch a balloon capable of lifting a dozen or so passengers.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tower room and really enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have travelled a lot through France and have mostly been disappointed with the Chateaus we have stayed in but we really found a gem here. A family run business, we were very warmly welcomed, showed to comfortable rooms at the top of the Chateau with our own private balcony over looking the lovely swimming pool.

The restaurant was also a delight. Run by the daughter and her husband, newly opened it was a wonderful evening. The food was the best we had on our trip and we were looked after very well.

I would recommend this hotel highly, we are already thinking of returning next year. It is all there waiting for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN24220, Responsable réception at Chateau de Monrecour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Lois D,

Many thanks for your warm comment on our property.
Indeed, it is a family run business, and we welcome our guests as if they were members of our family, our house is also theirs during their stay.
We would be more than pleased to welcome you again next year at Monrecour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

As we were having difficulties finding hotels on our travels, we booked on-line a few days previous and were pleasantly surprised as we approached this beautiful chateau. As the Chateau is NOT on GPS, Stephanie was very helpful providing us with driving instructions!

The good: As expressed in other reviews, this Chateau is charming. We stayed in the annex for 3 nights and found the rooms to be very spacious and comfortable.
The not so good: You must have a car. They offer breakfast, however there are no restaurants with-in walking distance. Wifi is only available in the Chateau and not in the rooms in the Annex.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we had booked a few more days. The rooms were spacious and lacked for nothing. Special thanks to Stephanie who organized the return of our ipade from the previous accomadation to forward to the next place of stay. The staff were simply amazing and with a great sense of humour. Could not recommend more highly. Breakfast was great also
Thanks for the time we spent there

Monica and Ben

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in one of the 'Charm' rooms for a number of nights in this hotel. The Chateau is fantastic with excellent views of the area.

It is very well situated with Beynac, La Roque-Gajeac and Domme all easily accesible. Going to each of these is a must.

The staff were very friendly, both Stephanie and Chrystalle were amazing and made us feel very much at home (apologies if names spelt incorrectly!).

My small moans would be:

The swimming pool is too cold to get in. Really needs to be heated.
There should be a restaurant (this is being addressed).
Smoking in the hotel (guests are not allowed so this is done by others including the owner who lives on the premises), cigarette smoke can be smelt at times - possibly our biggest complaint and one that should be rectified immediately.
Room was a little cold overnight. Heating wasn't great and required at that time of year. Think we were unlucky with the room there.


If it wasn't for the smoking, I would have given the hotel 5/5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayReviewName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
180 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Monrecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monrecour

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Monrecours, 24220 Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Price Range: £63 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Monrecour 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Domaine du Chateau de Monrecour and it's adjacent buildings in the hart of the Dordogne Valley, near to Sarlat, the pearl of the Périgord Noir. Be seduiced by the romantique rooms in the castle or those who are situaded in the 17th century adjacent buildings. All rooms are equiped by a bathroom with bath or shower, confortable bedding, flatscreen television, téléphone and free Wi-Fi.Those in the castle are equiped with a mini-bar, a kettle, a courtesy tray and a safe. We also propose self catering cottage, suitable for 5 persons maximum, well equiped kitchen with dishwasher, micro-wave,toaster. On the ground floor: sittingroom with diningtable, chairs,a sofa and flatschreen television. The open kitchen is well equiped with dishwasher, micro-wave and toaster. On the 1st floor you will find the two bedrooms and bathroom. At the Domain there are two heated swimmingpools, a playarea wtih play equipment for the children and pingpong tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Monrecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Monrecour Hotel Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse
Chateau De Monrecour Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing