We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
226
98
16
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
98
16
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages dordogne valley family room hot air balloons poor french ground floor large terrace grounds are beautiful would highly recommend this hotel our short stay rooms are spacious very comfortable stay ping pong enjoyed our stay play area first floor breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

WE spent 6 weeks in France and this was one of the best places we stayed. Beautiful grand old building in a commanding position with lovely outlook, in one of the most beautiful and interesting parts of the country. Lovely warm greeting on arrival from Chrystalle who came out to meet us, and the other staff were equally friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and beautiful room with views, in the main chateau for a very reasonable rate.
We had dinner in the restaurant every night as the food, cooked by Phillipe, was the best we had in France. Highly recommended to all.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbryant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although this hotel is much smaller than the "Downton Abbey" of television fame, I often felt like an aristocrat on our four-day stay. That's because the hotel is very stately, has a grand staircase, a ballroom, and two towers. The appearance and setting makes you feel like you are pulling up to rub elbows with the 1%.

Our room was in the tower and it was very large, clean, and there were two terraces between the towers for an afternoon or evening glass of wine (must bring it yourself). There was also a large terrace overlooking the very nice swimming pool. You could stay here all day, every day of your visit, but that is not why we came to the Dordogne. It was a handy location for visiting Sarlat, Beynac, Castelnaud, Lascaux II, and several other places. And the canoe trip. Don't forget the canoe trip!

Unfortunately, there is only one restaurant within easy walking distance of the hotel, and that is the restaurant affiliated with the hotel. It was medium to high end, and it was quite tasty the night we ate there.

We also got a bonus! As we were sitting on the terrace, sipping our wine, the local balloon company launched a balloon on the hotel grounds right in front of us for a sunset balloon ride. It was really interesting to see what goes on and suprising to see it only takes minutes to launch a balloon capable of lifting a dozen or so passengers.

Room tip: We stayed in a tower room and really enjoyed it.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have travelled a lot through France and have mostly been disappointed with the Chateaus we have stayed in but we really found a gem here. A family run business, we were very warmly welcomed, showed to comfortable rooms at the top of the Chateau with our own private balcony over looking the lovely swimming pool.

The restaurant was also a delight. Run by the daughter and her husband, newly opened it was a wonderful evening. The food was the best we had on our trip and we were looked after very well.

I would recommend this hotel highly, we are already thinking of returning next year. It is all there waiting for you!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN24220, Responsable réception at Chateau de Monrecour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Lois D,

Many thanks for your warm comment on our property.
Indeed, it is a family run business, and we welcome our guests as if they were members of our family, our house is also theirs during their stay.
We would be more than pleased to welcome you again next year at Monrecour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

As we were having difficulties finding hotels on our travels, we booked on-line a few days previous and were pleasantly surprised as we approached this beautiful chateau. As the Chateau is NOT on GPS, Stephanie was very helpful providing us with driving instructions!

The good: As expressed in other reviews, this Chateau is charming. We stayed in the annex for 3 nights and found the rooms to be very spacious and comfortable.
The not so good: You must have a car. They offer breakfast, however there are no restaurants with-in walking distance. Wifi is only available in the Chateau and not in the rooms in the Annex.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobVan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we had booked a few more days. The rooms were spacious and lacked for nothing. Special thanks to Stephanie who organized the return of our ipade from the previous accomadation to forward to the next place of stay. The staff were simply amazing and with a great sense of humour. Could not recommend more highly. Breakfast was great also
Thanks for the time we spent there

Monica and Ben

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews