We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fabulous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Monrecour
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

we spent two night there because of a family party in the area. what a nice surprice. Everythinh was PERFECT. from the staff to the bedroom. The food was a real treat. We loved it.
maybe the breakfast could be improved as for 13 euro, no cooking breakfast....oh come on! having a lovely fresh croissant on the terrasse help to forget bacon doesnt it? Hightly recommended

Room Tip: We had room 3, with view to the pool. more than 35 sq metres with walking shower. No lift or air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paternos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    65
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
113
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I spent a week here with my family (wife and two kids, 6 and 8) during our stay in the Dordogne. This was a terrific hotel in a great location, with the amenities we needed, operated by helpful, friendly staff. A special thank-you to Chrystelle who was exceptionally helpful and accomodating during our stay, providing a warm greeting, directions and information as needed. Soon after we arrived home from our vacation my wife had already emailed the hotel to thank them and to single-out Chrystelle for her exceptional service (in English and French).

We had pre-arranged for a week in one of the "cottages", the "Gageac" to be specific. It's one of the townhouse-type row units separate from the castle, beside the pool. It was perfect for our needs - with two bedrooms and bath plus a full kitchen. The kitchen allowed us to buy groceries so that we could eat in for one or more meals a day. The kitchen, however, was a little understocked - the lack of dish towels or oven mitts, for example, was a nuisance.

The pool area was large, clean, well-maintained and had many loungers. Unfortunately, the water was ice cold. Even on one of the few hot days we experienced during our week (during a cold spell apparently), the water was basically an ice bath. Our kids didn't seem to mind too much, but I did not notice a single other soul in the water during our time at the hotel.

There were much-needed laundry facilities available in the pool house adjacent to the pool. Although the washers and dryers were free to use (thank you!) we did need to get laundry detergent. It's possible the hotel would've supplied some, but we picked some up anyway when we were getting groceries. As for groceries, we were directed to the nearby Carrefour supermarket in nearby St. Cyprien.

The hotel is located strategically near many popular towns and sites - St. Cyprien (nearest supermarket and market), Sarlat, Beynac, Roque de Gageac, Roque de St. Christophe, Castlenaud, Chateau Millandes, jardins de Marqueyssac, Domme, Montignac, the list goes on. We even ventured as far out to Gouffre de Padirac for a day trip.

We did enjoy the breakfast in the hotel on our first morning and found it to be a well-stocked buffet. One minor issue for us was that it didn't open until 8:00am. We're early-risers so we would've preferred an earlier breakfast time. We also enjoyed a dinner in the dining room one evening. We had a wonderful meal - possibly one of the best we had in all our time in France.

Wi-Fi did not reach the cottages so we would sit in the lobby area of the hotel when needed to check email, etc. I also found getting a cell signal difficult depending on where I was on the grounds of the hotel.

The week we spent here was a memorable one for the family. This wonderful hotel allowed us to fully experience and appreciate the incredible sights, sounds, and tastes of the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

While the property is very beautiful, there are three important factors that you should be aware of:
No air-conditioner
No elevator
Non refundable
We booked a privilege room for July 22 and 23, 2013. When we got to the Chateau as son as we entered, the heat hit us... Like going inside a pizza oven. The temperature was 37 Centigrade! We were taken upstairs ( no elevator) to a room which was Unbearably hot and without air conditioner. We told the lady that we could not stay under these circumstances as my husband who s 73, could get very sick. She Did not seem to care much and commented it was not that bad...immediately told us they would not refund our pre-payment. Needless to say that instead of enjoying a day in near by Sarlat, we spent the time looking for another hotel with air conditioner. We cannot believe that in the year 2013, a property of this caliber has no air conditioner and no elevator! Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN24220, Responsable réception at Chateau de Monrecour, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Rebecca D.

We are so sorry to read your message and to see that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Indeed July has been much warmer than usual. The climate here doesn't usually require air conditioning. The temperatures we've had this July are exceptional in the Dordogne area, and according the METEO FRANCE, it has been the 3rd warmest month of july for a century ! Furthermore, when you booked the room you were advised that we didn't have air conditioning.

Indeed, the chateau, like most old castles, does not have a lift and your room was only on the 1st floor. Unfortunately, you did not leave us time to inform you that we have a goods lift for suitcases. The latter can also be used by our guests. If stairs were a real problem for you then you should have put a comment on your reservation, as we also have rooms on the ground floor.

Regarding a refund, when you booked online, you did accept our general terms of sale advising you that your reservation may be cancelled without charge up to 48 hours prior to your arrival.

I hope that you found a place to stay with all facilities you were expecting and that you enjoyed our beautiful Dordogne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed three nights in this lovely chateau with its gorgeous setting and friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool at the end of hot afternoons, and the breakfasts and dinners were superb. The only disappointment was the level of traffic noise, especially early in the morning

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

WE spent 6 weeks in France and this was one of the best places we stayed. Beautiful grand old building in a commanding position with lovely outlook, in one of the most beautiful and interesting parts of the country. Lovely warm greeting on arrival from Chrystalle who came out to meet us, and the other staff were equally friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and beautiful room with views, in the main chateau for a very reasonable rate.
We had dinner in the restaurant every night as the food, cooked by Phillipe, was the best we had in France. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbryant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although this hotel is much smaller than the "Downton Abbey" of television fame, I often felt like an aristocrat on our four-day stay. That's because the hotel is very stately, has a grand staircase, a ballroom, and two towers. The appearance and setting makes you feel like you are pulling up to rub elbows with the 1%.

Our room was in the tower and it was very large, clean, and there were two terraces between the towers for an afternoon or evening glass of wine (must bring it yourself). There was also a large terrace overlooking the very nice swimming pool. You could stay here all day, every day of your visit, but that is not why we came to the Dordogne. It was a handy location for visiting Sarlat, Beynac, Castelnaud, Lascaux II, and several other places. And the canoe trip. Don't forget the canoe trip!

Unfortunately, there is only one restaurant within easy walking distance of the hotel, and that is the restaurant affiliated with the hotel. It was medium to high end, and it was quite tasty the night we ate there.

We also got a bonus! As we were sitting on the terrace, sipping our wine, the local balloon company launched a balloon on the hotel grounds right in front of us for a sunset balloon ride. It was really interesting to see what goes on and suprising to see it only takes minutes to launch a balloon capable of lifting a dozen or so passengers.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tower room and really enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have travelled a lot through France and have mostly been disappointed with the Chateaus we have stayed in but we really found a gem here. A family run business, we were very warmly welcomed, showed to comfortable rooms at the top of the Chateau with our own private balcony over looking the lovely swimming pool.

The restaurant was also a delight. Run by the daughter and her husband, newly opened it was a wonderful evening. The food was the best we had on our trip and we were looked after very well.

I would recommend this hotel highly, we are already thinking of returning next year. It is all there waiting for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN24220, Responsable réception at Chateau de Monrecour, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Lois D,

Many thanks for your warm comment on our property.
Indeed, it is a family run business, and we welcome our guests as if they were members of our family, our house is also theirs during their stay.
We would be more than pleased to welcome you again next year at Monrecour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
18.3 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
5.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#14 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Monrecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monrecour

Property: Chateau de Monrecour
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Monrecours, 24220 Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Monrecour 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Domaine du Chateau de Monrecour and it's adjacent buildings in the hart of the Dordogne Valley, near to Sarlat, the pearl of the Périgord Noir. Be seduiced by the romantique rooms in the castle or those who are situaded in the 17th century adjacent buildings. All rooms are equiped by a bathroom with bath or shower, confortable bedding, flatscreen television, téléphone and free Wi-Fi.Those in the castle are equiped with a mini-bar, a kettle, a courtesy tray and a safe. We also propose self catering cottage, suitable for 5 persons maximum, well equiped kitchen with dishwasher, micro-wave,toaster. On the ground floor: sittingroom with diningtable, chairs,a sofa and flatschreen television. The open kitchen is well equiped with dishwasher, micro-wave and toaster. On the 1st floor you will find the two bedrooms and bathroom. At the Domain there are two heated swimmingpools, a playarea wtih play equipment for the children and pingpong tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Monrecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Monrecour Hotel Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse
Chateau De Monrecour Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing