We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A building with an interesting history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Monrecour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We loved this place and the staff and felt that it was good value. The chateau was old and attractive while the staff were young and attractive; and exceedingly helpful with advice and tips and whatever to ensure we enjoyed our stay and what to see when we toured the area. Breakfast was at an additional cost, which was reasonable value, although the real pleasure was having it out on the verandah overlooking the fields and river. It is in the heart of the Dordonge region and everything is nearby, driving on (often) narrow roads. I could list all the places to visit but I am sure the reader can just as easily create their own preferences. Our room was in the main building. It was spacious, well appointed, good facilities and a view to linger over. However, being and old building the floor of the room overhead did creak a bit when the occupants were walking around. Especially fun was watching the hot air balloons being inflated then taking off in a nearby field. The large pool is a wonderful welcome relief during the hot days. There are many good restaurants nearby as well as the one on site. We stayed for 6 days and the time just flew by. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Be warned - there is no lift, but wide and generaous staircases leading up to the rooms in the main building which are mostly second floor and above. Beautiful, elegant room in one of the corner "towers", large and well furnished with a generous bathroom. Nice staff. We ate in the restaurant which is in a modern annexe - the meal was included in the cost of our stay and could have benefited by us being given a choice to augment it if we wanted. What we had was excellent. It is outside the beautiful town of Beynac off a very busy road - walking in to town is a little hairraising. Good sized pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with great facilities in an amazing location. There are a number of room options, including the main chateau and the annex, where we stayed. We had a family room which consisted of two bedrooms with double beds and a very large, modern bathroom , as well as a sitting area off of one bedroom. Very clean- very bright and pleasant. There are two pools at the hotel and a great deal of surrounding property - it has the feel of a small resort. All this for 135 Euro a night for a family of four in high season - a great deal. It is 2-3 km from Beynac and has a view of the Dordogne river. What set it apart, however, was the staff. I needed advice on how to visit Font De Gaume and other atractions in the area - Christelle at the front desk gave me great advice, and assistance over two days and greatly enhanced our trip. Both evenings we were there a hot air balloon was launched from the property - very cool. A great two night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We arrived one evening about 8.30pm with no reservation and were "greeted" by a teenage girl who was on the seat of a bike being pedaled by a younger boy up the main drive-way. What a lovely smile she had as she went to try and find someone to help us. In these few moments my wife had fallen in love with the place...it seemed so relaxed and inviting as we peered into the downstairs public rooms before a lady came talk to us. Yes ...she could offer us a room in the main building and she was so friendly it hardly mattered that we were unsuccessful in trying to negotiate a reasonable discount on the price as it was now nearly dark etc. It was like chatting to an old friend who was doing us a favour rather than us being "customers" but it worked and we had a marvellous stay. One minor point, the breakfast was excellent except for the coffee, this was in a large urn and more like "conference quality" in a cheap establishment....the nescafe on the hospitality tray tasted much better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we spent two night there because of a family party in the area. what a nice surprice. Everythinh was PERFECT. from the staff to the bedroom. The food was a real treat. We loved it.
maybe the breakfast could be improved as for 13 euro, no cooking breakfast....oh come on! having a lovely fresh croissant on the terrasse help to forget bacon doesnt it? Hightly recommended

Room Tip: We had room 3, with view to the pool. more than 35 sq metres with walking shower. No lift or air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paternos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I spent a week here with my family (wife and two kids, 6 and 8) during our stay in the Dordogne. This was a terrific hotel in a great location, with the amenities we needed, operated by helpful, friendly staff. A special thank-you to Chrystelle who was exceptionally helpful and accomodating during our stay, providing a warm greeting, directions and information as needed. Soon after we arrived home from our vacation my wife had already emailed the hotel to thank them and to single-out Chrystelle for her exceptional service (in English and French).

We had pre-arranged for a week in one of the "cottages", the "Gageac" to be specific. It's one of the townhouse-type row units separate from the castle, beside the pool. It was perfect for our needs - with two bedrooms and bath plus a full kitchen. The kitchen allowed us to buy groceries so that we could eat in for one or more meals a day. The kitchen, however, was a little understocked - the lack of dish towels or oven mitts, for example, was a nuisance.

The pool area was large, clean, well-maintained and had many loungers. Unfortunately, the water was ice cold. Even on one of the few hot days we experienced during our week (during a cold spell apparently), the water was basically an ice bath. Our kids didn't seem to mind too much, but I did not notice a single other soul in the water during our time at the hotel.

There were much-needed laundry facilities available in the pool house adjacent to the pool. Although the washers and dryers were free to use (thank you!) we did need to get laundry detergent. It's possible the hotel would've supplied some, but we picked some up anyway when we were getting groceries. As for groceries, we were directed to the nearby Carrefour supermarket in nearby St. Cyprien.

The hotel is located strategically near many popular towns and sites - St. Cyprien (nearest supermarket and market), Sarlat, Beynac, Roque de Gageac, Roque de St. Christophe, Castlenaud, Chateau Millandes, jardins de Marqueyssac, Domme, Montignac, the list goes on. We even ventured as far out to Gouffre de Padirac for a day trip.

We did enjoy the breakfast in the hotel on our first morning and found it to be a well-stocked buffet. One minor issue for us was that it didn't open until 8:00am. We're early-risers so we would've preferred an earlier breakfast time. We also enjoyed a dinner in the dining room one evening. We had a wonderful meal - possibly one of the best we had in all our time in France.

Wi-Fi did not reach the cottages so we would sit in the lobby area of the hotel when needed to check email, etc. I also found getting a cell signal difficult depending on where I was on the grounds of the hotel.

The week we spent here was a memorable one for the family. This wonderful hotel allowed us to fully experience and appreciate the incredible sights, sounds, and tastes of the region.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

While the property is very beautiful, there are three important factors that you should be aware of:
No air-conditioner
No elevator
Non refundable
We booked a privilege room for July 22 and 23, 2013. When we got to the Chateau as son as we entered, the heat hit us... Like going inside a pizza oven. The temperature was 37 Centigrade! We were taken upstairs ( no elevator) to a room which was Unbearably hot and without air conditioner. We told the lady that we could not stay under these circumstances as my husband who s 73, could get very sick. She Did not seem to care much and commented it was not that bad...immediately told us they would not refund our pre-payment. Needless to say that instead of enjoying a day in near by Sarlat, we spent the time looking for another hotel with air conditioner. We cannot believe that in the year 2013, a property of this caliber has no air conditioner and no elevator! Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN24220, Responsable réception at Chateau de Monrecour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Rebecca D.

We are so sorry to read your message and to see that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Indeed July has been much warmer than usual. The climate here doesn't usually require air conditioning. The temperatures we've had this July are exceptional in the Dordogne area, and according the METEO FRANCE, it has been the 3rd warmest month of july for a century ! Furthermore, when you booked the room you were advised that we didn't have air conditioning.

Indeed, the chateau, like most old castles, does not have a lift and your room was only on the 1st floor. Unfortunately, you did not leave us time to inform you that we have a goods lift for suitcases. The latter can also be used by our guests. If stairs were a real problem for you then you should have put a comment on your reservation, as we also have rooms on the ground floor.

Regarding a refund, when you booked online, you did accept our general terms of sale advising you that your reservation may be cancelled without charge up to 48 hours prior to your arrival.

I hope that you found a place to stay with all facilities you were expecting and that you enjoyed our beautiful Dordogne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
675 reviews
18.3 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
316 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
5.8 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Monrecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monrecour

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Monrecours, 24220 Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Price Range: £58 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Monrecour 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Domaine du Chateau de Monrecour and it's adjacent buildings in the hart of the Dordogne Valley, near to Sarlat, the pearl of the Périgord Noir. Be seduiced by the romantique rooms in the castle or those who are situaded in the 17th century adjacent buildings. All rooms are equiped by a bathroom with bath or shower, confortable bedding, flatscreen television, téléphone and free Wi-Fi.Those in the castle are equiped with a mini-bar, a kettle, a courtesy tray and a safe. We also propose self catering cottage, suitable for 5 persons maximum, well equiped kitchen with dishwasher, micro-wave,toaster. On the ground floor: sittingroom with diningtable, chairs,a sofa and flatschreen television. The open kitchen is well equiped with dishwasher, micro-wave and toaster. On the 1st floor you will find the two bedrooms and bathroom. At the Domain there are two heated swimmingpools, a playarea wtih play equipment for the children and pingpong tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Monrecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Monrecour Hotel Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse
Chateau De Monrecour Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing