We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Chateau!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Monrecour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de Monrecour
Certificate of Excellence
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chateau!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were there in 2009. We, along with the other couple we travel with, took residence in the two private rooms which share a common balcony area that is just for the use of the people in those rooms. The view is magnificent! Castle Beynac is dead ahead. And at sunset, with a bottle or two of vin, you watch the shadow slowly close on the castle while the dark blue sky takes over. Breakfast is adequate, along with the view of Chateau de Milandes (Josephine Baker's chateau). The rooms are spacious with very nice bathrooms. When the weather is good, a hot air balloon launches from the back yard. The area is great to tour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbar2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    63
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
108
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was my second visit to Monrecour. Previous visit in 2011 we stayed in one of the adjoining holiday flats. This time we upgraded to the castle itself. Now keep in mind that the French refer to stately homes as castles, but that's not meant as a criticism of Monrecour. This is a special place in an excellent location to explore the delights of the Dordogne. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We loved this place and the staff and felt that it was good value. The chateau was old and attractive while the staff were young and attractive; and exceedingly helpful with advice and tips and whatever to ensure we enjoyed our stay and what to see when we toured the area. Breakfast was at an additional cost, which was reasonable value, although the real pleasure was having it out on the verandah overlooking the fields and river. It is in the heart of the Dordonge region and everything is nearby, driving on (often) narrow roads. I could list all the places to visit but I am sure the reader can just as easily create their own preferences. Our room was in the main building. It was spacious, well appointed, good facilities and a view to linger over. However, being and old building the floor of the room overhead did creak a bit when the occupants were walking around. Especially fun was watching the hot air balloons being inflated then taking off in a nearby field. The large pool is a wonderful welcome relief during the hot days. There are many good restaurants nearby as well as the one on site. We stayed for 6 days and the time just flew by. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland,NZ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Be warned - there is no lift, but wide and generaous staircases leading up to the rooms in the main building which are mostly second floor and above. Beautiful, elegant room in one of the corner "towers", large and well furnished with a generous bathroom. Nice staff. We ate in the restaurant which is in a modern annexe - the meal was included in the cost of our stay and could have benefited by us being given a choice to augment it if we wanted. What we had was excellent. It is outside the beautiful town of Beynac off a very busy road - walking in to town is a little hairraising. Good sized pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with great facilities in an amazing location. There are a number of room options, including the main chateau and the annex, where we stayed. We had a family room which consisted of two bedrooms with double beds and a very large, modern bathroom , as well as a sitting area off of one bedroom. Very clean- very bright and pleasant. There are two pools at the hotel and a great deal of surrounding property - it has the feel of a small resort. All this for 135 Euro a night for a family of four in high season - a great deal. It is 2-3 km from Beynac and has a view of the Dordogne river. What set it apart, however, was the staff. I needed advice on how to visit Font De Gaume and other atractions in the area - Christelle at the front desk gave me great advice, and assistance over two days and greatly enhanced our trip. Both evenings we were there a hot air balloon was launched from the property - very cool. A great two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We arrived one evening about 8.30pm with no reservation and were "greeted" by a teenage girl who was on the seat of a bike being pedaled by a younger boy up the main drive-way. What a lovely smile she had as she went to try and find someone to help us. In these few moments my wife had fallen in love with the place...it seemed so relaxed and inviting as we peered into the downstairs public rooms before a lady came talk to us. Yes ...she could offer us a room in the main building and she was so friendly it hardly mattered that we were unsuccessful in trying to negotiate a reasonable discount on the price as it was now nearly dark etc. It was like chatting to an old friend who was doing us a favour rather than us being "customers" but it worked and we had a marvellous stay. One minor point, the breakfast was excellent except for the coffee, this was in a large urn and more like "conference quality" in a cheap establishment....the nescafe on the hospitality tray tasted much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

we spent two night there because of a family party in the area. what a nice surprice. Everythinh was PERFECT. from the staff to the bedroom. The food was a real treat. We loved it.
maybe the breakfast could be improved as for 13 euro, no cooking breakfast....oh come on! having a lovely fresh croissant on the terrasse help to forget bacon doesnt it? Hightly recommended

Room Tip: We had room 3, with view to the pool. more than 35 sq metres with walking shower. No lift or air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paternos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
5.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
14.4 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
23.9 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Monrecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Monrecour

Property: Chateau de Monrecour
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Monrecours, 24220 Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Monrecour 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Domaine du Chateau de Monrecour and it's adjacent buildings in the hart of the Dordogne Valley, near to Sarlat, the pearl of the Périgord Noir. Be seduiced by the romantique rooms in the castle or those who are situaded in the 17th century adjacent buildings. All rooms are equiped by a bathroom with bath or shower, confortable bedding, flatscreen television, téléphone and free Wi-Fi.Those in the castle are equiped with a mini-bar, a kettle, a courtesy tray and a safe. We also propose self catering cottage, suitable for 5 persons maximum, well equiped kitchen with dishwasher, micro-wave,toaster. On the ground floor: sittingroom with diningtable, chairs,a sofa and flatschreen television. The open kitchen is well equiped with dishwasher, micro-wave and toaster. On the 1st floor you will find the two bedrooms and bathroom. At the Domain there are two heated swimmingpools, a playarea wtih play equipment for the children and pingpong tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Monrecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Monrecour Hotel Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse
Chateau De Monrecour Saint-Vincent-De-Cosse, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing