We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Sainte Cecile
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of an anniversary trip to the Languedoc. The hotel is very impressive on first sight and the owners, Marie and her husband John, were very welcoming. Marie told us a little of the history of the chateau, and that she and her husband have restored it over several years. The love and care they have put into it is evident wherever you look, and despite the age of the house, everything is fresh and new. The bedrooms are just as spectacular as they seem on the website and the bathrooms are among the most luxurious I've ever found in a hotel (and as my husband travels a lot we have stayed in some of the best).

The pool area is quiet and secluded and although there is some road noise it is certainly not intrusive. Here too attention is paid to small but important details: sun beds are made up with soft towelling covers, and towels and robes are offered.

Breakfast was delicious and served in the orangery, beautifully laid out on on french antique plates. Serrano ham and goats cheese with honey, fresh fruit salad, the best and most authentic croissants we had on our trip, french bread and a lovely selection of home made conserves. It was evident from the quality and selection of the food and the setting how much Marie cares about her guests.

She was also very helpful in recommending a choice of good local restaurants and in going out of her way to help us with other aspects of our trip.

This is a beautiful chateau, restored with great love and care, with a high level of 21st century comfort and luxury. If, like me you love the English version of French interior design, you will absolutely love this place. If you love quality, great service and a warm welcome, you will love this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    1
    6
    0
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Poor value for money. The map was completely incorrect, having the chateau at the wrong side of St Thibery and NOT disclosing its proximity to the main road. The tea and coffee facilities in the bedroom had not been emptied or refilled since the last occupants. We were not able to get an early breakfast (8.00) before our visit to a vineyard. There were none of the "extras" that one normally gets in such an establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Vito al Tagliamento, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I start the trip in the sud of France with the intention to choose uncommon places where to sleep some nights and I wanted something special to remember after the travel not only the monuments visited but also the hotels where to live some days in a dream, because sometimes everybody us has the right to consider himself like a special person and the travel a little marvellous moment as a gift after working a lot during the year. I began choosing a marvellous place at Eze Village near Nice called chateau de la chevre d'or: fantastique place of cote d'azure. I think the best you can find near Nice as hotel accomodation, gardens, and above all as see-sighting. I decided what see and book by internet choosing sites with relais and chateaux a chain of particular hotels to discover all around the world but above all in France. I made the first experience in the Loire valley the first time I was in France in places mentioned above. After that I choose another place in a bed and breakfast cheaper in Provence, but I want now talking about the Sainte Cecile castle. It's a very nice relaxing place with a beautiful rooms of old style just to be like a king for some nights into a fairy tale story for romantic people in search of the beauty of other times, far from what is strictly modern but without forgetting the facilities you can find with the help of the owners of the Charming castle-hotel like informations and other modern accomodation: from the useful and nice, many things for the bath to the silver dishes used for the great breakfast. A big swimming pool awaits you in the gardens and you are alone with the nature only with singing birds far from the crowd and the traffic and other boring noises. You are near different hystoric monuments and famous cities to visit like pezenas and carcassonne if remember only 45 minutes of highway to reach the last one. unforgettable also the kindness of the owners of the castle that help you also in the difficult cases. Everything is done with love and you can distinguish the place from many common hotels

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossella d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is an incredible place to stay!! Even though the pictures are great, they still do not do this place justice as it is even more incredible in person!! The detail and design of everything is perfection!! We had a wonderful breakfast and then walked the grounds of the property. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We loved the chateau, the rooms, the decorations in the chateau and garden. Devoted service from Madame Diffre and her staff. Every detail was perfect. Madame Diffre is not only a good host and decorator, she also shares her knowlegde about the best places to eat and historical sites worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Chateau sits several kilometres from the road exit and is clearly marked to the front gates. I was puzzled about comments of noise from the road (on this website) because it wasn't true for us. Once off the main road (and it is a longish drive up a small track), it is an oasis of calm. The house sits in the most bucolic spot, and our first impression of the house, the light and the peaceful setting was "just magical!" Though I was impressed with photos I had seen of the Chateau, nothing prepared me for how beautiful, pristine, clean, carefully decorated with amazing attention to detail the hotel really is. The owners are lovely people who clearly appreciate the specialness of the property. They were extremely knowledgeable about the area restaurants (and reserved a table in a popular spot on a Friday night for us), interesting things to see, and could give accurate driving directions to points of interest. Their own website provides clear driving instructions to the hotel and mentions that payment is appreciated in cash. Having just returned, we are already planning a second visit with family. As regular visitors to France, in particular Paris, and the South, it is absolutely one of the nicest travel experiences we have had there. Close to beach resorts and the beautiful Lac du Salagou.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2goexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Be warned: this chateau is beautiful - the furnishings, the swimming pool and a lovely breakfast. However, the other comments made are also accurate. The location is difficult to find, it is very near a busy road which is noisy and there is no air conditioning. For us, overall the hotel was very nice but our stay was ruined by a terrible end. The owner insisted on being paid in cash but did not tell us either before our arrival or during the three days we were there. She only informed us as we were leaving for our flight. We then had to get the cash which was very time consuming and resulted in a very stressful trip to the airport leaving an hour after we had planned. Rather than apologising for the fact that she had not told us this key information in advance, the owner wagged her finger at me and told me off for not having realised that I would have to pay a large amount of cash (2 rooms for 3 nights). Not good service and left us wishing we had gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bartsx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Thibery
3.6 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
15 Grand Rue
15 Grand Rue
#1 of 1 in Caux
21 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Bergerie de Laval
La Bergerie de Laval
#1 of 3 in Tourbes
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
De Fleurus
De Fleurus
#8 of 18 in Pezenas
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Sainte Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sainte Cecile

Property: Chateau de Sainte Cecile
Address: 1 Domaine la Solenciere, 34630 Saint-Thibery, Pezenas, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas > Saint-Thibery
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Thibery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Sainte Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing