We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed owners”
Review of La Jarrerie

La Jarrerie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Changed owners”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had gone to this restaurant annually a few times on every trip to this area of France. It is rather mediocre now in april, 2014. No where like it used to be since the ownership changed. It used to be a very classy place with wonderful French food at great value. Now they have pizza and it is just not the same.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    94
    34
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and great food”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The restaurant is fantastic - out in the middle of nowhere, but full of character, and fantastic views of the pre-Alps and down to the Mediterranean. 29 of us arrived for lunch, pre-booked, and they served us with a fantastic meal - almost the best of our week on the Cote D'Azur. They even allowed me in to the kitchens to meet the chefs and to take photos of the wall murals and the tiled walls. The staff tried, but were clearly under a bit of pressure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Great stop on the way to Vence”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stumbled upon this restaurant on our way to Vence in southern France. An old monastery that has been beautifully kept. While it has an amazing outdoor terrace, we were taken by the interior and decided to eat inside. Lunch was excellent and very reasonably priced. The staff spoke little English, but they were very helpful and accommodating, particularly when they learned my wife was glutton free and a vegetarian. They recommended and put together a meal for her. We would definitely recommend a stop here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev44488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good- but nothing outstanding”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had heard so many good things about this place that perhaps of was inevitable that we were a little disappointed. The place itself is very atmospheric (we sat outside under the canopy of trees) and the service we recived impeccable. But the food, while certainly good, was pretty unmemorable and certainly not at the level we expected. It was however reasonably priced and the experience of dining here was very pleasant. A 4 rating is a bit generous, but there's not a 3 and a half option, and the place is lovely!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winnie_io
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch on outside patio”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Fantastic shrimp, Rose wine and the best creme brulee I have ever eaten. We were welcomed and the service was impeccable. And the hillside views from this location were amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jarrerie also viewed

Le Bar-sur-Loup, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Le Bar-sur-Loup, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Le Bar-sur-Loup, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to La Jarrerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing