We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jill C
Limoges, France

Lovely views and stunning location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Nov 2017
Lovely hotel run by a very personable couple who provided a very warm welcome. Room was large with stunning views across the mountains and the town. The bar and restaurant were closed as the season was finished. But there was a lovely restaurant just opposite. Would definitely go again!
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Upper Garden Apartment Master bedroom
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dans le jardin
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Château de Grasse
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 miles from Château de Grasse
Pool
La Fontaine
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.0 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £326
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£96
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Notre hôtel est réparti sur 2 bastides provençales du XIXème siècle dans un jardin de 5000m2 arboré d'oliviers centenaires et une piscine nichée dans une restanque.
Tripadvisor
£180
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £180
1.9 miles from Château de Grasse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£179
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £179
2.3 miles from Château de Grasse
View more hotels in Le Bar-sur-Loup
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
68
28
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
28
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Extremely good service at this hotel. One of the best. Large room by any standard. Extremely clean and well decorated. Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast in the morning. But the thing that makes this hotel is the view. Too beautiful to believe. Short walking distance to some great restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W4773EUtimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Chateau de Grasse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your comment.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is a B&B only, not a classic hotel. It is located at a small village, so the room is a little bigger compared to those hotels’ in France, however there is no air conditioner in hot Summer. Also, do not be fooled by the pictures on their website or any booking agent, there is no way to access the patio which you though you might be able to have dinner or drink there.
The worse thing is that they might charge your credit card more after you leave, with any amount they want and without informing either you or your agent. Once you found them double billing, they just gave you a bunch of ridiculous excuses, like spit on the floor, poo on the wall (your imagination is fantastic!!!)
In all, facility of this place is just ok and the way to do double billing is dishonest and mean. I do not understand why it got so high scores that was why I booked this one before. Maybe it is the best of the worst.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bridgeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Chateau de Grasse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Mr Zheng Ji,

What you are doing here now is ridiculous.

You are upset because we have charged you ONE of the four rooms you have had because you have left it in a deplorable condition.

I am sure that everyone reading this will not find that, to SPIT ON THE FLOOR and behave so bad that there was POOP / EXCREMENT on the walls, are ridiculous excuses.
And nothing here is fantastic
Please put yourself in the position of the person who had to clean that!!!!!!!!

Our establishment is a Hotel offering breakfasts and drinks, there is no restaurant, no air conditioner. All this is written in our description.

Our profession is to provide clean rooms and do as much services as we can. We are doing it with passion and devotion, always there to do our best for our guests. Cleaning the rooms is of course one of the biggest job and it is normal of course, but how you have left this room was really soulless, inhuman.

You are now trying do damage our reputation but as you can see we have excellent reviews everywhere, NINETY here on tripadvisor, HUNDREDS on other reservation websites. Your case was the first like that for us in four years running this place.

And again we are doing our best and always try to improve thanks to the all comments we have. Of course we cannot meet the expectation of 100% of our guest and every remark is extremely important for us. All we can do is consider every observation to correct and improve.

Trying now to revenge this sort is "dishonest and mean".

But Maybe were you the cleanest of the dirtiest?

Best regards,
heinrich von hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

A boutique hotel with authentic old world charm but also warm comfort, Chateau de Grasse is in the heart of Le Bar-Sur-Loup. We stayed for two days and it was a terrific base to tour my favourite local villages of Grasse, Tourrettes-Sur-Loup, Mougins and Biot. The town itself has a few very good restaurants and is very picturesque (including a wonderful view).

There are only a few rooms in this hotel and it’s very quiet. There is an indoor shared lounge and also a bar with a shaded terrace. The bar is generally not operating as there are so few guests, but Henri, our host, was always there at a push of a bell to provide a glass of wine or answer any questions.

Our family suite on the third floor was spacious and beautifully decorated – with a large room for us and a smaller room for our son. We walked through his room to get to ours and there was no privacy door, but that was fine. Unfortunately, his room had no windows so it was quite warm in August (despite the electric fans provided). The bathroom was large with a separate area for the toilet which was nice ;)

You can choose the continental or full breakfast – we had the latter and it included a sort of made to order cooked breakfast and meats and cheeses with the continental fare of the typical croissants, fruit, yoghurt, etc.

I highly recommend this charming hotel – for the helpful host, the beautiful rooms, the outdoor terrace, the breakfasts and the location.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corvus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Chateau de Grasse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your pleasant comment, we are happy you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and in the area.
It's true it is a nice location to visit the little medieval villages around, it's a quiet place and we are lucky with the restaurants !
Because of the size of our establishment, we are just the 2 of us (with my wife Eva) taking care of the hotel, so we can't stay behind the bar, but as you said we are in the building (we are living inside) and if you don't see us in the public area, there are little bells to ring and we are at your disposal !

We really hope to welcome you again !

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The view from the rooms is exceptional, as well as for the breakfast. The service is excellent, the owner is passionate. The rooms are very large and nice. Very close from Grasse. There is also a room with games for children.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sopsopsopsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Chateau de Grasse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comment, we are happy to know all of you ( your family and friends) spent a nice stay in our establishment.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We booked three days either side of a wedding on The Riviera - and were not at all disappointed. Heinrich could not have been more obliging and helpful.

Le Bar is lovely and we did some serious walking up to Gourdon and back. On our return visit, we arrived as they were setting up for the annual Orange Festival, so trying to reach the hotel was 'interesting'! But the festival was great fun.

No restaurant at the hotel, but some excellent local restaurants - several of which we tried twice over ... no complaints, and a nice energetic walk (climb down and up again!) each time.

Would certainly return.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rjhfandclf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heinrich_Hirsch, Propriétaire at Chateau de Grasse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear guests,
THank you so much for your pleasant comment, we are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay here.
That is true, the walk to Gourdon is really something to do ! And for a small village as Bar sur Loup, we are lucky to have 3 nice restaurants (were we can go by feet !).
We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews