We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yvoy le Marron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stopped off again at the auberge, on our journey north. The rooms are comfortable and happy to say very warm. The food however is what we go for and it didn't disappoint, we both had seasonal game dishes, hare and partridge. Both were beautifully cooked and flavoursome, its really good to see classic homestyle dishes still being used, and certainly enjoyed. We finished our feast with a Grand Marnier Souffle which was outstanding, really good flavour and great texture, the chef really knows how to deliver a good souffle!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilesmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had the pleasure of staying one night at the Auberge du Cheval Blanc. The Danthu family are very welcoming and our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Behind the church is a small lake and park which is the perfect place to soak up some late summer sunshine with a book in the afternoon.
In the evening, we sat outside the inn with some sparkling Vouvray and canapés while choosing from the menu which was heavenly.
The highlight was our dinner in the lovely restaurant. The food and wine were fabulous and we couldn't fault the friendly and efficient service. Antoine Danthu spent some years in the kitchen at the Waterside Inn at Bray and his knowledge of local produce and his father's long career in French cooking combine to make dining here very special.
We are looking forward to returning.
Thank you to all at Cheval Blanc for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L&C.Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at this logis this month for one night and dined in their restaurant.It is one of the best value 29 euro menus that we have encountered in France and I would recommend both the restaurant and the rooms within the hotel for either an overnight stay or for a few days to explore the Loire Valley.The front of house is undertaken by the Patrons wife who performs her duties with humour and efficiency.

Room Tip: Rooms within the courtyard are quieter and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The restaurant and its menu are just amazing, the food is classic french "Terroir" and moderne, you can find a very good "terrine de gibier" (game paté) but also amazing dishes such as the Langoustine wrapped in brick with its roasted tomato sorbet, loved it! Dessert are also amazing, the young son and Second chef was trained at some of the best restaurant in the UK and the father has been in the industry for more than 20years of succesfull restaurants.
D'ont forget the cheese trolley....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ORIGET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Owners & staff delightful. Food choice & quality of cooking excellent. Prices sensible for the quality. Rooms clean, smart & comfortable, although double beds typically for France a bit small! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

we've been only to the testaurant- and we got there after we got good recomendatins. the food was terrible- i don't find any other way to say it. some of the dishes were uneatable- and usually we are very tolerant....the servise was also terrible. even thus we don't speak franch- and there were two waiters that spoke english- they persistently avoid our tabel, and only the franch speakers served us. and in the end- it was expensive expirience. maybe it was just our bad day- i don't know- but for us it was really bad....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shamgaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, and great for walking and exercising the dogs. We have two Dalmatians and we were all very much welcomed into the hotel.
The food is excellent, well thought out, and very tasty. I was even invited into the kitchen to let the chef know how much I had enjoyed my veal dinner.

I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaNManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yvoy le Marron
6.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids
Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids
#1 of 2 in La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
205 reviews
8.9 mi away
L'Oree des Chenes
L'Oree des Chenes
#2 of 2 in La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
325 reviews
16.8 mi away
Domaine de Valaudran
Domaine de Valaudran
#1 of 5 in Salbris
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Logis LE PARC SOLOGNE
Logis LE PARC SOLOGNE
#4 of 5 in Salbris
287 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel La Sauldraie
Hotel La Sauldraie
#2 of 5 in Salbris
210 reviews
13.1 mi away
Novotel Orleans La Source
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Cheval Blanc

Address: 1 Place du Cheval Blanc, 41600 Yvoy le Marron, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Yvoy le Marron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yvoy le Marron
Price Range: £83 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Cheval Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated, the interior design of our bedrooms is both romantic and refined. No stone has been left unturned in bringing you the very best in terms of practical comfort. In the cosy and subtly refined atmosphere of our restaurant, discover the flavours of Sologne, a region famous for hunting, game and mushrooms. Our chef's desire is to preserve the authentic taste and tradition in order to offer refined, convivial and tasty regional cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auberge du Cheval Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing