We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Brandois
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Mothe Achard
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great disappointment”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the exterior, the Domaine de Brandois is beautiful, in a lovely park setting. I also understand that the dining room has quite a reputation but as a hotel guest, I was very disappointed. My disappointed started with our arrival when there was no staff to be found. Lack of service remained a consistent problem throughout our stay and when staff finally appeared, you had the impression you were imposing on them. All the rooms are very small, 14 - 15 m2 (140 - 150 ft2) according to information collected on internet and this area seems to include the Salle d'eau (shower area) and WC. I made the mistake of requesting a lower-priced "comfort" room. This one was in the attic. To reach the attic on the 3rd floor (2nd in European terms), you must use a narrow, turning staircase in a small tower with no handrail. It is extremely difficult to navigate with baggage. The renovation of the interior of the hotel has been done on the cheap, such as the ugly, poorly installed handrail going up the beautiful marble staircase. Maintenance does not seem a priority given the loose tile in the entry hall and the poor condition of the wooden floors. Tripping hazards abound, doors to service areas are left open everywhere. It is obvious that the focus of management is on the restaurant and not on the hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is not on the 2nd floor (third floor by North American convention) as access is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    126
    33
    18
    10
See reviews for
51
211
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mothe Achard, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have stayed here several times and never been disappointed, rooms are clean and bedding in fantastic condition, a superb restaurant with great breakfast and is surrounded by very attractive countryside. If you like horses this is the place to go riding.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4x4Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The most crass example of a style over substance in a boutique hotel. I would not recommend it! The website is extremely deceptive. We were put in a cupboard room at the very top of the chateau which was probably originally used for storage - now ridiculously transformed into a room where banging your head on everything is unavoidable. Carpet on a concrete floor. No drawers and a tiny hanging space unit that had been inconveniently stuck on to the back of the bed. Added to this - everything is in an awkward place - eg; to get to the safe you need to get down on your hands and knees and stretch your arm around a cubby area which makes applying a combination number more or less impossible. The shower is incorporated into the bedroom with no form of privacy whatsoever. No one but young lovers would realistically want that would they? The window is the size of a magazine - and at a level which made the term 'garden view' an utter joke. The rooms were not properly cleaned and the hoover and cleaning trolley were left outside our door for a whole day. No lift - which I understand is normal in France but don't expect help from any of the staff in dragging your bags up two spiral staircases - they looked at my husband as though he was mad.
We complained about the room and they put us in another - which was a lot bigger and nicer - but the orange swirly detail was inexplicable! Someone's idea of style I suppose!
A beautiful chateau from the outside - in beautiful surroundings. What a shame to turn it over to people with so little taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel and each time I have enjoyed my visit. This hotel has everything, situation, welcoming and pleasant staff, a superb restaurant and is surrounded by very attractive countryside. If you like horses this is the place to go riding. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Also the sea and good beaches are nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Main Building or the Priory
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olipick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Me and my new fiance booked a nights stay here because we were travelling back to the UK and wanted to be near La Rochelle. I booked this one as it was out of the way and the main photo looked amazing but when we arrived we were shown to Butlins style accommodation out the back. No chateau or castle as seen on the website. VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED as main hotel looks beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel and book the restaurant before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a week's holiday at DdB close by to les Sables d'Olonne & not far from La Rochelle for about 85 € per night, which we thought was quite good value. The staff were friendly & helpful at all times. We stayed in the modern annexe in the grounds which means we enjoyed blissful peace & quiet and very pleasant views of the tranquil gardens. We only had one meal actually in the hotel (actually, outside on a warm pleasant evening), which was very nice if a little pricey. Main point is to debunk the idea that there weren't many alternatives in the area which we found in a previous review. Using Google, Trip Advisor and sat-nav, we found a sufficient number of alternatives to go somewhere new/ different & really good every night. Overall, we would have no hesitation to recommend this comfortable, well-run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekJones330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton AB
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were pleasantly greeted by one of the staff members. He assisted us with tips on sites and places to visit during our stay. The place is beautiful both inside and out. The pool was wonderful and beautifully located. The beds amd pillows were wonderful and we slept very well. It's a quiet location, but close to Les Sables D'Olonne. Also, if you are visiting during Bastille day, you could easily see the fireworks at Les Sables from Chamber 11 (our suite)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mothe Achard
20.9 mi away
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
Hotel Thierry Drapeau
#1 of 1 in Saint-Sulpice-le-Verdon
164 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
918 reviews
11.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Vendee Mer
Brit Hotel Vendee Mer
#2 of 2 in La Mothe Achard
31 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
Mercure La Roche Sur Yon Centre
#1 of 15 in La Roche-sur-Yon
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Brandois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Brandois

Property: Domaine de Brandois
Address: Allee du Brandois | Les Achards, 85150 La Mothe Achard, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > La Mothe Achard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Mothe Achard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Brandois 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Brandois ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine de Brandois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing