We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view.”
Review of Hotel Le Bussy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Bussy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montsoreau
Certificate of Excellence
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
343 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A room with a view.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel Le Bussy will remain in our memory for the incredible streets to get there and the view when you do! When we arrived, the message board on the front desk advised whom to call during certain hours...we'd had some experience with the lunch break taken by small business owners but were somewhat surprised to find it at hotel. The receptionist arrived in short order and checked us in. We hauled our bags up the 3 flights of tiny twisting stairs to find a pleasant room with a wonderful view of the castle and the Loire River. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean...shower was great. The car park was not available due to construction vehicles in the area so we found a place on the street to park. The 'trogdolyte' breakfast nook was interesting and breakfast was excellent with good bread and homemade jam, jelly and marmalade. Perhaps due to the season or the construction, the terrace was not available. The lady at the front desk recommended a couple of restaurants, both of which we enjoyed during our stay. Overall, a pleasant place to stay while in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    52
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Had a lovely room, overlooking the Chateau and the Loire. The terrace restaurant was closed when we stayed but we had eaten there prior to staying and can say that it was magical. Overall a great hotel, there was a slight end of season fatigue feeling from the owners that was a shame. Would stay again though.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu_h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We are a family of 6 and were travelling in France by car. We booked the hotel to serve as a central point for the visits to the chateauxs. When we got there there was a very pleasant surprise. The rooms are confortable, the vie to the castle it's beatifull and in general the terms the hotel was very nice. The outside restaurant it's not great but the situation it's amazing.
Great place to relax after a day visiting the Loire castles and chateauxs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNSLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I decided to' book one night at this hotel after having read the reviews on tripadvisor. And it was a really good choice. The family room was big, clean and elegant. The bathroom was good. The view was incredible. And i will not forge t the sunshine in montsoreau. we had dinner in a restaurant on a boat near the hotel: it was good and the place on the loire was reali nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alirerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This hotel is probably in one of the most delightful locations with stunning views over the chateau and river Loire....but you need a front facing room to see it from the bedroom!
If you travel when weather is not so warm be careful to take a coat with you to eat as evening meal (very limited menu) are only served on the terrace (a beautiful location but not always suitable!). The hotel only has facilities to serve breakfast inside (the part of the building carved out of the rocks, like a cave)
The room we had first floor front was lovely. Not so sure about others in less visible parts of hotel.
Staff friendly, particularly lady owner(?) but the hotel needs investment to tidy up terrace and gardens. It could be so much better with some repairs and updating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borderievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I recently booked a last-minute short break (4 nights) for my husband, sister and I. Le Bussy had two suitable rooms available, at a reasonable price and the photos on the website looked lovely.
We were pleased to find the rooms and views as pretty as we expected, the garden looking over Montsoreau chateau is lovely, assuming the weather holds!
We were well looked after by the owners and also by Laurent, working in the outdoor restaurant.
I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

If you are looking for an authentic French experience in a location that makes you feel like you are part of an Alexander Dumas novel, then Hotel Le Bussy is the place for you. No it doesn't have a spa and it is not chic, but it's clean, comfortable, authentically French and it has one of the best locations on the Loire, at less than half the price of the competition. Our room overlooked the castle and was nothing less than spectacular. For 90 Euros a night, I don't know how you could possibly ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggielacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montsoreau
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Demeure de la Vignole
Demeure de la Vignole
#1 of 1 in Turquant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Domaine de Mestre
Le Domaine de Mestre
#3 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
17.0 mi away
Rocaminori Hotel
Rocaminori Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louresse-Rochemenier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bussy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bussy

Property: Hotel Le Bussy
Address: 4 rue Jehanne D Arc, 49730 Montsoreau, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Montsoreau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montsoreau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bussy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Bussy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Bussy Montsoreau, Pays De La Loire, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing