We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place and fabulous hospitality”
Review of Les Rochers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Rochers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Savin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a great place from which to enjoy the Pyrenees. The strength of this hotel are the proprietors, John and Jane who go to great lengths to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. The charges are reasonable and include dinner and breakfast. John is a very good cook and we really enjoyed the meals. We stayed here for five nights during the time of the major floods (June 2013) and when it became obvious we could ride our bikes no longer they were kind enough to come up with some great suggestions for alternative sights. No request was too much trouble. The rooms, indeed the entire hotel was clean and very comfortable. The accommodation is not high end but it would miss the point of why you visit here to look for a five star resort in this area. The little village of Saint Savin is picturesque and its charms grew on me more and more with every day. We ended up extending our stay here from three to five nights and I would love to go back and stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great stay. The rooms were clean, tidy and up to date. The hosts, John and Jane, were both lovely and very accommodating. We ate dinner there two nights and the food was so good!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennyt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived in this picturesque village and found our way through narrow roads to the hotel and was happy to hear someone speaking our mother tongue after days of having to translate everything, the hotel, environs and food were all French in manner but still it was nice not to have to think and talk.
Our room was adequate in size, decorated lovely, clean with a good en-suite and lovely views over the mountains.
There was plenty to keep us occupied, walking around the village and admiring the views for the night we were there.
Dinner was delicious, thank you Delia, and plentiful I was very stuffed and for breakfast it was delight to have proper tea, thanks.
The owners were lovely, friendly and helpful and my husband was happy as he had secure storage for his bike for the night

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We found this hotel to be clean and well run. Free parking, too. Easy to find, also, something to be appreciated in French cities. The problem was the food, just inedible, with the unmistakable flavor of very old freezer burn. Breakfast was skimpy but OK.
Just a block away is an excellent restaurant, Les Viscos. Free parking there, too.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Esjaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesRochers, Manager at Les Rochers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We strongly refute any allegations that our food would suffer 'freezer burn', we pride ourselves on our home cooked and very fresh food.
For a balanced and fair view please check out our other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

and it's cooked by an Englishman. I stayed in Les Rochers by chance, not having seen the reviews on Trip Advisor, and soon realised how lucky I had been. The setting is undoubtedly lovely, the rooms are clean, well-equipped, and attractive, but it is the commitment of the owners to their hotel that is most striking - and most evident in the excellent food. Add to that the very reasonable price, and the beauty of the area, and Les Rochers has leapt into my top five hotels in France!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

I spent four nights at Les Rochers this past week, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and while they may not be elegant, that's not high on my list of priorities. What was fantastic was the location in the Pyrenees foothills in a wonderfully preserved small village, with easy access to many forms of outdoor recreation; I'm my case, cycling venues that are incomparable. Having a half dozen spectacular Tour de France climbs within an hour's ride just can't be beaten...

Add to this the warm and friendly hosts, and excellent food in the restaurant, and you have a great combination! I can't wait to return with friends to share the riding with...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A family run hotel + restaurant; it is a very relaxed and pleasant stay. We stayed for 2 nights and the room was good size & comfortable, with bath and separate toilet. WiFi was free and worked well inside the room. Our room faced the hill but can still see the church from the side. The church bell does ring till around 9pm and from 6am (I think), but it’s nice and don’t bother us. The host, John & Jane were both friendly and treated us like their friends as soon as we arrived! There’s a different set dinner menu each day where you can see in the morning. We arrived just before dinner time and they have no problem to accommodate us. The meal, cooked by John, was just lovely and yummy that we didn’t hesitate to dine with them the next night. While the menu was pretty much set, they’re flexible as well if you don’t like or eat something. Good recommendation about wine and there’re books/ board games etc available in their well decorated/designed living/dining room. Oh, and FiFi, the hotel cat, is another gem!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddyb-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Savin
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
#3 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
113 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Grange aux Marmottes
0.1 mi away
Le Viscos
Le Viscos
#1 of 2 in Saint-Savin
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Bois Joli
Le Bois Joli
#5 of 8 in Cauterets
84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel De France
Grand Hotel De France
#3 of 3 in Pierrefitte Nestalas
121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#5 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rochers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rochers Hotel

Address: 1 Place du Castillou, 65400 Saint-Savin, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Saint-Savin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Savin
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Rochers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a jewel...Hotel Les Rochers is nestled in the beautiful Pyrenean mountain village of St Savin, surrounded by spectacular unspoiled scenery. Visit our small family-run hotel and restaurant and you’ll discover a captivating area to explore with year round activities a plenty. Enjoy delicious food and wines in our restaurant with panoramic mountain views, relax in our charming and stylish hotel and experience friendly service and an intimate atmosphere. You’ll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Les Rochers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing