We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Haute Pyrenees”
Review of Les Rochers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Rochers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Savin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place to stay in Haute Pyrenees”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

John and Jane Kirk are to be commended for running such a friendly and delightful small hotel in this simply gorgeous village of St Savin, only 20 minutes drive south from Lourdes. Nothing is too much trouble as they open up their home to those who stay. The beauty of St Savin is that it is a little off the beaten track. The hotel is cosy and has the feel of a country house hotel but without being pretentious. Rooms are well appointed, breakfasts are much better than the average fare in France and dinner is cooked using fresh ingredients sourced locally by John Kirk who has built up a considerable repertoire of delicious meals. The locals visit and repeat customers are becoming the norm. I will be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    20
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
60
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

well worth finding thanks to sat nav friendly recption on arrival room was not to big but well presented and immaculately clean.
dinner is a set menu wellcooked well served but would of liked a choice breakfast no faults
would not hesitate in recommending or indeed visit again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
248 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We have expectations of 2 star hotels and this hotel exceeded them. We only found it by accident - using a map, not the GPS - and stopped in the village to stretch the legs. The hotel has excellent lounge areas, plenty of reading, games and toys for children. Outside areas are sheltered, tidy and inviting. The dining room is spacious, tables are set with real linen. WiFi available but works best in the lounge. Bedroom was a good size, the bed was excellent and the bathroom and shower much better than other 2 stars we have stayed at. Monsieur John provides a simple yet delicious menu each evening for 22E. A good continental breakfast costs 7.50E. The hosts, John and Jane, are courteous, helpful and provide a very high standard of service. Why not 5 stars? We had an issue with a limp, collapsed pillow, the TV that didn't work and a small housekeeping matter that we resolved with our hosts. Minor issues really when the overall standard is taken into account.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for 6 nights over a ten day period in late June 2013, coming and going between walks in the Pyrenees. Very pleasant rooms and most beautiful outlook. Able to leave gear during our absences which was a great help. Food was really excellent - fresh, varied, well cooked. John and Jane were great hosts and we felt very well looked after. Highly recommended as a base for walking and cycling in the heart of the Pyrenees. Never found the church bell to be a problem! Liz & Peter, Melbourne

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is situated in the lovely village of Saint-Savin with its interesting buildings and church and great views. The public rooms are attractive and our bedroom was clean and comfortable. You can eat in the hotel or in nearby Le Viscos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdiScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed at hotel round corner felt out of place and uncomfortable. Stumbled across Les Rochers one night and wish we had booked there.Spent 3 nights there in the company of John and Jane the hotel owners.Fantastic people great food and drink also called in one morning for a very welcoming full english breakfast which we were finding very hard to come by.During our visits we were made to feel like we were long lost friends. Recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We already had a reservation at another hotel but enjoyed fine hospitality from John and Jane over dinner, breakfast and multiple coffees. The food was fresh and beautifully cooked and very good value. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere with great communal facilities, which was lacking at our hotel. Saint Savin is a very pretty village. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Savin
0.1 mi away
Le Viscos
Le Viscos
#1 of 2 in Saint Savin
113 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Grange aux Marmottes
1.9 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 3 in Pierrefitte Nestalas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Hotel du Lion d'Or
#1 of 8 in Cauterets
202 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Chez Pierre d'Agos
0.8 mi away
Auberge Le Cabaliros
Auberge Le Cabaliros
#1 of 1 in Arcizans-Avant
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rochers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rochers Hotel

Property: Les Rochers Hotel
Address: 1 Place du Castillou, 65400 Saint Savin, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Saint Savin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Savin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Rochers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a jewel...Hotel Les Rochers is nestled in the beautiful Pyrenean mountain village of St Savin, surrounded by spectacular unspoiled scenery. Visit our small family-run hotel and restaurant and you’ll discover a captivating area to explore with year round activities a plenty. Enjoy delicious food and wines in our restaurant with panoramic mountain views, relax in our charming and stylish hotel and experience friendly service and an intimate atmosphere. You’ll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Les Rochers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing