We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonfderful...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonfderful...”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The place was very nice, rooms unique and comfortable, staff very professional and kind and the meals - suberb!!! We had a nice afternoon next to the pool, a wonderful 4 course dinner - which in fact and in the end was a 7 course dinner with delicious and suitable wines recommended by the house - and a very good and special breakfast with homemade all kind of things you can think about.

Six star experience for us - please visit this place, have a dinner and you'll never forget it.

Sirpa and Kari Puronaho from Finland

Room Tip: Take a room with pool and garden view, enjoy a dinner and their marvellous wines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kari_puronaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    26
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
15
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The hotel had nice reasonably priced rooms, a heated swimming pool and an amazing terrace overlooking the garden for meals. There are flowers everywhere, it's really beautiful especially by candlelight in the evening. The service is excellent throughout and the whole staff is very welcoming. There are different priced menus for all budgets and the lunch-time menu is great value. The chef Thierry will sometimes come out to greet you on the terrace in the evening and even share his recipes with you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Received 2 night Cheque Cadeau present within Relais et Chateax collection and chose to stay there - inspired decision! A bit out of our way and the pictures on the website looked a bit of a fantasy but worth it, the reality does match up. Style laid back - had to go looking for someone to check-in but our welcome by Thierry who came to reception was friendly, efficient and helpful and the room we were shown into was spacious, attractive with bathroom and toilet concealed behind doors shelved as bookcases. No lift but only 1 floor up. Bed comfortable - only downside no air-con but there was a fan in the room which we used. The grounds are well laid out to cater for children not just adults with play areas as well as table tennis, tennis court and swimming pool where we chilled out for the intervening day. Car parking within hotel grounds.

We would love to return in the autumn/winter as the public rooms looked really comfortable but we really only passed through them. Not sure what to do in the area round and about though.

A key factor in choosing the Hostellerie was that it mentioned its chef (not that we knew his name) in the guidebook which we took to be a good sign food-wise. We dined off the residents' menu - 6 entrees, 6 mains and 6 deserts (+ cheese course and coffee) so plenty of choice - and several intervening tasters, amuse-bouche whatever! And a different wine with every course. The food itself was absolutely wonderful - arguably the best meals my wife and I have ever eaten anywhere (the same Thierry is the chef). First night we were candle-lit on the terrace the second inside as a thunderstorm was looming. Both beautiful settings and the service was as good as the food, plus friendly and unfussy. Breakfast very smartly presented and baking also done on the premises. So much to eat that we missed out lunch to ensure we could do justice to dinner on the second night!

Everything about the hotel was pleasing but the food was exceptional - if you'rea foodie then go!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoury27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

We spent 3 nights in this lovely cute Hotel in September.
We stayed in room 23 (1ère catégorie) which was very big (35m²) and beautifully decorated in red colours nad gad nice view overlooking the garden and the village. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a sitting area with 2 sofas, 2 tables and chairs.
The restaurant in the Hotel in simply wonderful!!!
We had 3 absolutely delicious dinners in the lovely restaurant. The dining room is very cosy with great atmosphere and in nice days one can sit in the garden outside - beautiful.
The restaurant is recommended in the Chateaux-Hotels Guide, and I can only agree with this. If you are in the area - don't miss a dinner there.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345Haifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
12.1 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
357 reviews
7.6 mi away
Logis Les Voyageurs
Logis Les Voyageurs
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
49 reviews
15.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
438 reviews
19.8 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
403 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pelisson
Grand Hotel Pelisson
#1 of 4 in Nontron
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint-Jacques

Property: Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
Address: Le Bourg, 24470 Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques Hotel Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing