We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel in a room which had rather over-the-top decor- all in silver but very comfortable. The food was extemely good - superb on our second night. The last night was a little less good - a dish of sweetbreads was not properly prepared - we suspect the chef was away from the stove after a busy lunchtime service. However it was idyllic to sit gazing out at the garden flowers and most dishes were perfect. We particularly liked the fact that a generous two glasses of wine, a Kir, and coffee were include in the very reasonable ptice. We shall go back!

Room Tip: The decor is very striking - ask to see several rooms if you can! The silver room with bathrooms con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janettat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

To celebrate a special birthday we decided to stay at the Hostellerie. We had stayed there for 2 nights last year and new it was good. We weren't disappointed. We were welcomed with a glass of chapagne and shown to our romm. The room was fab, silver and glittery. The dinner was superb, not quite Michelin star quality yet but it must be getting close. But not Michelin star prices for Dinner. Depending on the menu you choose the number of courses can vary, but the one thing gauranteed is that you will be well fed and full of some of the best food in the Perigord Vert. The bed was extremely comfortable and after a good sleep we faced another assault on our taste buds when we had breakfast. There is some cereal, fruit, cheese and ham but these are just the warm up act for the real stars. The selection of pastries and cakes presented to you are delicious and very moreish. The staff were all very friendly and the owners were the perfect hosts. We will be back once we have worked off the dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but dined here on a Saturday evening as a party of 4 including my brother and his wife who live permanently in France nearby and who have visited the restaurant several times previously. This was our first visit and will not be our last! We were warmly greeted in reception and shown through to our table in the elegant dining room and quickly served with drinks to enjoy whilst looking at the menu. There is also a delightful outside dining area used in warmer weather.There are a la carte and tapas menus but we all chose from the 3 course fixed price menu which, at Euro 39, represents excellent value given the quality of the food on offer, the extra dishes provided between courses and the drinks included with each course, topped up regularly.
The menu offers a good choice.Quality and presentation of the food was excellent and the service pleasant and attentive. This restaurant is worth going out of your way to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Please see my blog post about this fabulous restaurant: http://passionatefood.typepad.com/

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Very pleasant service with an even better food during lunch and dinner.
If in this region (100km or less) it is more than worth the trip to enjoy a serious French lunch. And then stay for the rest of the day in their garden, hotel, room to enjoy also their dinner :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The hotel is situated in a delightful small village. It is well appointed and has a lovely terrace and pool for summer months. The welcome was warm and our room, although a little dated in decor, was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Dinner in the restaurant was quite an experience. The setting and candle lit atmosphere were very pleasant, the menu interesting, the food delicious, and the service very attentive. The surprise was the presentation of the dishes and little extras between courses and at the end of the meal, all of which was a little over the top! That did not detract from the quality of the meal, but they were trying too hard to be clever and different. Breakfast was the same - good quality but I have never seen so many different pieces of unusual crockery and different dishes at breakfast. Nevertheless, staying here was a very pleasant experience and trying too hard to please is hardly a reason for complaint.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We really weren't sure what to expect and probably didn't have very high expectations for our stay. Our stopover here turned out to be a highlight. The food was sensational as was the service and beautiful setting. We would love to return and regretted only being there for one night. Fabulous!

Mark
Geelong, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
12.1 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
397 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
472 reviews
19.8 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Logis Les Voyageurs
Logis Les Voyageurs
#1 of 1 in La Coquille
55 reviews
15.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
242 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Pelisson
Grand Hotel Pelisson
#1 of 4 in Nontron
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint-Jacques

Address: Le Bourg, 24470 Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint-Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie Saint-Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint-Jacques Hotel Saint-Saud-Lacoussiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing