We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous honeymoon hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine du Colombier
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malataverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We travelled through france on our honeymoon, starting in paris, then to Domaine du Colombier for 3 nights, before moving down to the south coast.

This was a fabulous find! The hotel was recommended in the Sunday Times at the time when we were looking at honeymoon options - what good timing.

We found it a little difficult to find as the address we put into the satnav from the booking form didn't actually take us to the right village, but once we found it, we were not disappointed.

We ate in the hotel the first evening - the food was amazing! The other days we chose to eat out in the villages we were visiting and just took baguette, cheese and wine (or similar) to enjoy in our suite in the evenings. This hotel is in a great location for days out - driving past the many vineyards & lavender fields to very picturesque & historic villages.

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. The suite was large, well cleaned and very comfortable.

Shame we had such big thunder storms whilst we were there, as they prevented us from enjoying the outdoor pool (which was not heated) or having an evening stroll in the grounds. But did provide us with a excuse to be lazy and enjoy the relaxation.

I'd love to return!

Room Tip: I think this would have been an even more special place to stay in the height of the summer when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Hels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very disappointing stay for one night. The price of a superior room meant we opted for a standard room this time which although small was beautifully decorated. BUT the bathroom was just awful with everything either broken or missing. The shower was immaculate except there were over 100 (yes, I'm sorry but I was so appalled that I actually counted them - twice!) mosaic tiles missing on the shower floor with a large crack in the exposed cement as well. Good toiletries but no bottle opener for the freebie bottle of sparkling water! And a snooty maitre d' in the restaurant who turned his back on me while I was still discussing our choice of wine with him. ( A change of staff from our last visits when they were all incredibly nice) Wines were pricey - a glass of champagne for 16 euros is unusual... We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom before you unpack and pay for no. 12 if you don't mind the cost - it has a te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chopsueyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Building is nice, and food very good.

So a pity that the service (reception, restaurant, room) is terrible. We are staying in hotels very often, but the Domaine du Colombier has the most awful service I have ever experienced.

Receptionists and waiters (inclduing sommelier) are anywhere between completely blasé, incompetent and arrogant. I had thought that this unconcerned French attiturde that once was quite widespread had meanwhile disappeared, but unfortunately not in the Domaine du Colombier.

Extremely unpleasent expereicne, will never go there anymore.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I'm so sad to have to write in these terms about this beautiful place. We made a reservation through Booking, asked for a superior room insisting on we are a couple with a 3 year old child- so we needed an extra bed, or a king size bed as the child can sleep with us.- We never got an answer about our request before our arrival, just "a terrace room is confirmed for you". We were given a tiny room with many stairs and a tiny double bed and a baby cot. The person at the recepcion did not know how to solve the problem. She showed us another shabby and stuffy room with an old, dark and smelly carpet. The bathroom was not have been cleaned for weeks. We insisted her to call the owner and she finally did it. They finally located us in another room that "it was not available at first" but we got it after a long discussion. It was late, it was raining, we were so tired after driving for a long. To be honest, this junior suite -number 10,- was nice, and they offered it at the same price than booked. (Though It was too close to the kitchen and it was very noisy and hot).
Dinner was expensive and no so special, although many courses were offered at 53€ -with a choice of meat or fish,- or 63€- with two main courses, meat and fish.- Staff was young, but they never smiled, and did'nt know a word about the fish or the cheeses they were serving.
Breakfast was the worst experience ever. Served at the table, on hour and 30' for some bad pastries and jams and two pieces of average cheese, and while the guests were leaving they took the food left from the tables and put the same food on the table for the new guests. I could see them doing this with the preserved plums and apricots concretely.
The garden could have been beautiful, but the pool area was so untidy, with all those cushions and furniture getting wet under the heavy rain, no one to pick them up.
We were said "goodbay" without just a smile in two days and we were happy to leave the place.
The area is nothing special, with many factories in the nearby, and too far away from all the beautiful villages -as Montèlimar or Grignan.-
If you have to sleep in the area, please avoid this place and try the nice Moulin of Valaurie or the wonderful Le Claire de la Plume in Grignan.
I must admit -to finish- that the building and the restoration are magnificent. Maybe they are mainly orientated to business and big events. Or maybe It's just another case of bad management. I don't mind, I have no intention to go back there never more.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a re confirmation of your special requests before your arrival-if you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeggySue2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had the chance to stay and eat a few times at Domaine du Colombier between February and May 2012. As a few reviews already mentioned, the restaurant is just fabulous! From beginning (starters) to end (desserts), there is absolutely nothing to complain: Quality, cooking time (meat and fish!), creativity, decoration, taste (of course), quantities, I will rate 10/10. It is just perfect. Wine list is also great with a very large collection of local wines but also excellent French wines from other regions. Rooms are very nice and fresh, well decorated in Provence' style with nice bathrooms. Most of them, if not all of them, are recently renovated. The surroundings, private park and swimming pool areas are very nice to rest.
My only average rating will be for the service, as it is quite inconsistent. Some very good experience and some less… There as been a certain turnover in the staff during the last months and some staff members were quite junior and lack experience. Also the service in the room was not totally perfect. But overall, the global experience is very positive and I will definitively recommend this place for a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

A delightful comfortable place to spend a few days in this pretty part of France. The grounds are very pretty with a great pool. We had a very nice room but it was very small and noisy because of the tiled hall floors. I would suggest requesting rooms at the very ends of the hallways and one of their larger rooms. The bathroom was extremely nice with very modern fixtures.
The lobby area was lovely and the staff very professional and helpful.
The star of the hotel, however, is the excellent restaurant. The food was perfection--beautifully prepared--beautifully served.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malataverne
1.1 mi away
Le Tresor des Templiers
Le Tresor des Templiers
#2 of 2 in Malataverne
102 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
631 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
8.6 mi away
Villa Augusta
Villa Augusta
#1 of 2 in Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux
304 reviews
9.0 mi away
Manoir de la Roseraie
Manoir de la Roseraie
#2 of 7 in Grignan
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Colombier

Address: 270 Chemin de Malombre | Malataverne - Montélimar sud, 26780 Malataverne, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Malataverne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Malataverne
Price Range: £108 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine du Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domaine du Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Colombier Malataverne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing