We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way a 4 * - air con didn't work, manager incredibly rude.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No way a 4 * - air con didn't work, manager incredibly rude.”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel does not match up to expectations as a 4 star, its a poor 3 star at best. The rooms are ok although not that much better than a Travelodge, and the air con didn't work, which was a real problem during the evening and nighttime. After messing up the reservation of one of our party, the receptionist booked a room at another local hotel, but tried to charge over 3 times the original agreed rate - very cheeky. After some discussion about this, they relented but then two separate members of staff told us that in fact there was availability at the Dioscuri after all. Following more discussion - they were very rude and clearly reluctant to help, the manager got involved and blatantly lied and said there were no rooms available. It was clear to everyone he was lying, even the staff looked embarassed and sheepish. The following day, during a discussion about rates and party numbers, the manager shouted in the face of one of our party- totally unacceptable under any circumstances. Whilst during our stay some of the staff members seemed to lighten up and become more friendly and helpful, the manager continued to march around the place giving off a very unwelcome vibe - completely unprofessional.

Breakfast is dreadful, and whilst one would expect different foods in different countries, the standard of what was served is in no way 4 star. Comparable to a 2 star.

In summary, I would agree with previous reviews that this hotel is very much set up to cater only for locals/ Italians in terms of the level of service that is on offer - we certainly didn't feel we were looked after or even very welcome. Considering this is a 4 star, with the rudeness, lying, lack of air con, and poor standard breakfast we experienced, we were very disappointed and would rate this hotel as 2 star.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NIFSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    191
    176
    72
    33
See reviews for
109
249
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Good service - very friendly and helpfull staff - Great location - Great pool - Free parking space

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun123188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I always read these reviews and wonder whether people are just being fussy or whether the hotels are really that bad...so in short this place was fine, but don't expect 4* standard. It may have been very grand 30 years ago, but not now....it feels dated and the breakfast is basically cornflakes and crackers. On the plus side however, the rooms are clean and a good size and its a great location for the Valley of the Temples. The pool is also nice, although on one day of our stay a wedding was being held around the pool...it felt a bit strange and if I was the bride I wouldn't have been too impressed with my wedding pictures having random holidaymakers in bikinis in the background!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireClapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westampton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Near the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento. Close to restaurants on the water and nice pool to relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

In the early season it was not too easy to find a place close to the sea in agrigento so we decided to stay in Dioscuri Bay. The prices would have been ok if the hotel had 4 stars but in this case we found them too high. The house in certainly on its decline. It would need some paint and re-furbushing. The room was extremely small- hardly place to open your suitcase. It was clean however.
The atmosphere was low standard package tourism- rather cold. Breakfast was not too bad- but agin the atmosphere of the room cheap cafeteria like. If it had 3 stars I would say average- but for 4 it certainly was poor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Filuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Leone hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Advertised as a high end 4 star hotel, we were looking forward to our 7 nights stay.............however once we had checked in we found the room to be about the standard of a Travelodge at several times the cost!!
If I pay £120 Euros a night for a room, I expect some relatively good standards. The room was sea facing albeit with the view 50% blocked by trees, two people could not pass each other in the room, there was about 3 feet between the end of the bed & the TV table............everything was extra, Wi Fi, satellite television.....................the lift stuck on several occasions so we walked a lot.

The bathroom was okay but very pokey, again two people could not use the bathroon at the same time.

Staff were pleasant, but always seemed to be outside the front smoking!!!

Breakfast was the only meal we had in the hotel, and it was good with a selection of meats, fruit & cereals. It did take a bit to get a couple of poached eggs done however, seems to be outside their comfort zone.

We decided to cut short our stay & head off elsewhere after two nights.......................

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timjoe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2010

the views are great, the staff are very helpful and friendly, except to the English. Dont leave anything in your room you dont want the cleaners to have a good nosy through and the owner walks around like a camp commandant. NOT GOOD.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteandjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blu Hotel Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
1,046 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Property: Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Address: Lungomare Falcone E Borsellino 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing