We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Bristol
Level Contributor
298 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed for one night only on a VJV tour of Sicily.
If this was a Best Western, I'd hate to think what a Worst Western would be like.
Paper thin walls, short bed, far from clean floor, only bathroom toiletry was soap, an attractive view over the nearby filling station.
Very average breakfast with no fresh juice, scrambled egg only just warm, awful coffee
The bar, allegedly open to 11pm was closed when we returned from an evening meal at 10.45

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GasheadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    175
    166
    67
    29
See reviews for
98
235
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

As part of a tour group we spent two nights at this clean, modern hotel. Upstairs rooms facing the bay have a nice view. Our group meal and breakfast buffet were both good. Internet access was provided at no additional charge. While our other overnight stays were in the city that we were visiting, this hotel is not in town and therefore somewhat remote. No problem for me as I enjoyed the views, As the hotel selection was part of the tour cost, I can't address the value aspect of the hotel stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Apparently quite new when I stayed Sept.2013. Beautiful pool, patio, and dining hall overlooking the water and good sunsets. Rooms modern and comfortable. The only caveat is that the walls are paper-thin; even ordinary conversations in the next rooms can be heard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phys406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,000 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Nice large rooms facing the water, and a great, large pool right on the coast. A group dinner was very well done.
Easy to walk down the street along the sea. Agrigento temples are not far away. This was a good base to see the local sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Fabulous hotel. Rooms were clean and very comfortable and everything worked - even internet access was great. Our room with a balcony overlooked the pool and the Med - perfect. Two aspects let it down - one was a television blasting noise late at night (poor room insulation) and the other, quite unforgivable, access to the pool toilets. I was directed by two members of staff to go down a tube-like corridor, down filthy steps caked with dirt littered with dead cockroaches. The toilets smelled very bad and there were no lights, well none that I could find anyway. Quite disgraceful and lopped off the fifth star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a tour towards the end of Oct. 2013. We were alocated a room which overlooked an extension to the hoted which was unfinished. The cement mixer and unfurnished new block clearly implied work in progress. We changed rooms and were given a room facing the harbour at the front of the hotel. This was more promising despite lacking privacy as the balcony was on full view of incoming coaches and visitors to the main entrance. There were several coach tours staying at the hotel and to accomodate the volume of people, we were all corralled into one large dining area separate to the main hotel. Although decorated nicely we soon realised we were being treated differently than other guests inside the main hotel. The food was not the same as the hotel menu. There was almost no choice.It was extremely bland, served almost cold and inexpensively budgeted. Many of the wines on the list were unavailable. The service was poor, the staff impolite and poorly trained. Several members on our trip abandoned dinner altogether after the first night and ate out locally. They did not miss anything.Our experience was marred further after dinner on the second night when we discoverd the loss of a substantial amount of cash from my wallet which had some how found its way under the centre of the table, all intact minus the cash. There was no support from the hotel made directly to us.We will not be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Leone hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in early October 2013. The room we were allocated was nice, a decent size, well decorated, with a good bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the coach and car park, with a distant view of the sea. Pleasant in the evenings once the coaches had stopped coming and going. The hotel is near the sea and harbour. The hotel had a large outdoor swimming pool which was never too full when we were there. So far, so good.
However, the Restaurant was awful. The main courses were quite terrible. On one night we had shoe leather disguised as beef. (Anyone remember the film "The Gold Rush?) On the next night we had rubber disguised as chicken. To get a wine list we had to ask.....and the waiter we asked had to ask someone else, who did not know. Eventually, (domani/avrio/manana) another waiter arrived without a list, and suggested that we should have house wine. red or white. When it came it was OK, but what sort of "four star" hotel operates without a wine list?
So, a good hotel, with an awful restaurant. Eat out if you want to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
2.1 mi away
Blu Hotel Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos
#6 of 25 in Agrigento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Property: Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Address: Lungomare Falcone E Borsellino 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing