We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience in Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience in Sicily”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here one night and was traveling as part of a tour group. There was no air conditioning in my room, but the front desk staff went out of their way to transfer me to a room with working AC. I was lucky to be situated next to someone who did not make much noise, as there is no sound proofing between rooms. The hotel is near the water, and there is a small beach nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freude1joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    189
    175
    71
    33
See reviews for
108
247
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spacious, clean and comfortable but very clinical and not particularly welcoming room with a balcony and no outlook. Good outside bar and pool area. Staff very polite and helpful. Location good, at the end of the promanade so it was easy to walk out in the evening to find a restaurant/bar to eat. Breakfast basic but OK. Would I return? Yes. But BEWARE the lifts!!! The doors are quick and vicious!

Room Tip: Look towards the Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here in early May as paert of a group visiting Agrigento. Sadly it didn't really work. This is a bit of a barn of a place. While the rooms are a good size there is absolutely no sound proofing so I could hear everything that was going on in the neighbouring rooms. The food was average hotel fare, so all in all pretty disappointing. A saving grace is the terrace and outdoor pool, although I never had the chance to use it.
Adjacent to the hotel is a little seaside town with a few restaurants, some fellow guests reported back favourably on one of these.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Leone hotels

Englishwoman Abroad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The bedroom was large and clean,with a balcony and the hotel is well situated for visiting the temples.
However,the public areas of the hotel are very odd. There is a cavernous bar area with a large glass dome which is covered up with tarpaulins, giving a subterranean feel ,and there are a few sofas and chairs dotted about ,rather like a furniture shop. On the walls there is an eclectic mix of paintings ,including one of a man being handcuffed by riot police!
We had to wait ages to be served with drinks by bored staff .
The outside areas of the hotel were a bit scruffy with weedy flowerbeds and the pool area was uninviting.




The food was edible but not good. At the entrance to the hotel is a petrol station with a cafe and bar attached which served really excellent food and drinks,with attentive staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w.mids
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

According to our tour company, with which we stayed in this hotel for three nights, every room boasts a balcony or a terrace...and this was true, although our balcony was constantly in shade and had no furniture as you would not want to sit and admire the wall and electricity cables that it looked out on.This seems to be the luck of the draw as others paying the same price got seaviews!

The room itself seemed fine apart from some really uncomfortable, overstuffed pillows made from foam rubber pieces..thought they had gone out with the ark!

The second night, I realised what other reviewers had meant about noise from adjoining rooms; it sounded as though the people in the bathroom above us were going to join us as the noise of running water and their talking was so loud.Later in the evening, they kind of joined us when the water from their bath started dripping through our bathroom ceiling.This had obviously happened before judging by the state of the coving in the bathroom, although when we reported it to reception, it did not reoccur the next night
.
Credit for comfy beds and free wi-fi.

Food; the choice and quality of food at breakfast was very poor and the orange juice was terrible. The evening meal gave you a choice to two starters and main courses and one pudding; quality also very poor and waiters style was "harrassed" . The hotel seems very geared to coachtours like the one that we were on and maybe they need to up the unit rate they pay.

Location; San Leone has a basic harbour and beaches with facilities largely for local holidaymakers, there are no shops to make simple purchases e.g. water near to the hotel and some of the shops are shut and quite run-down.

Overall; the location near the valley of the temples and other sites we were visiting made it tolerable but was very happy to move on. Hard to see how it gets 4 stars.

Room Tip: Request a room in advance and avoid room 142 unless you like indoor water features!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is situated in a pleasant area and our room was fine, clean and bright, with a decent view. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel but breakfast was pretty awful. Generally a poor choice of food and the restaurant was completely chaotic with several coach parties and few spare seats. This is really a transit stop for tours going to Agrigento and is geared up for large numbers, although not coping too well. However, fine for one night but improve the breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here only 1 night - after a long day's journey - sadly with not much time to explore. We arrived as the sun was setting and this hotel could not have been in a better location to appreciate the splendor! The hotel itself was very clean - the room was comfortable - and the food was very good.
Should we make our way back to Agrigento, we would definitely consider staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauradids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leone
2.6 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.0 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blu Hotel Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos
#6 of 23 in Agrigento
1,038 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel

Property: Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel
Address: Lungomare Falcone E Borsellino 1, 92100 San Leone, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento > San Leone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in San Leone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels San Leone
Nh Hotel San Leone
Dioscuri Bay Palace Hotel Sicily/Province Of Agrigento - San Leone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing